Skip to main content


We have established an e-Group to facilitate input and exchange between academic and other policy users from outside Northern Ireland during the project.  This group aims to draw into the project experience and examples of good practice from outside Northern Ireland, raise the profile and awareness of the research and its emerging findings and increase the likelihood of the research having short, medium and longer term impacts in policy fora and practitioner communities outside the UK.


e-Group Members


Margaret Alston, Professor of Social Work & Human Services, and Director of the Centre for Rural Research, Charles Stuart University, Australia.

Bettina Bock, Associate Professor of Rural Sociology and Rural Gender Studies, Wageningen University, The Netherlands.

John Bryden, Research Professor at Norwegian Ag Economics Institute and NILF, Oslo, Norway.

Majda Cernic Istenic, Assistant Professor of Family Sociology, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia. 

John Davis, Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute (AFBI), Northern Ireland.

Marit Haugen, Research Director and Senior Researcher, Centre for Rural Research, Trondheim, Norway.

Philomena de Lima, Director of the Centre for Remote and Rural Studies, University of the Highlands and Islands, Scotland.

Jo Little, Professor in Gender and Geography, University of Exeter, England.

Ciaran Lynch, Director of the National Rural Network Republic of Ireland.

Ilona Matysiak, The Social Studies Institute, University of Warsaw, Poland.

Teresia Odel-Wieser, The Berggebiete, Austria

Elena Saraceno, Adviser on agriculture and rural policy in BEPA (Bureau of European Policy Advisers) of the European Commission.

Mark Shucksmith, Professor of Planning and Director or Research and Consultancy, Newcastle University, Newcastle, England. 


Participants from the European Commission, the European Parliament and a number of the National Rural Networks across Europe are also being invited to join the e-Group. 

NSS 2016 Footer Content