Skip to main content


In May 2012 the School of Pharmacy was awarded the Athena SWAN Bronze award.

Heather Anderson and Helen McCarthy (pictured) collected the award from the awards ceremony at the University of Birmingham on 4 May 2012.


The School SWAN Team

Carmel Hughes (School SWAN Champion)

David Woolfson

Heather Anderson

Helen McCarthy

Marie Migaud

Colin McCoy

Brendan Gilmore

Johanne Barry

Louise Donnelly

Lana McClements


Application and Action Plan Documents

The School of Pharmacy's SWAN Bronze Award application and action plan can be seen via the links below:

School of Pharmacy SWAN Bronze Award application

Action Plan for the School of Pharmacy


About the Charter

The Athena SWAN Charter is a scheme which recognises excellence in Science, Engineering and Technology (SET) employment in higher education. The Charter was launched in June 2005.

The beliefs underpinning the charter are:

  • The advancement of science, engineering and technology (SET) is fundamental to the quality of life across the globe.
  • It is vitally important that women are adequately represented in what has traditionally been, and is still, a male-dominated area.
  • Science cannot reach its full potential unless it can benefit from the talents of the whole population, and until women and men can benefit equally from the opportunities it affords.