Skip to main content

GAP Lectures and Seminars

First Semester 2013-2014

DateClusterSeminar Details  
Tue 26 September SCC Professor John Stenhouse (University of Otago): 'The reception of Darwinism in New Zealand, 1860-1900'
Chair: Professor David Livingstone
Tue 15 October PCC Dr Tatjana Kytmannow (Independent Scholar): 'Art Imitating Nature: The relationship between worked pedestal rocks and megaliths in the Burren Area, Co. Cavan'
Chair: Jim Mallory
Thu 21 October EC Prof. Emeritus Jim Rose (Royal Holloway): 'Earliest Humans in Northern Europe'
Chair: -
Mon 28 October EC Dr. Christine Lane (Oxford University): 'Dating sites and networking events: addressing chronological questions using volcanic ash'
Chair: -
Tue 29 October PCC Dr Wes Forsythe (University of Ulster): 'The Production of Salt in Ireland: establishing a multiscalar understanding of the archaeology of a marine industry'
Chair: Audrey Horning
Fri 8 November PCC Professor Richard Bradley (University of Reading): 'The Earth Compels – excavating prehistoric rock art in Scotland and Spain'
Chair: Caroline Malone

Mon 25 November
Room 0G 029 @4pm

PCC Professor Vince Gaffney (University of Birmingham): 'GIS applications and the Stonehenge Hidden Landscapes Project'
Chair: Caroline Malone
Tue 26 November PCC Dr Jubin Cheruvelil (Queen’s University Belfast): 'Resource and Landscape Uncertainty: Hunter-gatherer subsistence and settlement adaptation along the Great Lakes'
Chair: Audrey Horning
Thu 28 November SCC Dr Karen Till (NUI Maynooth): 'Wounded cities'
Chair: Dr Nuala Johnson

Mon 9 December
Room 0G 029 @4pm

PCC Professor Wolfgang Neubauer (Universität Wien): 'Middle Neolithic (4800-4500 BC) monumental enclosures on the Continent'
Chair: Dirk Brandherm
Tue 10 December PCC Professor Wolfgang Neubauer (Universität Wien): 'Prospecting Archaeological Landscapes'
Chair: Audrey Horning
Tue 21 January 2014 PCC Dr Laura Basell: 'Human Evolution and Palaeoenvironments at the Headwaters of the Nile'
Chair: Dirk Brandherm
Tue 28 January 2014 EC Dr Kendra Spence Cheruvelil (Queen’s University Belfast & Michigan State University): Increasing scientific understanding of environmental change: Quantifying multi-scaled relationships between terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems
Chair: -
Tue 4 February 2014 PCC Professor Anthony Harding (University of Exeter): Salt of the Earth: 'New research on prehistoric salt production in central and eastern Europe'
Chair: Dirk Brandherm
Thu 6 February 2014 SCC Professor Phil Steinberg (University of Durham): 'Freezing space: mapping geopolitics to geophysics in the circumpolar Arctic'
Chair: Professor Stephen Royle
Tue 11 February 2014 EC Professor Peter Coxon (Trinity College Dublin): Annually-resolved natural climate variability during MIS 11. Where the wild-fires are… and Homo heidelbergensis
Chair: -
Thu 27 February 2014 EC Professor Barbara Wohlfarth (Stockholm University): 'Tropical wetlands - sensitive archives for tracing past Asian monsoon variability'
Chair: -
Tue 4 March 2014 PCC Professor Marilyn Palmer (University of Leicester): 'Comfort and Convenience in the Country House'
Chair: Audrey Horning
Wed 12 March 2014 SCC Professor Tom Cooke (University of Connecticut) : 'Information and Communication Technologies and the Long-Term Decline in US Internal Migration'
Chair: Dr. Ian Shuttleworth
Thu 27 March 2014 EC Dr Nicholas Barrand (University of Birmingham): 'Past trends, present-day conditions, and future projections of snow and ice melt in the Antarctic Peninsula'
Chair: -
Fri 28 March 2014
4.30-5.30pm
PCC Luke Winter (Ancient Technology Centre Cranborne): 'Experimental Archaeology and the Stonehenge Neolithic Houses Project'
Chair: Laura Basell
Tue 1 April 2014 PCC Dr Mary Cahill (National Museum of Ireland):'The Origins of the Gold Gorget – an exploration of the concept of the warrior/chieftain in Late Bronze Age Ireland'
Chair: Finbar McCormick
Tue 29 April 2014 PCC Professor Dawn Hadley (University of Sheffield): 'The Viking winter camp of 872-3 at Torksey, Lincolnshire'
Chair: Finbar McCormick
Thu 1 May 2014 SCC Joint Seminar organised by School of Geography, Archaeology & Palaeoecology and School of Modern Languages, Latin American Studies Forum
Professor Patience Schell (University of Aberdeen, UK):‘Natural History and Leading the Good Life in Nineteenth-century Chile’
Chair: Professor David Livingstone
Thu 8 May 2014 SCC Professor Godfrey Baldacchino, University of Malta: 'Palau, Bermuda, Socotra: mobilities and spaces of re/incarceration'
Chair: Professor Stephen Royle
Fri 9 May PCC Professor Ian Kuijt (University of Notre Dame): 'The Regeneration of Neolithic Life – the human face and structures of remembering and forgetting in Near Eastern agricultural villages'
Chair: Prof Audrey Horning
Tue 13 May 2014 PCC Dr Catriona McKenzie (Queen’s University Belfast): 'Old Bones: ageing and diseases of the aged in archaeological skeletal collections'
Chair: Laura Basell
Thu 15 May 2014 SCC Professor John Agnew (UCLA) : 'Not by words alone': A critique of how the history of ideas is often used in human geography'
Chair: Dr Niall Majury
Fri 27 June 2014 PCC Dr Michal Krueger (Adam Mickiewicz University Poznan) & Dr Dirk Brandherm (Queen’s University Belfast): The beginnings of the Early Iron Age in south- western Iberia: chronology and material culture
Chair: -

 

PCC  Seminars usually take place at 1pm in Room 0G 043, Archaeology Building - All welcome
EC
seminars usually take place at 1pm in Room 01-009, Elmwood Building - All welcome
SSC Seminars usually take place at 1pm  in Room 01-009, Elmwood Building - All welcome