Skip to main content

People

Based in QML

email - use the address below followed by @qub.ac.uk
telephone - dial +44 (0)28 427 followed by the extension below
general enquiries - tel. +44 (0)28 4272 8230; e-mail b.curran@qub.ac.uk

 

Research Associates

Academic Staff - resident
Prof. Jaimie Dick (Director)   j.dick 27804
Dr Julia Sigwart (Associate Director)
research sabbatical, UC Berkeley, USA
    j.sigwart  
Dr Patrick Collins      
Dr Bjoern Elsaesser   b.elsaesser ext. 228 (office)
27815 (wave tank)
Prof. Mark Emmerson   m.emmerson 27803

Support Staff
Mrs. Bernie Curran   b.curran 28230
Emma Gorman   e.gorman 27816
Brendan McNamara   b.mcnamara 27816
Simon Exley   s.exley 27807

Academic Staff - emeritus
Dr Graham Savidge   g.savidge 27800
Prof. Matt Dring   m.dring 27800

Academic Staff - non-resident
Dr Jon Houghton   j.houghton  
Dr Nessa O'Connor   n.oconnor  
Prof. Trevor Whittaker   t.whittaker  

Research Staff
Dr Liz Ashton   e.ashton 27809
Dr Louise Kregting   l.kregting 27805
Dr Billy Hunter   w.hunter 27809
Dr Karen Mooney   k.mooney 27806
Dr Pal Schmitt   p.schmitt 27805
Dr Pia Schuchert   p.schuchert 27808

PhD Students
Lydia Bach   lbach01  
Camilla Bertolini   cbertolini01 ext. 240
Lawrence Eagling   leagling01 ext. 244
Amy Garbett   agarbett01 ext. 240
Carina Gsottbauer   cgsottbauer01 ext. 240
Laura Hinchliff   lhinchliff01 ext. 243
Victoria McCready   vmcready01  
Josie South   jsouth01  
Lydia White   lwhite01 ext. 240
Nadescha Zwerschke   nzwerschke01 ext. 243
Patrick Joyce   pjoyce04 ext. 240

Recent graduates
Dr Cass Bromley   cbromley01  
Dr Julia Calderwood   jcalderwood05  
Dr Lauren Sumner-Rooney   lsumnerrooney01  

Research Associates
Dr Henk van Rein (JNCC)   h.vanrein  
Dr Daryl Birkett   d.birkett 27813
Prof. Keith Bennett   k.d.bennett 27800
       
Joe Breen, Marine Division (DOENI)
Bernard Picton, National Museums of Northern Ireland (NMNI)
Christine Picton (nee Morrow), Ocean Exploration Centre, Belfast

Dr Claire Goodwin, National Museums of Northern Ireland (NMNI)

Dr Lynn Gilmore, SeaFish
Dr David Kelly, DWK Freshwater Consulting
Dr Caroline Pannell,
Dr Jo Denyer, Denyer Ecology (Ecological Consultancy)
Professor Shaun Cain, Eastern Oregon University
Chong CHEN, Department of Zoology, University of Oxford
Professor Josh Eagle, University of South Carolina School of Law
Dr Nate Geraldi, University of North Carolina
Dr Andrea Anton, University of North Carolina
Professor Patrick Orr, UCD, Dublin

Graeme Mackie and Mark Knos, Ocean Flow Energy

 

In memoriam

Dr Pat Boaden, QML Director emeritus (1936-2013)

Contact Information

Queen's University Marine Laboratory (QML)
12-13 The Strand, Portaferry
Co. Down, Northern Ireland, BT22 1PF
Phone: +44 (0)28 427 28230
Email: b.curran@qub.ac.uk

Web tools

Bookmark and Share