Academic & Student Affairs

National Teaching Fellowship Scheme

National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) 2015

The purpose of the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme is to recognise, reward and celebrate individuals who are judged to make an outstanding impact on the student learning experience and provide the means to develop a proactive community of National Teaching Fellows (NTFs).  Up to 55 individual awards will be made in 2015 in recognition of individual excellence.

The NTFS 2015 opened on 15 October 2014 and Queen’s has been invited to nominate up to three individual members of staff who clearly demonstrate excellence in teaching and/or supporting the higher education learning experience of students.

Further information is contained in Applying to be a Queen's Nominee.  The closing date for receipt of applications in CED is 10 November 2014.  The institutional nominees will given advice and assistance to develop their application into a Claim for Fellowship before submission to the NTFS.

If you have any queries about the Scheme, please contact Linda Carey ( or Ext 3099) or Liz McDowell ( or Ext 5301).

The key dates for NTFS 2015 are below:

• Wednesday 15 October 2014 – Call for nominations - application forms released

• Monday 10 November 2014 - Deadline for application for Queen's nominee to the CED

• Wednesday 14 January 2015 – Nominations close - deadline for submissions 12 noon

• Friday 22 May 2015 – Nominees informed of outcome (embargoed until 12 June 2014)

• Friday 29 May 2015 - Deadline for successful nominees to submit their finalised profiles and photographs

• Thursday 11 June 2015 – Announcement of NTFS 2015 Fellows

• Wednesday 7 October 2015 – NTFS 2015 Awards Ceremony

Further information about the NTFS is available on the HEA website


Previous Queen's University National Teaching Fellowship Winners

 ‌NTFS winner 2014 Photo for NTFS Prof Brian Whalley NTFS winner 2008 Mr D Gibson - NTFS - winner 2007

Dr Joe Duffy
NTFS Winner 2014

Dr Tess Maginess
NTFS Winner 2013
Prof Brian Whalley
NTFS Winner 2008
Watch an interview
Alternative format

Mr David Gibson
NTFS Winner 2007
Watch an interview (windows) |
Alternative format (quicktime)

‌‌Prof Bev Milton-Edward - NTFS winner 2004
Prof B Milton-Edwards
NTFS Winner 2004
Download a summary

Professor Vicki Tariq
NTFS Winner 2003


Professor Carol McGuinness
NTFS winner 2001