Members

Academic Staff

Tom Field
Timo Gans
Bill Graham
Deborah O'Connell (EPSRC CAF)
Tomo Murakami (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Dave Riley

Postdoctoral Fellows

default

Gagik Nersisyan

Contact

Email: g.nersisyan@qub.ac.uk

Phone: +44 (0)28 9097 3933

Research Interests

Dielectric barrier discharges

Project Supervisor: Dave Riley


default

Kari Niemi

Contact

Email: k.niemi@qub.ac.uk

Phone: +44 (0)28 9097 3517

Research Interests

Numerical Simulations of non-thermal plasmas

Advanced plasma diagnostics - laser and optical spectroscopy

Project Supervisor: Deborah O'Connell


default

Joao Santos Sousa

Contact

Email: s.sousa@qub.ac.uk

Phone: +44 (0)28 9097 3550

Research Interests

Reactive plasma chemistry and relevance to biological systems

Project Supervisor: Timo Gans


PhD Students

default

Mahmoud Alkawareek

Contact

Email: mahmodyusef@hotmail.com

Phone: n/a

Research

Plasma inactivation of bacterial biofilms

Project Supervisors: Deborah O'Connell, Sean Gorman & Brendan Gilmore (School of Pharmacy)


default

Laura Cox

Contact

Email: lcox04@qub.ac.uk

Phone: +44 (0)28 9097 1275

Research

Microplasmas and interactions between multiple plasmas

Project Supervisor: Deborah O'Connell


default

Lucy Graham

Contact

Email: lgraham16@qub.ac.uk

Phone: +44 (0)28 9097 1275

Research

Atomic oxygen formation and manipulation in atmospheric pressure plasmas

Project Supervisor: Timo Gans


default

Arthur Greb

Contact

Email: agreb01@qub.ac.uk

Phone: +44 (0)28 9097 1275

Research

Plasma process metrology

Project Supervisors: Timo Gans & Deborah O'Connell


default

Sean Haughey

Contact

Email: shaughey08@qub.ac.uk

Phone: +44 (0)28 9097 1275

Research

Negative ion mass spectrometry

Project Supervisor: Tom Field


default

Colin Kelsey

Contact

Email: ckelsey01@qub.ac.uk

Phone: +44 (0)28 9097 1275

Research

Plasma formation in liquids

Project Supervisor: Bill Graham


default

Elena Nedanovska

Contact

Email: enedanovska01@qub.ac.uk

Phone: +44 (0)28 9097 1275

Research

Thomson scattering from laser induced plasma breakdown of Helium at atmospheric pressure

Project Supervisor: Dave Riley


default

Colm O'Neill

Contact

Email: coneill46@qub.ac.uk

Phone: +44 (0)28 9097 1275

Research

Simulations of multi-frequency atmospheric pressure plasmas

Project Supervisor: Timo Gans


default

Lucas Schaper

Contact

Email: lschaper01@qub.ac.uk

Phone: +44 (0)28 9097 1275

Research

Plasma formation in liquids

Project Supervisor: Bill Graham


default

Mujahid Zaka-ul-Islam

Contact

Email: mzakaulislam01@qub.ac.uk

Phone: +44 (0)28 9097 1275

Research

Electronegative inductively coupled plasmas

Project Supervisors: Bill Graham, Timo Gans & Deborah O'Connell


MSci & MSc students

default

Andrew Gibson

Contact

Email: agibson17@qub.ac.uk

Phone: n/a

Research

Plasma interactions with plasmid DNA and prostate cancer cells

Project Supervisor: Deborah O'Connell


Alumni

default

Qais Al-Gwari

Graduation in 2011

Contact

Email: qais.thanon@mosuluniversity.com

Phone: +9647701606139

Research

Plasma jet formation and interactions between atmospheric pressure dielectric barrier discharge jets

Project Supervisor: Deborah O'Connell


default

Jochen Waskoenig

Graduation in 2010

Contact

Email: jwaskoenig01@qub.ac.uk

Phone: n/a

Research

Numerical Simulations of the electron dynamics in single and dual radio-frequency driven atmospheric pressure plasmas and associated plasma chemistry in electronegative helium oxygen mixtures

Project Supervisor: Timo Gans


Group Photo


From left to right: T.Gans, M.Zaka-ul-Islam, D.O'Connell, Q.Al-Gwari, A.Gibson, M.Alkawareek, T.Murakami (visiting), K.Niemi, A.Greb, T. Hiraoka (visiting), J.Santos Sousa, L.Graham, L.Cox, L.Schaper, C.O'Neill, C.Kelsey, B.Graham