Registrar's Office


Terms of Reference:

The terms of reference of Senate are derived from Statute VIII as follows:

“Powers of the Senate

  Subject to the provisions of the Charter and these Statutes the Senate shall have power to regulate and determine all matters concerning the University, shall exercise all the powers and discretions of the University, and shall by Regulation prescribe the form, custody and use of the Common Seal.  In exercise of its powers the Senate shall have regard to the obligations under the Charter to provide and maintain equality of opportunity to all persons.
2   The Senate may delegate any of its functions and may withdraw any such delegation at any time.

The Senate shall have power to make Statutes and Regulations for the general government of the University, subject to the following conditions:


No Statute or Regulation shall be altered so as to change the status, powers, or constitution of any of the Authorities of the University until such Authority shall have had an opportunity of pronouncing an opinion upon the proposed change.

The Authorities of the University are the Chancellor, the Pro-Chancellors, the President and Vice-Chancellor.

    (b) No resolution for a new or amended Statute shall have effect unless the Academic Council and Convocation (or the Standing Committee of Convocation if Convocation so authorises it to act on its behalf) shall have had an opportunity of considering the draft of the proposed new or amended Statute and the Senate has considered any subsequent representation within three months from the date of communication of the draft; provided that if the Senate shall make any substantial alteration in the draft, then the draft so altered shall be “the draft of a proposed new or amended Statute” for the purpose of this sub-paragraph.


No Regulation relating to Degrees and examinations shall be made without a Report from the Academic Council.
4   The Senate may from time to time appoint Committees, including joint committees with the Academic Council, consisting wholly or partly of persons not being members of the Senate, with such powers and duties as the Senate thinks fit.  When appointing members to Committees, the Senate shall use its best endeavours to ensure that the membership of the Committees is representative of the diversity of the Northern Ireland Community.
5   No resolution of the Senate seeking to enact, alter, amend or add to the Charter shall have effect unless:
    (a) It has been provisionally adopted at one meeting of the Senate;
    (b) A copy thereof has been subsequently communicated to the Academic Council and Convocation (or the Standing Committee of Convocation if so authorised by Convocation);
    (c) The Senate has considered any representation on the subject thereof that may be made by the Academic Council, or Convocation (or the Standing Committee of Convocation if so authorised as above) within two months from the date of such communication; and
    (d)   The Senate has confirmed the resolution with or without amendment, at a subsequent meeting held within six months after the former meeting by the votes of not less than three-fourths of those present and voting.
6   The Senate shall make all appointments to offices established under Statute and to such other posts as Senate shall from time to time determine in accordance with Regulations. The Senate shall prescribe from time to time Regulations to govern all appointments of members of academic and support staff.
7   The Senate shall have power upon receiving a report of the Standing Committee to take into consideration the conduct of any Holder of Office provided for in these Statutes (other than a person to whom Statute XIII applies) and for good cause to remove him/her from his/her post, provided that the resolution for such removal shall not be carried unless supported by the votes of a majority of the then members of Senate and unless due notice and opportunity for showing cause against the exercise of such power shall have been given to such Holder of Office provided for in these Statutes.”



Composition and Membership:        
Chair:    Chancellor   

Mr T Moran

Ex Officio:


Mrs R Johnston  
Mr S Prenter                   

    President and Vice-Chancellor   Professor P Johnston
    Honorary Treasurer   Dr S Kingon
    President, Students' Union   Mr C Gallagher
    3 members of Academic Council  

Dr C Dwyer
Professor M Tomlinson
Dr D McSherry

    2 members of academic staff   Professor M Larkin
Dr R Prendergast
    2 members of support staff  

Mr G Dunn
Mr K Flanagan

    1 member of the Students' Union Council   Mr M Benson
    1 Graduate representing Convocation   Ms C Kinkead
    Up to 10 co-opted members  

Mr E Bell
Mrs L Bourke
Mr G Cash
Mr A Doran
Mrs S Fleming-Mitchell
Ms M Matchett
Mrs A McGregor
Mr A Shannon
Dr D Tiernan
Dr M Wardlow

Secretary to Senate:   Registrar and Chief Operating Officer  

Mr J P J O’Kane

In Attendance:  


Relevant University Officers


Professor D Jones
Professor T Gallagher
Professor J C McElnay
As Required


Serviced by:    Registrar's Office
Reports to:   N/A
Receives reports from:   Standing Committee
Remuneration Committee
Audit Committee
Nominations Committee
Membership Committee

Academic Council
Planning and Finance Committee
Honorary Degrees Committee
Other Committees and Working Groups as appropriate


Senate normally meets four times each year with extraordinary meetings as necessary. Dates of meetings during the current academic year are as follows (click on relevant date for available committee documentation):

26 November 2013
17 December 2013
15 April 2014
24 June 2014

Click here for details of previous meetings.