Centre for Evidence and Social Innovation

Our People

Overview | Director and Strand Leaders | Fellows | Associate Fellows | Research Staff | Support Staff


We are a large, interdisciplinary research centre drawing together over 90 academics, researchers and support staff from across Queen's. Please click on the links below to access contact details and further information on individual members of staff. 

Fellows are academic staff (Faculty) who have agreed to align their core research activities with the Centre. Associate Fellows are academic staff who may be Fellows of another University Institute/Centre and/or for whom some of their research aligns directly with the Centre. Researh staff are typically postdoctoral researchers employed on one or more of the Centre's externally-funded projects.

For reference, and in relation to academic staff: Lecturers are equivalent to Assistant Professors; Senior Lecturers/Readers to Associate Professors; and Professors to Full Professors.

Back to Top


Professor Paul Connolly (Professor of Education and Dean of Research for the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences)

Deputy Directors

Professor Fiona Alderdice (Professor of Perinatal Health and Wellbeing and Strand Lead for What Works for Families)

Professor Allen Thurston (Professor of Education and Strand Lead for What Works for Schools)

Dr Kathryn Higgins (Acting) (Reader and Acting Strand Lead for What Works for Communities)

Back to Top

Research Programme Leads

Dr Fiona Lynn (Parental and Child Health and Wellbeing Research Programme)

Dr Karen Winter (Children in Care and Child Protection Research Programme)

Dr Liam O'Hare (Acting) (Educational Attainment Research Programme)

Dr Sarah Miller (Health and Wellbeing in Schools Research Programme)

Professor Kevin Brazil (Chronic Illness and Palliative Care Research Programme)

Dr Gavin Davidson (Mental Health and Wellbeing Research Programme)

Back to Top


Professor Fiona Alderdice (Professor of Perinatal Health)

Dr Paul Best (Lecturer in Social Work)

Professor Kevin Brazil (Professor of Nursing and Midwifery)

Dr Lisa Bunting (Lecturer in Social Work)

Dr Anne Campbell (Lecturer in Social Work)

Professor Paul Connolly (Professor of Education)

Dr Mary-Louise Corr (Lecturer in Criminology)

Dr Gavin Davidson (Senior Lecturer in Social Work)

Dr Martin Dempster (Senior Lecturer in Psychology)

Dr John Devaney (Senior Lecturer in Social Work)

Professor Karola Dillenburger (Professor of Behaviour Analysis and Education)

Dr Katerina Dounavi (Lecturer in Behaviour Analysis and Autism)

Dr Michael Duffy (Senior Lecturer in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy)

Dr Laura Dunne (Lecturer in Education)

Lesley Emerson (Lecturer in Education)

Dr Karen Galway (Lecturer in Mental Health)

Dr Anne Grant (Lecturer in Mental Health)

Dr Kathryn Higgins (Reader)

Dr Donncha Hanna (Lecturer in Psychology)

Dr Mark Linden (Lecturer in Nursing and Midwifery)

Dr Katrina Lloyd (Lecturer in Education)

Professor Maria Lohan (Professor of Social Science and Health)

Dr Fiona Lynn (Lecturer in Maternal and Child Health)

Dr Mandi Macdonald (Lecturer in Social Work)

Professor Teresa McCormack (Professor of Developmental Psychology)

Dr Mark McGovern (Lecturer in Economics)

Dr Dorry McLaughlin (Lecturer in Nursing and Midwifery)

Jenny McNeill (Lecturer in Nursing and Midwifery)

Dr Sarah Miller (Lecturer in Education)

Dr Ciaran Mulholland (Clinical Senior Lecturer in Psychiatry)

Dr Helen Noble (Lecturer in Health Services Research)

Dr Peter O'Halloran (Lecturer in Nursing and Midwifery)

Dr Francis O'Neill (Clinical Senior Lecturer in Psychiatry)

Dr Carole Parsons (Lecturer in Pharmacy)

Dr Andrew Percy (Senior Lecturer in Criminology)

Dr Oliver Perra (Lecturer in Perinatal Health and Wellbeing)

Dr Joanne Reid (Reader in Cancer Nursing)

Dr Audrey Roulston (Lecturer in Social Work)

Dr Dirk Schubotz (Lecturer in Social Policy)

Professor Allen Thurston (Professor of Education)

Dr Karen Winter (Lecturer in Social Work)

Dr Kate Woodcock (Lecturer in Atypical Development)

Back to Top

Associate Fellows

Dr Ian Cantley (Lecturer in Education)

Dr Gemma Carney (Lecturer in Social Policy)

Dr Michael Corman (Lecturer in Sociology)

Professor Michael Donnelly (Professor of Health Services Research)

Dr Peter Doran (Lecturer in Environment, Planning and Sustainable Development)

Professor Tony Gallagher (Professor of Education)

Dr David Hayes (Senior Lecturer in Social Work)

Dr Ruth Hunter (Lecturer in Physical Activity and Public Health)

Professor Frank Kee (Professor of Public Health Medicine)

Dr Berni Kelly (Senior Lecturer in Social Work)

Dr Karen Kerr (Lecturer in Education)

Professor Madeleine Leonard (Professor of Sociology)

Dr Alison Mackenzie (Lecturer in Education)

Professor Anne-Marie McAlinden (Reader in Law)

Dr Paula McFadden (Lecturer in Social Work)

Dr Michelle McKinley (Senior Lecturer in Nutrition)

Professor Duncan McVicar (Professor of Economics)

Dr Lorna Montgomery (Lecturer in Social Work)

Dr Dermot O'Reilly (Clinical Senior Lecturer in Public Health)

Dr Gillian Prue (Lecturer in Chronic Illness)

Dr Olinda Santin (Lecturer in Nursing and Midwifery)

Dr Lisa Smyth (Senior Lecturer in Sociology)

Dr Laura Taylor (Lecturer in Psychology)

Dr Mark Tully (Lecturer in Physical Activity and Public Health)

Dr Jayne Woodside (Professor of Human Nutrition)

Dr Judith Wylie (Lecturer in Psychology)

Back to Top

Research Staff

Dr Aine Aventin (Research Fellow)

Dr Maria Cockerill (Senior Research Fellow)

Dr Nicole Craig (Research Assistant)

Dr Jenny Davison (Research Assistant)

Dr Paula Devine (Senior Social Survey Officer)

Aideen Gildea (Research Assistant)

Dr Jennifer Hanratty (Research Fellow)

Dr Montserrat Fargas (Research Fellow)

Dr Julie-Ann Jordan (Research Fellow)

Dr Grace Kelly (Research Fellow)

Claire McCartan (Research Assistant)

Dr Martina McKnight (Research Fellow)

Dr Aisling McLaughlin (Research Fellow)

Dr Dominic McSherry (Senior Research Fellow)

Dr Sharon Millen (Research Fellow)

Dr Jennifer Mooney (Research Assistant)

Laura Neeson (Research Assistant)

Leanne O'Hara (Research Fellow)

Nina O'Neill (Research Fellow)

Dr Tara O'Neill (Research Fellow)

Dr Karen Orr (Research Fellow)

Dr Liam O'Hare (Senior Research Fellow)

Dr Seaneen Sloan (Research Fellow)

Dr Patrick Stark (Research Assistant)

Back to Top

Support Staff

David Piekaar (Administrator) - Tel. +44 (0)28 9097 5956; Email. d.piekaar@qub.ac.uk

Back to Top

Looking for Something?

Key Information and Contacts