Healthy Eating
Text size: larger | smaller

The Eatwell Plate

All the foods we eat can be divided into one of five groups. In a healthy diet it is important to balance what you eat from each group.The eatwell plate (previously the Balance of Good Health plate) indicates how to get the proportions right. It shows how much of what you eat should come from each food group according to the Food Standards Agency.

It is split into five segments to represent the five food groups as follows:

  1. Bread, rice, potatoes, pasta and other starchy foods.
  2. Fruit and vegetables.
  3. Milk and dairy foods.
  4. Meat, fish, eggs, beans and other non-dairy sources of protein.
  5. Foods and drinks high in fat and/or sugar.

It does not apply to children under 2 years old as they have different needs.

Click on the image to enlarge

© Crown copyright material is reproduced with the permission
of the Controller of HMSO and Queen's Printer for Scotland.


Download the Food Groups Table and complete for each of the 5 food groups. Use the eatwell plate and the information on the Foods Standards Agency Healthy Diet website for reference.

Bookmarking tools: