Skip to main content

People

Based in QML

email - use the address below followed by @qub.ac.uk
telephone - dial +44 (0)28 427 followed by the extension below
general enquiries - tel. +44 (0)28 4272 8230; e-mail b.curran@qub.ac.uk

Academic Staff - resident
Dr. Julia Sigwart (laboratory director) j.sigwart 27804
Dr. Bjoern Elsaesser b.elsaesser 27805 (office)
27815 (wave tank)
Prof. Mark Emmerson m.emmerson 27813

Support Staff
Mrs. Bernie Curran b.curran 28230
Dr. Henk van Rein h.vanrein 27807
Brendan McNamara b.mcnamara 27816
Emma Gorman e.gorman 27816

Academic Staff - emeritus
Dr. Graham Savidge g.savidge 27800
Prof. Matt Dring m.dring 27803

Academic Staff - non-resident
Prof. Jaimie Dick j.dick  
Dr. Jon Houghton j.houghton  
Dr. Nessa O'Connor n.oconnor  
Dr. Dai Roberts d.roberts  
Prof. Trevor Whittaker t.whittaker  

Research Staff
Dr. Liz Ashton e.ashton 27809
Dr. Daryl Birkett d.birkett 27806
Dr. Nathan Geraldi n.geraldi 27808
Dr. Louise Kregting l.kregting 27808
Dr. Karen Mooney k.mooney 27806
Dr. Daniel Pritchard d.pritchard  

PhD Students
Cass Bromley cbromley01 ext. 240
Julia Calderwood jcalderwood05 ext. 240
Lawrence Eagling leagling01 ext. 244
Nicholas Fleming nfleming05  
Fergal Glynn fglynn02  
Carina Gsottbauer cgsottbauer01 ext. 240
Laura Hinchliff lhinchliff01 ext. 243
Claire McCambridge cmccambridge03  
Robert Mrowicki rmrowicki01 ext. 240
Carl Reddin creddin01  
Lauren Sumner-Rooney lsumnerrooney01 ext. 240
Siobhan Vye svye01 ext. 240
Nadescha Zwerschke nzwerschke01 ext. 243

 

MPhil Students

Aoibheann Canavan acanavan04 ext. 244
Luke Murphy lmurphy50 ext. 244
Simon Guist sguist02 ext. 244

 

Research Associates

Dr. Nicholas Carey    
Joe Breen, Marine Division (DOENI)

Bernard Picton, National Museums of Northern Ireland (NMNI)

Julia Nunn, National Museums of Northern Ireland (NMNI)

Lynn Gilmore, SeaFish
Claire Goodwin, National Museums of Northern Ireland (NMNI)
Andrew Murray, Sea Mammal Research Unit Marine (SMRU)
Marine Current Turbines

Dr. Jo Denyer, Denyer Ecology (Ecological Consultancy)

Professor Shaun Cain, Eastern Oregon University

Professor Josh Eagle, University of South Carolina School of Law 

Dr Daryl Birkett, Queen's Marine Lab

Dr Andrea Anton, University of North Carolina

Professor Patrick J Orr, UCD, Dublin

Graeme Mackie and Mark Knos, Ocean Flow Energy

 

 

In memoriam

Dr Pat Boaden, QML Director emeritus (1936-2013)

Contact Information

Queen's University Marine Laboratory (QML)
12-13 The Strand, Portaferry
Co. Down, Northern Ireland, BT22 1PF
Phone: +44 (0)28 427 28230
Email: b.curran@qub.ac.uk

Web tools

Bookmark and Share