NEW!  A Bursary is available, on a competitive basis, to cover fees and/or accommodation for the Poetry Summer School.  This will be awarded after places on the Summer School have been offered.

If spending a week totally immersed in writing and understanding poetry sounds like just your thing then you might consider the Poetry Summer School at the Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry.  This year the course is running 22-26 June.  For more information on the Summer School and how to apply see here.

Top of Page

Prize now increased to £5000

Prize money for the Seamus Heaney Centre Poetry Prize has increased to £5000 plus the invitation to read at Glucksman Ireland House in New York University.    More information here. 

Previous winners are Sian Hughes, The Missing (2010), Katherine Towers, The Floating Man (2011), Rachael Boast, Sidereal (2012), Sarah Jackson, Pelt (2013) and Tara Bergin, This is Yarrow (2014).

Deadline for entries is Monday 20 April, 2015.

Top of Page