Skip to main content

People

Based in QML

email - use the address below followed by @qub.ac.uk
telephone - dial +44 (0)28 427 followed by the extension below
general enquiries - tel. +44 (0)28 4272 8230; e-mail b.curran@qub.ac.uk

 

Research Associates

Academic Staff - resident
Prof. Jaimie Dick (Director)   j.dick 27804
Dr Julia Sigwart (Associate Director)
research sabbatical, UC Berkeley, USA
    j.sigwart  
Dr Patrick Collins      
Dr Bjoern Elsaesser   b.elsaesser ext. 228 (office)
27815 (wave tank)
Prof. Mark Emmerson   m.emmerson 27803

Support Staff
Mrs. Bernie Curran   b.curran 28230
Emma Gorman   e.gorman 27816
Brendan McNamara   b.mcnamara 27816
Simon Exley   s.exley 27807

Academic Staff - emeritus
Dr Graham Savidge   g.savidge 27800
Prof. Matt Dring   m.dring 27800

Academic Staff - non-resident
Dr Jon Houghton   j.houghton  
Dr Nessa O'Connor   n.oconnor  
Prof. Trevor Whittaker   t.whittaker  

Research Staff
Dr Liz Ashton   e.ashton 27809
Dr Louise Kregting   l.kregting 27805
Dr Billy Hunter   w.hunter 27809
Dr Karen Mooney   k.mooney 27806
Dr Pal Schmitt   p.schmitt 27805
Dr Pia Schuchert   p.schuchert

27808

Dr. Carola Becker

  c.becker 27800

Dr. Ross Culloch

  r.culloch 27806

Dr. Lilian Lieber

  l.lieber 27806

Dr. Ian Benson

  i.benson 27812
Dr. Carwyn Frost   c.frost 27812

PhD Students
Lydia Bach   lbach01  
Camilla Bertolini   cbertolini01 ext. 240
Amy Garbett   agarbett01 ext. 240
Victoria McCready   vmcready01  
Lorraine McLean   lmclean05 ext 244
Rachel Millar   rmillar728 ext 240
Josie South   jsouth01  
Lydia White   lwhite01 ext. 240
Patrick Joyce   pjoyce04 ext. 240
Ross Cuthbert   rcuthbert03 ext. 245

Recent graduates
Dr Cass Bromley   cbromley01  
Lawrence Eagling   leagling01  
Carina Gsottbauer   cgsottbauer01  
Laura Hinchliff   lhinchliff01  
Dr Julia Calderwood   jcalderwood05  
Nadescha Zwerschke   nzwerschke01  
Dr Lauren Sumner-Rooney   lsumnerrooney01  

Research Associates
Dr Henk van Rein (JNCC)   h.vanrein  
Dr Daryl Birkett   d.birkett 27813
Prof. Keith Bennett   k.d.bennett 27800
 Dr Caroline Pannell      
Joe Breen, Marine Division (DOENI)
Bernard Picton, National Museums of Northern Ireland (NMNI)
Christine Picton (nee Morrow), Ocean Exploration Centre, Belfast

Dr Claire Goodwin, National Museums of Northern Ireland (NMNI)

Dr Lynn Gilmore, SeaFish
Dr David Kelly, DWK Freshwater Consulting
Dr Jo Denyer, Denyer Ecology (Ecological Consultancy)
Professor Shaun Cain, Eastern Oregon University
Dr Chong CHEN, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology (JAMSTEC)
Professor Josh Eagle, University of South Carolina School of Law
Dr Nate Geraldi, University of North Carolina
Dr Andrea Anton, University of North Carolina
Professor Patrick Orr, UCD, Dublin

Graeme Mackie and Mark Knos, Ocean Flow Energy

 

In memoriam

Dr Pat Boaden, QML Director emeritus (1936-2013)

Contact Information

Queen's University Marine Laboratory (QML)
12-13 The Strand, Portaferry
Co. Down, Northern Ireland, BT22 1PF
Phone: +44 (0)28 427 28230
Email: b.curran@qub.ac.uk

Web tools

Bookmark and Share