Skip to main content

ECDL Advanced

There are 4 ECDL Advanced modules: Word Processing, Spreadsheets, Database and Presentations.  A certificate is awarded on the successful completion of each module, although it is not necessary to complete all modules. If you complete all 4 modules you can aquire the ECDL Expert certificate (and entitled to become an associated member of the British Computer Society, the BCS). See below for more details about a ECDL Expert special offer for students.

To view the syllabus, go to ECDL Advanced Syllabus under Support.

It costs £35 for each test.  A resit costs £10.  Staff Training & Development Unit will contribute towards the cost of test fees for Queen's University staff (cost to staff/or department is £20).

If you are working towards the Degree Plus Award, your ECDL accreditation will be formally recognised as one of your achievements.

Postgraduate Research Students can record successful ECDL completion on their training and development record via Qsis - please visit for more information.

As an ECDL expert you are entitled to become an associated member of the BCS. BCS members and Fellows have been named in a list of the 50 most influential people in UK IT see

Read what a successful student said about becoming an ECDL Expert.

Preparing for a Test

Sample exam papers are provided.

Workbooks and data files can be downloaded from the web.

The IT Training and Assessment Unit provide a range of courses (including advanced level) for staff and Postgraduate Research students.  Queen's University students studying for Advanced ECDL may may attend the staff courses, if places are available. 


Using your Queen's email, send your name, staff or student number (please state which module you are interested in taking or if you wish to sign up for ECDL Expert) to