Staff

Key School Contacts

 Head of School - Professor Wil Verhoeven
tel: +44(0)28 9097 3775   ext: 3775

Director of EducationDr Kurt Taroff
tel: +44(0)28 9097 5106   ext: 5106

Director of ResearchProfessor Mark Burnett
tel: +44(0)28 9097 3994   ext: 3994

Director of Graduate Studies: Dr Piotr Blumczynski
tel: +44(0)28 9097 3860   ext: 3860

Director of Internationalisation: Professor David Johnston
tel: +44(0)28 9097 3343   ext: 3343

School Manager: Mrs Karen Blemmings
tel: +44(0)28 9097 5309   ext: 5309

School Office - Email: ael@qub.ac.uk  Tel: +44 (0)28 9097 3320 

MUSIC

Professor Michael Alcorn
Dean of Graduate Studies
Professor of Composition 
 
Professor Piers Hellawell
Professor of Composition
p.hellawell@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5202
ext 5202
Office: Music Building 
Emeritus Professor Jan Smaczny
Hamilton Harty Professor of Music 
 

Professor Pedro Rebelo
Professor of Sonic Arts

p.rebelo@qub.ac.uk 
+44 (0)28 9097 5406
ext 5406
Office: SARC
Professor Yo Tomita
Professor of Musicology
y.tomita@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5206
ext 5206
Office: Music Building 
Professor Ian Woodfield 
Professor of Historical Musicology
 i.woodfield@qub.ac.uk 
+44 (0)28 9097 5205
ext 5205
Office: Music Building   

Dr Trevor Agus
Lecturer

t.agus@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 4445
ext 4445
Office: SARC

Dr Zeynep Bulut
Lecturer in Music

z.bulut@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 1152
ext 1152
Office: Music Building

Mr Chris Corrigan
Lecturer in Audio Engineering

c.corrigan@qub.ac.uk 
+44 (0)28 9097 4830
ext 4830
Office: SARC

Dr Juliana Licinic van Walstijn
Music Co-ordinator

JAM | Junior Academy of Music
j.licinic@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5013
Office: Music Building
Dr Simon Mawhinney 
Senior Lecturer in Music 
s.mawhinney@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5324
ext 5324
Office: Music Building
Dr Sarah McCleave 
Senior Lecturer in Music 
s.mccleave@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5207
ext 5207
Office: Music Building 
Dr Miguel Ortiz
Lecturer in Design and Prototyping
m.ortiz@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 4770
ext 4770
Office: SARC Building
Dr Franziska Schroeder 
Senior Lecturer in Music and Sonic Arts 
f.schroeder@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 1024
ext 1024
Office: Music Building

Dr David Robb
Senior Lecturer in Music

d.robb@qub.ac.uk
+44(0)28 9097 5203
ext 5203
Office: Music Building

Dr Paul Stapleton 
Senior Lecturer in Sonic Arts 
p.stapleton@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5423
ext 5423
Office: SARC 
Dr Aidan Thomson 
Lecturer in Music 
a.thomson@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5208
ext 5208
Office: Music Building 
Dr Maarten van Walstijn
Lecturer (School of Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, based at SARC) 
m.vanwalstijn@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 4842
ext 4842
Office: SARC 
Dr Simon Waters 
Lecturer in Sonic Arts 
s.waters@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 4069
ext 4069
Office: SARC 
Dr Kurt James Werner
Lecturer in Audio
k.werner@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5488
ext 5488
Office: SARC

 

FILM

‌Professor Cahal McLaughlin
Chair of Film Studies
c.mclaughlin@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3634
ext 3634 
Office: 21 University Sq
Dr Sian Barber
Lecturer in Film Studies
s.barber@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 1142
ext 1142 
Office: 21 University Sq
Dr Stefano Baschiera
Senior Lecturer in Film Studies
s.baschiera@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3365
ext 3365
Office: 21 University Sq 
Dr Alexander Fisher
Lecturer in Film Studies
a.c.fisher@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3450
ext 3450
Office: 21 University Sq 
Dr Des O'Rawe
Lecturer in Film Studies
Convenor, MA Film
d.orawe@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3677
ext 3677 
Office: 22 University Sq
Mr Richard O'Sullivan
Lecturer in Film Studies
Advisor of Studies, Film
r.osullivan@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3567
ext 3567
Office: 21 University Sq
Dr Gary Rhodes
Lecturer in Film Studies
g.rhodes@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3694
ext 3694
Office: 21 University Sq

DRAMA

‌Prof Richard Schoch
Professor in Drama
r.schoch@qub.ac.uk
Dr Victoria Durrer 
Lecturer in Arts Management and Cultural Policy
Pathway Convenor, MA in Arts Management
v.durrer@qub.ac.uk
+44(0)28 9097 3278
ext 3278
Office: 21 University Sq
Mr David Grant
Lecturer in Drama
d.grant@qub.ac.uk 
+44(0)28 9097 3329
ext 3329
Office: 21 University Sq
Dr Eve Jeffrey
Lecturer in Drama
eve.jeffrey@qub.ac.uk
+44(0)28 9097 1280
ext 1280
Office: 21 University Sq  
Dr Aoife McGrath
Lecturer in Drama
aoife.mcgrath@qub.ac.uk
+44(0)28 9097 3249
QUB ext 3249 
Office: 19 University Sq
Dr Paul Murphy 
Lecturer in Drama
p.murphy@qub.ac.uk 
+44(0)28 9097 3402
ext 3402
Office: 21 University Sq 
Dr Mark Phelan 
Lecturer in Drama
m.phelan@qub.ac.uk
+44(0)28 909 5107
ext 5107
Office: 19 University Sq  
Dr Kurt Taroff 
Senior Lecturer in Drama
Director of Education
k.taroff@qub.ac.uk 
+44(0)28 9097 5106
ext 5106
Office: 21 University Sq. 

 

Research Fellows  
Dr Claude Fretz
Research Fellow
Performing Restoration Shakespeare

c.fretz@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5156
ext 5156 
Office: 21 University Sq

 

BROADCAST PRODUCTION

Dr Derek Johnston
Lecturer in Broadcast Production

derek.johnston@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3814
ext 3814

Dr. John D’Arcy
Lecturer in Digital Media
j.darcy@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0) 289097 4883
ext 4883
Room 03/012 SARC
Dr Declan Keeney
Lecturer in Broadcast Production 
Head of Broadcast Production

d.keeney@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0) 289097 5463
ext 5463 
Room 03/015 SARC
Professor Fran Brearton
Modern Irish and British Literature
 
Professor Mark Burnett
Director of Research
Renaissance Literature
 

Professor Glenn Patterson
Creative Writing (Fiction)

 
Professor Estelle A.M. Sheehan
17th and 18th Century Literature; the classical tradition in English Literature
 
Professor Moyra Haslett
18th Century Literature
 

Professors Emeriti:

Professor Ciaran Carson
Director of Seamus Heaney Centre

Professor Ed Larrissy
Poetry and Irish Writing

Professor Edna Longley 
Irish and Modern Literature

Professor Hugh Magennis
Literature in Anglo-Saxon England

Professor John Thompson
Later Medieval Literature

 
Dr Garrett Carr
Creative Writing
 
Dr Marilina Cesario
Medieval Literature and Historical Linguistics
 
Dr Leontia Flynn
Poetry
 
Dr Stephen Kelly
Later Medieval Literature
 
Dr Edel Lamb
Renaissance Literature
 
Dr Stefanie Lehner
Irish Literature
 
Dr Leon Litvack
Literature and Imperialism
 
Tim Loane
Creative Writing (Scriptwriting)
 
Dr Andrea Mayr
English Language
 
Dr Jimmy McAleavey
Creative Writing (Drama)
 
Dr Darran McCann
Creative Writing
 
Dr Gail McConnell
Contemporary Literature
 
Dr Philip McGowan
American Literature
 

Dr Jane Lugea
English Language and Stylistics

 
Dr Alex Murray
Modern Literary Studies
 
Dr Andrew Pepper
American Literature
 
Dr Michael Pierse
Irish Literature
 
Dr Joan Rahilly
Phonetics and linguistics; clinical speech and language
 
Dr Shaun Regan
18th Century Literature
 
Dr Marc Richards
Linguistics
 
Dr Daniel Sanjiv Roberts
Romanticism and Indian Literature in English
 
Dr Simon Statham
English Language 
 
Dr Sinead Sturgeon
Irish Literature
 
Dr Caroline Sumpter
Victorian Literature
 
Dr Ramona Wray
Renaissance Literature and Women's Writing
 

Royal Literary Fund Writing Fellow:

Brian McAvera

 
Fulbright Scholars:

Tess Taylor

Marilynn Richtarik
 

Dr Piotr Blumczynski

Translation theory and practice; Translation of sacred, religious and devotional texts; Bible translation; Ideological aspects of translation; Translation and linguistics; Cognitive semantics; Ethnolinguistics    

p.blumczynski@qub.ac.uk

Dr Sarah Bowskill 

Mexican Studies with an emphasis on literature and gender studies; Mexico – US Border;  Latin American Cultural Studies

s.bowskill@qub.ac.uk

Professor Janice Carruthers 

French Linguistics: sociolinguistics, variation, orality, temporality, corpus linguistics

j.carruthers@qub.ac.uk

Dr Fiona Clark 

Colonial Latin America; History of Medicine; Colonial Periodical Press; Eco-criticism

f.clark@qub.ac.uk

Dr Sarah Eardley-Weaver

Audiovisual translation; arts and media accessibility; multisemiotic communication and reception; opera translation for people with varying visual and hearing abilities

s.eardley-weaver@qub.ac.uk

Dr Sue-Ann Harding

Translation theory and intercultural studies; Social-Narrative theory, especially sites of conflict and narrative contestation; Complexity theory; the translation of space and landscape; Russian language and Russian studies

s.harding@qub.ac.uk

Dr Ted(CHEN-EN) Ho

Translation and Interpreting

c.ho@qub.ac.uk

Dr Anne Holloway

The reception of Early Modern Spanish literature; The poetry of Golden Age Spain

a.holloway@qub.ac.uk

Dr Tori Holmes

Brazilian cultural studies; digital culture in Brazil/Latin America; representation of urban Brazil; favelas; contemporary Brazilian film and documentary; digital ethnography

t.holmes@qub.ac.uk

Dr Dominique Jeannerod

Popular cultures, the European literary field, the international circulation of cultural artefacts, digital humanities and big data. He was the PI in the AHRC project Visualising European Crime Fiction and leads the  International Crime Fiction Research Group

d.jeannerod@qub.ac.uk

Professor David Johnston

Theory and practice of translation; translation and ethics; translation and public policy; translation for performance

d.johnston@qub.ac.uk

Dr Geraldine Lawless
Nineteenth-century Spanish literature and culture; early Spanish science fiction; futuristic fiction; the representation of time and temporal frameworks in literature; the work of Rosa Chacel
g.lawless@qub.ac.uk  

Dr Marcas Mac Coinnigh

[1] Irish Phraseology and Paremiology [2] Folkloristics [3] Historical Lexicography and Lexicology

m.maccoinnigh@qub.ac.uk

Dr Maeve McCusker

Contemporary Caribbean literature in French; Postcolonial literature and theory; nineteenth century Antillean writing; Whiteness

m.mccusker@qub.ac.uk

Dr Claire Moran

19th-century French studies; Textual and Visual Studies; Modernist Poetry; Artists' Writings.

c.moran@qub.ac.uk

Professor Mícheál Ó Mainnín

Language and society; Irish and Scottish literature and identity; linguistic variation and change

m.omainnin@qub.ac.uk

Dr Ricki O'Rawe

Modern Latin America; Argentine Literature & Art; The Spiritual in Art; Surrealism; Occulture; The Fourth Way
r.orawe@qub.ac.uk 

Dr Neil Sadler

Translation and the internet, social media, narrative theory, translation in the Arab world, critical theory

 

n.sadler@qub.ac.uk

Dr Gabriel Sánchez Espinosa

18th-century Spanish Literature and Culture; Spanish Enlightenment; History of the Book; Spanish Memoirs and Autobiographies

g.sanchez@qub.ac.uk

Dr Ros Silvester

Contemporary French literature, including autobiography/autofiction; francophone-Chinese writing, art and film; Word and Image Studies; Transnational Studies

r.silvester@qub.ac.uk

Professor Greg Toner

Medieval Irish literature and language; historiography; mythology; lexicography; humanities computing

g.toner@qub.ac.uk

Professor Margaret Topping

 

m.topping@qub.ac.uk

Professor Isabel Torres

Spanish Renaissance and Baroque Literature and Cultures; Poetics; Classical Heritage and Mythological Literature; Reader Response and Reception Studies

i.torres@qub.ac.uk

Dr Maria Tavares 

Postcolonial literatures and film from Portuguese-speaking Africa; Comparative Studies; Gender Studies
Biography; Representations of Heroism

m.tavares@qub.ac.uk

Dr Anna Tristram

Sociolinguistics and socio-historical linguistics of French, especially with reference to morphosyntactic features; prescriptivism and its influence on language use; language and identity; language and gender; dialect levelling

a.tristram@qub.ac.uk  

Dr Steven Wilson

19th-Century French Studies; Medical Humanities; Illness Narratives; Literary Representations of Contagion, Disease and the Figure of the Clinician

steven.wilson@qub.ac.uk

 

SCHOOL ADMINISTRATORS


Ms Karen Blemmings
School Manager

aelschoolmanager@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3317
ext 3317
Office: 2 University Sq


Mrs Naoimh Mackel
Operations Administrator

n.mackel@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3260
ext 3260
Office: 2 University Sq


Ms Deirdre McCrory
Research and Postgraduate Administrator

 

d.mccrory@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3152
ext 3152
Office: 4 University Sq


Ms Rosie McGookin
Education Administrator

r.mcgookin@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3693
ext 3693
Office: 2 University Sq

PA TO HEAD OF SCHOOL

Ms Diane Spratt 
PA to Head of School

d.spratt@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5309
ext 5309
Office: 01 006 2 University Square 

SCHOOL OFFICE


Mrs Lorriane Browne
School Office | Finance

c.l.browne@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 1179
ext 1179
Office: 0G 002 2 University Square

Ms Maria Meehan
School Office | Events & Marketing

m.meehan@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 1143
ext 1143
Office: 0G 002 2 University Square

Ms Sonia Rose
School Office | Finance

s.rose@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 1350
ext 1350
Office: OG 002 2 University Square

 

ARTS

Miss Eve Andrews
Administration | Music 
e.andrews@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5227
ext 5227
Music Office
Office Hours:
9am-1pm, 2pm-4:30pm
Ms Jennifer Brankin
Administration | Drama Studies
drama.studies@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5231
ext 5231
Reception, 21 University Sq.
Office Hours: 
9am-1pm, 2pm-4:30pm 
Ms Maria Farrell
Administration | Film Studies
film.studies@qub.ac.uk
+44 (028 9097 5364
ext 5364
Office: 21 University Sq
Office Hours:
9am-1pm, 2pm-4:30pm 
Ms Eleanor Ford
Administration 

e.ford@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 1122
ext 1122
Office: 5 University Sq
Office Hours:
9am-1pm, 2pm-4:30pm 

Mrs Krista Gallagher
Student Recruitment Officer | Music

 

k.gallagher@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5324
ext 5324
Office Hours:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday 9am-5pm

 

Mr David Mahaffy
Administration | Music

d.mahaffy@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 4867
ext 4867
Office: Sonic Arts Research Centre
Office Hours:
9am-1pm, 2pm-4:30pm

Mrs Iris Mateer 
Administration | Music 
music@qub.ac.uk
i.mateer@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5337
ext 5337
Music Building
Office Hours:
9am-1pm, 2pm-4:30pm 
Mrs. Carleen Walsh
Administration 

c.walsh@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3380
ext 3380
Office: 8 University Sq
Office Hours:
Monday - Thursday 9am-2pm

ENGLISH

Ms Angela Mallon
Administration

a.corr@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3319
ext 3319
2 University Square

Ms Rachel Carson
Administration

Rachel.Carson@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 1070
ext 1070
Office: 8 University Square

 

Ms Elish Cowan
Administration
e.cowan@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3422
ext 3422
2 University Square
Ms Linda Drain
Administration

l.drain@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5103
ext 5103
2 University Square

Mr Michael McAroe
Administration 

m.mcaroe@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5365
ext 5365
2 University Square

 

Dr David Bird
Music
d.bird@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 4641
ext 4641
Office: Sonic Arts Research Centre

Mr Glenn Gallagher
Film

g.gallagher@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3856
ext 3856
Office: Film Store, 21 University Square
Mr Craig Jackson
Music
c.jackson@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 4732 
ext 4732
Office: Sonic Arts Research Centre
Mrs Paula Johnston
Film

paula.johnston@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 3641
ext 3641
Office: Film Store, 21 University Square

Mr Ross McDade
Drama 
r.mcdade@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 5299
ext 5299
Office: Drama and Film Centre - Access via 20 University Sq. 
Ms Mary Tumelty
Drama
m.tumelty@qub.ac.uk
+44 (0)28 9097 1377
ext 1377
Office: Drama and Film Centre - Access via 20 University Sq. 




 



Performance Tutors

Strings
Violin
Joanne Quigley
 
Flute
Sarah Murphy
Jennifer Sturgeon
 
Clarinet
Paul Schumann
 
Trumpet
Paul Young
 
Trombone/Euphonium
Steve Barnett
 
Piano
Chris Blake
Galina Crothers
Mark McGrath
Lilian Simones
Brian Conor
Donal McCrisken
Scott Flanigan (Jazz Pianist)
 
Voice (classical, folk and pop)
Jenny Bourke
Dr Angela Feeney
David Robertson
Debra Stuart
Ross Anderson 
Caroline Pugh 
Una McCann
 
Percussion
Steve Davis
 
Guitar
John McGurgan 
Phil Smith 
 
Fiddle
Kevin McCullagh 
 
Electronics
Tristan Clutterbuck
Andrew Cavan Fyans
Pablo Sanz
 
Traditional Irish Music
Neil Martin