Ryan Donnelly

Professor Ryan Donnelly - Chair in Pharmaceutical Technology at Queen's University Belfast

Professor Ryan Donnelly holds the Chair in Pharmaceutical Technology at Queen’s University Belfast. His research is centred on design and physicochemical characterisation of advanced polymeric drug delivery systems for transdermal and topical drug delivery, with a strong emphasis on improving therapeutic outcomes for patients. His bioadhesive patch design was used successfully in the clinic and has now been licensed to Swedish Pharma AB, for whom he acts as a Scientific Advisor. He is currently developing a range of novel microneedle technologies through independent research, but also in collaboration with the world’s leading transdermal patch manufacturer and several major pharma partners. Still at a relatively early stage of his career, he has obtained substantial RCUK, charity and industrial funding and authored over 300 peer-reviewed publications, including 4 patent applications, 4 textbooks, 21 book chapters and approximately 150 full papers. He has been an invited speaker at numerous national and international conferences. Professor Donnelly is Editor-in-Chief of Recent Patents on Drug Delivery & Formulation and a member of the Editorial Advisory Boards of several leading pharmaceutical science journals. He won the Controlled Release Society Young Investigator Award in 2016, the BBSRC Innovator of the Year Award and the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists Pharmaceutical Research Meritorious Manuscript Award in 2013, the GSK Emerging Scientist Award in 2012, the Royal Pharmaceutical Society’s Science Award (2011), the Queen’s Improvement to Society Award (2011), an Innovation Leader Award from the NHS Research & Development Office (2009), a Research Scholarship from the Research Council of Norway (2004) and the Pharmaceutical Society of Northern Ireland’s Gold Medal in 1999. In 2013, he was listed in the 40 most influential business leaders in Northern Ireland under the age of 40 by Belfast Media Group.