Strategic Marketing and Communications

D5_Out and About_2V_07

Strategic Marketing and communications

Positioning Queen’s as a
global leader

The role of the Strategic Marketing and Communications unit is to position Queen’s as a global leader in education and research, delivering a world class experience for our students and continuing to drive the future economic growth of Northern Ireland with impact on global society.

Head of Strategic Marketing and Communications (Acting)

Jamie Armstrong
j.armstrong@qub.ac.uk I 028 9097 3498

What we do

We communicate locally and internationally with prospective undergraduate and postgraduate students and those who influence them, the global academic community, funding institutions, the media and policy makers.  Our work attracts and welcomes students, staff and researchers, raises the University's profile and reputation and generates support and funding for Queen’s.

The unit is responsible for internal, external and corporate communications; media affairs; brand, marketing and advertising; website, social media and digital activities; market research and insight; publications (including the university prospectuses), design and video.

The team is made up of three divisions:

  • Communications
  • Strategic Marketing and Campaigns
  • Digital and Content

We deliver a full service in-house marketing and communications service, develop and protect the Queen’s brand, manage all communications channels, plan and produce marketing campaigns, manage paid media campaigns, manage media relations and corporate communications.

Clerical

Key Contacts

Clerical officer

David Sleator
d.sleator@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 3185

Communications

Key Functions

Media Relations, Internal Communications and Corporate Communications

Key Contacts

Acting Communications Manager Claire Lewis
c.l.lewis@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5355
Communications Officer

Emma Gallagher
emma.gallagher@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5384

Suzanne Lagan
suzanne.lagan@qub.ac.uk |028 9097 5292

Zara McBrearty
z.mcbrearty@qub.ac.uk |028 9097 3259

Kathryn Kirk
k.kirk@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5310

Communications and Media Assistant

Jemma Greenlees
j.greenlees@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 3087

Internal Communications

Internal Communications Officer Position vacant
Internal Communications Assistant Seth Blacklock
s.blacklock@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5254

Strategic marketing and campaigns

Key Functions

Strategic Planning, Market Insight, Advertising, Marketing Campaigns, CRM and Email Campaigns. 

Key Contacts

Strategic Marketing Manager

Peter McConkey
p.mcconkey@qub.ac.uk | (028) 9097 1150

Campaigns Marketing Manager 

Jenny Kendall
j.kendall@qub.ac.uk | (028) 9097 2567

Market Insight Manager

Kathryn Boyd
k.boyd@qub.ac.uk | (028) 9097 1088

Market Insight Assistant

Clare Crossan
c.crossan@qub.ac.uk | (028) 9097 5230

Marketing and CRM Officer Gemma McAfee
g.mcafee@qub.ac.uk | (028) 9097 3822
Digital Insight Analyst Pete Speak
p.speak@qub.ac.uk | (028) 9097 2518

Digital and content

Key Functions

Website, Social Media, Content Planning, Design, Brand, Video and Prospectus.

Key Contacts

Marketing Manager (Campaigns and Creative)

Tim McCann
t.mccann@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 3488

Marketing Manager (Digital) Paul Ferguson
p.ferguson@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5294
Website Manager Charlotte Jess
charlotte.jess@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5386
Social Media Manager Stephen Baxter-Crawford
s.baxter-crawford@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5953
Studio Manager Ivan Ewart
i.ewart@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 1272
Visual Content Producer Tom Hughes
t.hughes@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 1120
Copywriter
Paul Wilson
p.d.wilson@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 3488

Aoife Stuart Madge
a.stuart-madge@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5236

Graphic Designer
Daniel Smyth
d.smyth@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 1042
James Davis
j.m.davis@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 1243
Video Content Assistant David Kinghan
d.kinghan@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 1334
Website Assistant Position vacant
Social Media Assistant Kachela Murray
Kachela.murray@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5236

Previous section

Public Engagement

Next section

Key Contacts