People

 

Dr Daniel Roberts, Director of the Centre for Eighteenth-Century Studies

School of Arts, English and Languages, researching Romantic literature and Indian literature   d.s.roberts@qub.ac.uk‌

 

Dr Sarah McCleave, former Director of the Centre for Eighteenth-Century Studies

School of Arts, English and Languages, researching seventeenth- and eighteenth-century theatre, music and dance, Marie Sallé, rhythm and genre, music collections   s.mccleave@qub.ac.uk

 

Professor Moyra Haslett

School of Arts, English and Languages, researching the poetry of Byron, eighteenth-century women's writing and ideas of community and conversation   m.haslett@qub.ac.uk 

 

Professor Mary O'Dowd

School of History, Anthropology, Philosophy and Politics, researching women and gender in Ireland 1500-1850   m.odowd@qub.ac.uk

 

Dr Leonie Hannan, Assistant Director of the Centre for Eighteenth-Century Studies

School of History, Anthropology, Philosophy and Politics, researching gender, material culture and intellectual life in the eighteenth-century home   l.hannan@qub.ac.uk

 

Dr Gabriel Sanchez Espinosa

School of Arts, English and Languages, researching the literature and culture of the Spanish Enlightenment and Book history

  g.sanchez@qub.ac.uk

 

Professor Sean Connolly

School of History, Anthropology, Philosophy and Politics, researching Politics, ideologies, culture, religion and society in 17th- and 18th-century Ireland   s.connolly@qub.ac.uk

 

Dr Fiona Clark

School of Arts, English and Languages, researching Mexican literary-scientific culture and periodical history; Irish involvement in Mexican medicine   f.clark@qub.ac.uk

 

Professor David Livingstone

School of Natural and Built Environment, researching history and theory of geography, cartography, and scientific culture   d.livingstone@qub.ac.uk

 

Dr Patrick Fitzgerald

Mellon Centre for Migration Studies, researching Irish migration 1600-present; subsistence crises and poverty; Irish in Britain (1600-1800); Ulster historiography   patrick.fitzgerald@librariesni.org.uk

 

Dr Brian Lambkin

Mellon Centre for Migration Studies, researching John Toland; Migration between Ulster and Britain  brian.lambkin@librariesni.org.uk

 

Professor David Hayton, Emeritus

Researching Irish and British parliamentary and political history (1600-1800), Daniel Defoe. The correspondence of the Brodrick family   d.hayton@qub.ac.uk

 

Dr Shaun Regan

School of Arts, English and Languages, researching the eighteenth-century novel, Laurence Sterne, comic discourse, polite and popular culture, the Early Black Atlantic, Olaudah Equiano   s.regan@qub.ac.uk

 

Professor Estelle Sheehan, Emeritus

School of Arts, English and Languages, researching poetry (particularly Latin poetry) of Milton, Addison and Gray   e.sheehan@qub.ac.uk

 

Professor Jan Smaczny, Emeritus

School of Arts, English and Lanuages, researching Slavic music, the music of the French Baroque, continuo in theory and practice   j.smaczny@qub.ac.uk

 

Professor Yo Tomita

School of Arts, English and Languages, researching J.S. Bach, the reception of Bach in Britain and Ireland, influence of Bach on Mozart, source studies, performance practice   y.tomita@qub.ac.uk

 

Professor Ian Woodfield

School of Arts, English and Languages, researching music in Ireland, social history of music, music and the British Empire, Italian opera in London, history of musical instruments, Mozart source studies   i.woodfield@qub.ac.uk

 

ASSOCIATED MEMBERS 


Professor (hon.) Simon Davies

Researching Literary relations between Britain and France, the impact of the Enlightenment on Ireland, Voltaire, Bernardin de Saint Pierre.

 

Dr Charlie Dillon, Royal Irish Academy

Researching seventeenth- and eighteenth-century translation activity, Gaelic scribal activity in the 18th century, Gaelic poetry of South Ulster, The Irish in Europe 1600 - 1800   

 

Dr Carl Griffin, University of Sussex

Department of Geography, researching popular protest in 18th and early 19th-century rural England, esp. 'Swing' and the 'decline' of food rioting; human / non-human ecologies of forests and chases   carl.griffin@sussex.ac.uk

 

Professor James Kelly, Dublin City University

School of History and Geography, researching Poyning's Law and the making of law 1660-1800, the practice of medicine, the control of print, the phenomenon of collective activity, the life of Sir Richard Musgrave and ideology of ultra-protestantism   james.kelly@dcu.ie

 

Dr Eoin Magennis, University of Ulster

Economic Policy Centre, researching politics, crowds and protest movements, history of economic thought in Ireland, 1714-82   e.magennis@ulster.ac.uk

 

Dr Anthony Malcolmson

Formerly of the  Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, researching Irish political and social history of the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries.

 

Professor Sinead Morrissey, University of Newcastle

English Literature, Language and Linguistics, researching 1790s Prose Fiction, Edmund Burke, the ideological uses of the literary servant and the Revolution Debate   sinead.morrissey@ncl.ac.uk

 

Dr Ciara O'Hagan, Trinity College Dublin

Hispanic Studies, researching images of America in Spanish literature   cohagan@tcd.ie

 

Professor Fiona Palmer, Maynooth University

Department of Music, researching music and musicians in eighteenth- and nineteenth-century Britain, editing and publishing, performance practice, reception history, institutions and social conditions   fiona.palmer@nuim.ie

 


Dr Tim Reeve, Electronic Enlightenment

Researching transcription and annotation of the correspondence of Bernardin de Saint-Pierre; epistolary relationships of B. de Saint-Pierre; Enlightenment propaganda in the academic eulogies of the Marquis de Condorcet

 

Dr Nini Rodgers

Researching Irish activities in the West Indies 1644-1838 and the impact of slavery and-anti slavery on Ireland in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

 

Dr Andrew Sneddon, University of Ulster

School of Arts and Humanities, researching Catholicism, conversion and the Irish language in early 18th-century Ireland; social and economic improvement; early 18th-century Irish legislation, politics of party and anti-Catholicism in early Hanoverian England, witchcraft beliefes and trials in early modern England and Ireland   a.sneddon@ulster.ac.uk