School of Mathematics and Physics

Staff

Please note all extension numbers are prefixed by +44 (0)28 9097


Academic Staff

Professor

  Borghesi, Prof Marco m.borghesi@qub.ac.uk Ext 6117 David Bates Building, 01.023
  Bowman, Prof Robert r.m.bowman@qub.ac.uk Ext 6011 David Bates Building, 02.022
  Currell, Prof Fred f.j.currell@qub.ac.uk Ext 6031 David Bates Building, 01.028
 

Fitzsimmons, Prof Alan

a.fitzsimmons@qub.ac.uk Ext 6355 David Bates Building, 0G.021
 ‌

Graham, Prof Bill

b.graham@qub.ac.uk Ext 6421 David Bates Building, 01.039
  Gregg, Prof Marty m.gregg@qub.ac.uk Ext 6424 David Bates Building, 02.021
 ‌ Keenan, Prof Francis f.keenan@qub.ac.uk Ext 6336 David Bates Building, 01.020
  Kohanoff, Prof Jorge j.kohanoff@qub.ac.uk Ext 6032 David Bates Building, 01.014
  Marshall, Prof Adele a.h.marshall@qub.ac.uk Ext 1919 Old Physics Building, 0G.009
  Mathioudakis, Prof Mihalis m.mathioudakis@qub.ac.uk Ext 6332 David Bates Building, 01.015
 ‌‌ Millar, Prof Tom tom.millar@qub.ac.uk Ext 6201 David Bates Building, 0G.032
 ‌ Paternostro, Prof Mauro m.paternostro@qub.ac.uk Ext 1928 Old Physics Building, 01.007
  Riley, Prof David d.riley@qub.ac.uk Ext 6418 David Bates Building, 02.009
  Smartt, Prof Stephen s.smartt@qub.ac.uk Ext 6305 David Bates Building, 0G.013
  Todorov, Prof Ivan i.todorov@qub.ac.uk Ext 1326 Old Physics Building, 01.029
  van der Hart, Prof Hugo h.vanderhart@qub.ac.uk Ext 1904 Old Physics Building, 01.002
  Williams, Prof Ian i.williams@qub.ac.uk Ext 6340 David Bates Building, 0G.014
  Zepf, Prof Matt m.zepf@qub.ac.uk Ext 6423 David Bates Building, 02.015

Reader

‌  Dromey, Dr Brendan b.dromey@qub.ac.uk Ext 6343 David Bates Building, 02.038
  Kotak, Dr Rubina r.kotak@qub.ac.uk Ext 6335 David Bates Building, 0G.012
  Mathieu, Dr Martin m.m@qub.ac.uk Ext 1321 Old Physics Building, 01.027
 ‌‌ Todorov, Dr Tchavdar t.todorov@qub.ac.uk Ext 6030 David Bates Building, 01.011

 Senior Lecturer

  Ballance, Dr Connor c.ballance@qub.ac.uk Ext 1934 Old Physics Building, 01.013
  Field, Dr Tom t.field@qub.ac.uk Ext 6342 David Bates Building, 02.037
  Greenwood, Dr Jason j.greenwood@qub.ac.uk Ext 6224 David Bates Building, 0G.020
  Pollard, Dr Bob r.pollard@qub.ac.uk Ext 6350 David Bates Building, 02.014
  Ramsbottom, Dr Cathy c.ramsbottom@qub.ac.uk Ext 1937 Old Physics Building, 01.019
  Watson, Dr Chris c.a.watson@qub.ac.uk Ext 6226 David Bates Building, 01.038

Lecturer

 Portrait 180x240 Arredondo, Dr Miryam m.arredondo@qub.ac.uk Ext 6422 David Bates Building, 02.019
Barnes, Dr David d.barnes@qub.ac.uk Ext 3076 Old Physics Building, 01.026
  Blanco, Dr Ariel a.blanco@qub.ac.uk Ext 1325 Old Physics Building, 01.028
Brown, Dr Andrew andrew.brown@qub.ac.uk Ext 1910 Old Physics Building, 01.005
Cairns, Dr Karen k.cairns@qub.ac.uk Ext 1926 Old Physics Building, 0G.015
De Chiara, Dr Gabriele g.dechiara@qub.ac.uk Ext 1929 Old Physics Building, 01.008
Dundas, Dr Dan d.dundas@qub.ac.uk Ext 6055 David Bates Building, 01.021
Felton, Dr Solveig s.felton@qub.ac.uk Ext 6126 David Bates Building, 02.012
Ferraro, Dr Alessandro a.ferraro@qub.ac.uk Ext 1930 Old Physics Building, 01.009
 180x240 Gibson, Dr Neale n.gibson@qub.ac.uk Ext 6307 David Bates Building, 01.034
Gribakin, Dr Gleb g.gribakin@qub.ac.uk Ext 1936 Old Physics Building, 01.018
Gruening, Dr Myrta m.gruening@qub.ac.uk Ext 6054 David Bates Building, 01.010
Huang, Dr Fumin f.huang@qub.ac.uk Ext 6318 David Bates Building, 02.010
Huettemann, Dr Thomas t.huettemann@qub.ac.uk Ext 1940 Old Physics Building, 01.024
Jess, Dr David d.jess@qub.ac.uk Ext 6338 David Bates Building, 01.030
  Kar, Dr Satya s.kar@qub.ac.uk Ext 6351 David Bates Building, 02.033
  Kourakis, Dr Ioannis i.kourakis@qub.ac.uk Ext 6319 David Bates Building, 02.032
 ‌ Kumar, Dr Amit a.kumar@qub.ac.uk Ext 6420 David Bates Building, 02.020
  Lin, Dr Ying-Fen y.lin@qub.ac.uk Ext 1587 Old Physics Building, 01.025
  McCrink, Dr Lisa l.mccrink@qub.ac.uk Ext 1922 Old Physics Building, 0G.011
  Mitchell, Miss Hannah h.mitchell@qub.ac.uk Ext 1925 Old Physics Building, 0G.014
  Moutari, Dr Salissou s.moutari@qub.ac.uk Ext 1920 Old Physics Building, 0G.010
  Poppenhaeger, Dr Katja k.poppenhaeger@qub.ac.uk Ext 6199 David Bates Building, 01.033
 ‌ Reville, Dr Brian b.reville@qub.ac.uk Ext 6364 David Bates Building, 02.029
  Rollins, Miss Rebecca r.rollins@qub.ac.uk Ext 1925 Old Physics Building, 0G.014
  Sarri, Dr Gianluca g.sarri@qub.ac.uk Ext 6371 David Bates Building, 02.008
  Shkarin, Dr Stanislav s.shkarin@qub.ac.uk Ext 1939 Old Physics Building, 01.022
  Sim, Dr Stuart s.sim@qub.ac.uk Ext 6200 David Bates Building, 0G.031
  Stella, Dr Lorenzo l.stella@qub.ac.uk Ext 6022 David Bates Building, 01.013
  Tribello, Dr Gareth g.tribello@qub.ac.uk Ext 6010 David Bates Building, 01.022
 Portait 180x240 Yeung, Dr Mark m.yeung@qub.ac.uk Ext 6259 David Bates Building, 01.008

 

Queen's Academic Fellows

 portrait 180x240 Fraser, Dr Wes wes.fraser@qub.ac.uk Ext 6354 David Bates Building, 0G.028
Portrait 180x240 Santos, Dr Elton e.santos@qub.ac.uk Ext 6044 David Bates Building, 01.016

 

Support Staff

  Weir, Dr David mpmanager@qub.ac.uk David Bates Building, Room 0G.018,
Ext 6034
School Manager
  McGarry, Mrs Helen helen.mcgarry@qub.ac.uk Old Physics Building, Room LG.009,
Ext 3517
Teaching Administrator
  Morris, Ms Brenda b.morris@qub.ac.uk David Bates Buildling, Room 02.027,
Ext 6015
CDT Manager

System Administrators

  Nersisyan, Dr Gagik g.nersisyan@qub.ac.uk David Bates Building, Rm 02.013,
Ext 6208
Laser Manager
  McFarland, Mr Stephen s.mcfarland@qub.ac.uk New Physics Building, Room LG.050,
Ext 3563
Electron Miscroscope Unit
  Montgomery, Dr Malachy m.j.montgomery@qub.ac.uk David Bates Building, Room 0G.038,
Ext 6042
Computer Support
  Ryans, Dr Robert r.ryans@qub.ac.uk David Bates Building, Room 0G,038,
Ext 6308
Computer Support
  Stewart, Dr Ian i.stewart@qub.ac.uk Old Physics Building, Room 0G.021,
Ext 1927
Computer Support
 

Technical Staff

     
  Lindsay, Mr Victor v.lindsay@qub.ac.uk New Physics Building, Room 01.022,
Ext 3521
Level 2/3 Labs
  Marlow, Dr Dan d.marlow@qub.ac.uk David Bates Building, Room 02.013,
Ext 6401
 
  McConnaughie, Mr Warren w.mcconnaughie@qub.ac.uk New Physics Building, Room LG.011,
Ext 3507
Main Workshop
  McCullough. Mr Martin martin.mccullough@qub.ac.uk New Physics Building, Room LG.011,
Ext 3507
Main Workshop
  McGuigan, Mr Pat p.mcguigan@qub.ac.uk New Physics Building, Room 0G.014,
Ext 3556
Electronic Workshop
  Orr, Mr Philip p.orr@qub.ac.uk New Physics Building, Room LG.028,
Ext 3577
Main Workshop
  Patrick, Ms Jackie j.patrick@qub.ac.uk New Physics Building, Room LG.028,
Ext 3524
Level 1 Labs

Clerical Staff

far Dean, Mrs Jillian j.dean@qub.ac.uk David Bates Building, Room 0G.007,
Ext 6114    
Accounts
  Kennedy, Mrs Jayne jayne.kennedy@qub.ac.uk David Bates Building, Room 0G.006,
Ext 6052
School Admin
 ‌‌portrait 180x240 Macartney, Dr Maurice m.macartney@qub.ac.uk David Bates Building, Room 0G.007,
Ext 6074
Research Support
  McCabe, Mrs Jenny j.mccabe@qub.ac.uk David Bates Building, Room 0G.006,
Ext 6124
School Admin
  McKee, Mrs Jennifer j.mckee@qub.ac.uk David Bates Building, Room 0G.019,
Ext 6005
School Secretary
  O'Brien, Miss Sheila s.obrien@qub.ac.uk Old Physics Building, Room LG.013,
Ext 1909
Teaching Support
  Rutherford, Miss Wendy w.rutherford@qub.ac.uk Old Physics Building, Room 0G.006,
Ext 3533
Outreach
  Spencer, Miss Tara t.spencer@qub.ac.uk Old Physics Building, Room LG.013,
Ext 1907
Teaching Support
  Watson, Miss Clare clare.watson@qub.ac.uk Old Physics Building, Room LG.013,
Ext 1908
Teaching Support

Honorary Staff

Professor Emeritus

 
Bates, Prof Brian Astrophysics
Burke CBE, FRS, Prof Philip Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics 
Crothers, Prof Derrick Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics
Dufton, Prof Philip Astrophysics
Gilbody, Prof H Brian Plasma Physics
Hibbert, Prof Alan Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics 
Kingston, Prof Arthur Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics 
Latimer, Prof Colin Plasma Physics
Lewis, Prof Ciaran Plasma Physics
Lynden-Bell FRS, Prof Ruth Atomistic Simulation Centre
Maddox, Prof Ivor Pure Mathematics 
McCullough, Prof Robert Plasma Physics
Patterson, Prof Thomas  Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics
Swain, Prof Stewart Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics 
Walmsley, Prof George Nanostructured Media
Walters, Prof James Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics 
Whitaker, Prof Andrew  
   

Honorary Professor

 
Bailey, Prof Mark Astrophysics
Burke, Prof Phil G Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics
Harris, Prof Alan Astrophysics
Lewis, Prof Ciaran Plasma Physics
Paxton, Prof A (Tony) T Automistic Simulation Centre
Stalder, Prof Ken Plasma Physics

Honorary Senior Lecturer

 
McMaster, Dr Brian Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics 
Reid, Dr Robin Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics 

Honorary Lecturer

 
Iyudu, Dr Natalia Pure Mathematics
Zheng, Dr Zue  

Research Staff

Aggarwal, Dr Kanti Astrophysics Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 02.034, Ext 3635
Ahmed, Dr Hamad Centre for Plasma Physics David Bates Building, Room 01.009, Ext 1274
Armstrong, Dr David Astrophysics Research Centre Warwick University
Brown, Dr Jeremy Centre for Plasma Physics David Bates Building, Room 02.004, Ext 6419
Campbell, Dr Steve Centre for Theoretical, Atomic Molecular and
Optical Physics
Old Physics Building, Room 01.001, Ext 1931
Coffey, Dr Ivor Astrophysics Research Centre  
Cousens, Dr Steven Centre for Plasma Physics David Bates Building, Room 01.009, Ext 6099
Cunningham, Dr Brian Atomistic Simulation Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 01.036, Ext 6360
de Jorge Henriques, Dr Vasco Astrophysics Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 02.035, Ext  6362
Doria, Dr Domenico Centre for Plasma Physics David Bates Building, Room 02.004, Ext 6419
Green, Dr Dermot

Centre for Theoretical, Atomic Molecular and
Optical Physics

Old Physics Building, Room 01.016, Ext 1935
Greene-Diniz, Dr Gabriel Automistic Simulation Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 01.005, Ext 6115
Hendren, Dr William Centre for Nanostructured Media Main Physics Building, Room LG.052, Ext 2592
Inserra, Mr Cosimo Astrophysics Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 02.034, Ext 6365
Kankare, Dr Erkki Astrophysics Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 02.034, Ext 6365
Kawate,Dr Tomoko Astrophysics Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 02.035, Ext 6362
Kennedy, Mr Michael Astrophysics Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 02.034, Ext 6365
Keys, Dr Peter Astrophysics Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 02.035, Ext 6362
Kuridze, Dr David Astrophysics Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 02.035, Ext 6362
Laha, Dr Sibasish Centre for Theoretical, Atomic Molecular and
Optical Physics
Old Physics Building, Room 01.001, Ext 1931
Li, Dr Lu Centre for Plasma Physics David Bates Building, Room 02.004, Ext 6419
Maguire, Dr Kate Astrophysics Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 0G.037, Ext 6334
McCarron, Dr Ryan Centre for Nanostructured Media Old Physics Building, Room LG.003, Ext 1902
McLaren, Mr Matthew Centre for Nanostructured Media Old Physics Building, Room LG.003, Ext 1902
McMillen, Dr Mark Centre for Nanostructured Media Old Physics Building, Room LG.003, Ext 1902
Morelli, Dr Alessio Centre for Nanostructured Media Main Physics Building, Room 01.006, Ext 2554
Muntean, Dr Elena-Andra Astrophysics Research Centre Main Physics Building, Room 01.006, Ext 1271
Naden, Dr Aaron Centre for Nanostructured Media Old Physics Building, Room LG.003, Ext 1902
Nelson, Mr Chris Astrophysics Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 01.035, Ext 6367
Sayamanthula, Mr Krishna Astrophysics Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 01.016, Ext 6044
Shingles, Dr Luke Astrophysics Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 02.034, Ext 6365
Smith, Dr Kenneth Software Developer,
Astrophysics Research Centre
David Bates Building, Room 02.035, Ext 6362
Triguero, Dr Carles Atomistic Simulation Research Centre David Bates Building, Room 01.035, Ext 6367
Velicky, Dr Matej Centre for Nanostructured Media Main Physics Building, Room LG.003, Ext 1902
Villagomez-Bernabe, Dr Balder Centre for Plasma Physics David Bates Building, Room 02.004, Ext 6419
White, Dr Steven Centre for Plasma Physics David Bates Building, Room 02.004, Ext 6419
Xia, Dr Qian Centre for Plasma Physics David Bates Building, Room 01.009, Ext 6099
Young, Dr David Astronomical Software Developer,
Astrophysics Research Centre
David Bates Building, Room 02.035, Ext 6362