A Global Research Institute of Queen's University Belfast

Research

Research Staff

Dr Gladys Ganiel Queen's University Research Fellow Sociology, Politics, Anthropology and Religious Studies; specialising on religion, conflict transformation and reconciliation in Northern Ireland, Zimbabwe and South Africa; the emerging church movement; evangelicalism; and religious change on the island of Ireland

Phone: + 44 (0) 28 9097 3658
E-mail: G.Ganiel@qub.ac.uk
Office: Room 0G.004, 22 University Square

Dr Katy Hayward Seconded Senior Research Fellow Centring on Ireland, North and South; Cross-border conflict and cooperation; EU integration (inc. ‘Brexit’ and its impact on Ireland); Peace and conflict processes; Political sociology; Political discourses, protest and violence

Phone: +44 (0) 28 9097 5127
Email: k.hayward@qub.ac.uk
Office:
0G.003, 19 University Square

Dr Neil Jarman Institute Research Fellow

The role of the civil society in peacebuilding; vigilantism and the control of violence; public order policing and hate crimes

Phone: + 44 (0) 28 9097 2522
E-mail: n.jarman@qub.ac.uk
Office: 02.007, 19 University Square
Dr Alex Koensler Institute Research Fellow

Recent developments in ethnography with social movement studies, research on ethnic relations and visual anthropology

Phone: +44 (0) 28 9097 3992
Email: a.koensler@qub.ac.uk
Office: 02.006, 19 University Square
Dr Cheryl Lawther Seconded Senior Research Fellow   Phone: +44 (0) 28 9097 3300
Email:
c.lawther@qub.ac.uk
Office:
0G.003, 19 University Square
Dr Fiona Murphy Queen's University Research Fellow Anthropology, Sociology, Literary Studies and Marketing. She specialises in Indigenous politics and movements, refugees and mobility studies, and sustainability in Australia and Ireland Phone:  + 44 (0) 28 9097 2521
E-mail:  F.Murphy@qub.ac.uk
Office:  0G.003, 22 University Square
Dr Julie Norman Queen's University Research Fellow Political Science, International Relations, Middle East Studies, Sociology, History, and Geography. Her primary research concentrates on unarmed resistance and nonviolent responses to protracted conflict, with a focus on Israel-Palestine. Phone: +44 (0) 28 9097 5976
Email:
J.Norman@qub.ac.uk
Office:
0G.002A, 22 University Square
Professor Rhiannon Turner Seconded Senior Research Fellow   Phone: +44 (0) 28 9097 3486
Email:
r.turner@qub.ac.uk
Office: 02.006, 19 University Square
Dr Ulrike M. Vieten Queen's University Research Fellow Racism and contemporary right wing populism, and the transformation of intersecting gendered, religious and classed identities in discourses of normalisation and difference in post-conflict societies Phone: + 44 (0) 28 9097 2528
Email:  U.Vieten@qub.ac.uk
Office:  0G.003, 22 University Square

Post Doctoral Research Staff

Dr Stephen Herron Dr Herron is one of just several military anthropologists in the UK/Ireland.  Academic and research interests include violence, conflict management and resolution, military and defence, civil-military relations, trauma and memory, identity and social and community affairs.

Phone: 028 9097 5343
Email: stephen.herron@qub.ac.uk
Office: 03.004, 19 University Square

Dr Fabrizio Loce-Mandes Fabrizio is appointed as a Postdoctoral Research Fellow of the Peasant Activism Project until 30 November 2017. Phone: +39 3334717436
Email: f.loce-mandes@qub.ac.uk
Dr Lauren Dempster Lauren has been appointed until the end of October 2017 and is a Research Fellow on the project: 'Voice, Agency and Blame: Victimhood and the Imagined Community in Northern Ireland'.

Phone: 028 9097 5155
Email: lauren.dempster@qub.ac.uk
Office: 03.002, 19 University Square

Visiting Staff