Skip to main content

Erasmus Programmes

Erasmus links in the School of History and Anthropology

The School of History and Anthropology has exchange agreements with 12 European universities, where Queen's students can study for a semester.

Student should ideally go in the second semester of their second year at Queen's University. Alternatively the first semester of their second year. Third year is not advised, or allowed if the student is doing a dissertation. Students are encouraged to go for one semester only, but will exceptionally be allowed to go for a full year if they are in their second year.

Students who want to go on Erasmus should have an average overall 2:1 mark. Deadline to apply is 31 March of each year. There is some flexibilty, especially if you are going on the second semester. But check the  partner university you want to go to as some of them have early and very strict deadlines (you should apply to the partner university only after you have applied and been accepted by QUB).

Dr Immo Warntjes (i.warntjes@qub.ac.uk) has overall responsibility for all the Erasmus links within the School, but the  management of each individual link is in the hands of one or more academic members of staff in the discipline concerned.

If you are interested in learning about opportunities for foreign study, please contact Dr Warntjes or one of the Erasmus link coordinators below. When dialling from outside Queen's, the extension numbers should be preceded by (028) 9097.  

Before that, do check the list of universities below and consult the information on the central university webpage and the other link below:

University Erasmus webpage (with all official forms)

Our current and former students' experiences on the Erasmus Programme

Visit us on Facebook 

 

1. CZECH REPUBLIC

  -  Ostrava (History): Dr Dion Smythe, d.smythe@qub.ac.uk(Extn 5226).

     Link: http://ff.osu.eu/khi

2. DENMARK

  - Aarhus (History):Dr Immo Warntjes, i.warntjes@qub.ac.uk (Extn 3880).

     Link: http://iho.au.dk/en/

  - Copenhagen (Anthropology): Dr John Knight, j.knight@qub.ac.uk (Extn 3703).

     Link: http://anthropology.ku.dk/

3. FRANCE

  - Université Paris-Est Créteil Val de Marne (History): Dr Eric Morier-Genoud, e.morier-genoud@qub.ac.uk (Extn 3881).

     Link: http://lettres-sh.u-pec.fr/departements/histoire  [solid French required]

  - SciencesPo Bordeaux (History):Dr Eric Morier-Genoud, e.morier-genoud@qub.ac.uk (Extn 3881).

     Link: http://www.sciencespobordeaux.fr

4. GERMANY

  - Humboldt, Berlin (History/Anthropology): Dr Todd Weir, t.weir@qub.ac.uk (Extn 3312).

     Link: http://www.geschichte.hu-berlin.de [solid German required]

  - Viadrina, Frankfurt Oder (History/Anthropology):Dr Todd Weir, t.weir@qub.ac.uk (Extn 3312).

     Link: http://www.kuwi.europa-uni.de/en/lehrstuhl/kg/index.html

  - University of Heidelberg (Anthropology): Prof. Fiona Magowan, f.magowan@qub.ac.uk (Extn 3740).

    Link: http://www.eth.uni-heidelberg.de/institut/index_en.html

5. GREECE

  - Athens (History): Dr Dion Smythe, d.smythe@qub.ac.uk (Extn 5226).

- Athens (Anthropology): Dr Evi Chatzipanagiotidou, e.chatzipanagiotidou@qub.ac.uk (extn 3704)

6. ITALY

  - Ca’ Foscari, Venice (Anthropology/History): Prof. Fiona Magowan, f.magowan@qub.ac.uk (Extn 3740).

     Link: http://www.unive.it/nqcontent.cfm?a_id=82229

7. NETHERLANDS

  - Amsterdam (History): Dr Sinead O'Sullivan, s.osullivan@qub.ac.uk (Extn 3430).  

     Link: http://www.hum.uva.nl/History

 - Utrecht (History and Anthropology): Dr Sinead O'Sullivan, s.osullivan@qub.ac.uk (Extn 3430).

     Link: http://www.uu.nl/Anthropology

     Link: http://www.uu.nl/History

     Link (UCU): http://www.uu.nl/university/college/en/Pages/default.aspx?refer=/ucu

8. NORWAY

 - Oslo (History): Dr James Davis (james.davis@qub.ac.uk )

   Link: http://www.uio.no/english/studies/admission/exchange/erasmus/

9. POLAND

  - Silesia, Katowice (History): Dr Dion Smythe, d.smythe@qub.ac.uk (Extn 5226). 

    Link: http://www.wns.us.edu.pl/drupal/

  - Warsaw (History): Dr Todd Weir, t.weir@qub.ac.uk (Extn 3312).

     Link: http://www.ihuw.pl/index_eng.php

10. SWEDEN

  - Stockholm (Anthropology): Dr John Knight, j.knight@qub.ac.uk (Extn 3703).

     Link: http://www.socant.su.se/english/

11. SWITZERLAND

  - Basel (History): Dr Eric Morier-Genoud, e.morier-genoud@qub.ac.uk (Extn 3881).

     Link: http://dg.philhist.unibas.ch/

  - Geneva (History): Dr Eric Morier-Genoud, e.morier-genoud@qub.ac.uk (Extn 3881).

    Link:  http://www.unige.ch/lettres/istge/index.html   [solid French required]

12. TURKEY

   - Koc, Istanbul (History): Dr Dion Smythe, d.smythe@qub.ac.uk (Extn 5226).

     Link: http://cssh.ku.edu.tr/hist/home