School of English

School Research Seminar

Semester Two, 2015-16

  • Wednesdays from Weeks 3-6 and Weeks 9-11, 4.00pm: 18 College Green, Room 008.
  • Students and colleagues from throughout the University are welcome to attend.

3. Wed 17 February
Dr James Arthur (John Hopkins University) 
‘Some Thoughts on Abstraction in Contemporary American Verse’ – lecture and poetry reading 

4. Wed 24 February 
Emma Must (QUB) 
‘The Ballad of Yellow Wednesday: eco-activism; eco-poetry?’ 

5. Wed 2 March 
Dr Margaret Tyler (Boston University) 
‘The Company of Rhyme: Heaney and Longley’ 

6. Wed 9 March 
Prof Donna Landry (University of Kent) 
‘Comparative Empires and Connected Histories: Journeying with an Ottoman and Two English Explorers'

7. Wed 16 March 
Reading Week (St. Patrick’s) 

--- Easter Vacation ---

8. Wed 13 April
Dr Sinéad Moynihan (University of Exeter) 
‘The “Returned Yank” in the Irish Cultural Imagination, 1952-present’

9. Wed 20 April (5.00pm)
Rachel Hanna (QUB)
‘The role of evaluation in telling and reading the “real-life stories” of asylum seekers’

Catherine Mairs (QUB) 
‘The relationship between spoken language and primary school literacy skills’ 

10. Wed 27 April 
Dr Nick Freeman (Loughborough University) 
‘Getting Away With It: Saki, Sex and Super-Beasts’

11. Wed 4 May 
Prof Andrew Gibson (Royal Holloway, University of London) 
‘Modernity and the Political Fix’ 

12. Wed 11 May 
Dr Mercedes Salvador-Bello (University of Seville) 
‘The Caricaturesque and the Fear of Massive Migration in the Old English The Wonders of the East’