School of History, Anthropology, Philosophy and Politics

School Postgraduate Funding

We are committed to welcoming students from all over the world and helping them to achieve their ambitions!

Details of all the School funding can be found on this page.  Be sure to revisit this page frequently and check the site news items throughout the year as funding becomes available.  

All candidates are encouraged to apply via the Direct Application Portal for these opportunities. Applications via Direct Application Portal (DAP) 

Postgraduate Funding

International Postgraduate Scholarships

**NEW: Apply for an International PhD Award 2017**

Award winners will receive one year of accommodation free of charge in Queen's University Halls of Residence. This will save international students approximately £6,000 in their first year of study!

Award available to international students only studying in AHSS, commencing September 2017.

Don't miss out, check out the flyer here for further information, and, terms and conditions.

You can also visit the website here.



From the academic year 2017/18, the Government will provide a tuition fee loan of 
up to £5,500 per student for postgraduate study. 

The postgraduate tuition fee loan (PG TFL) for postgraduate study will be:

  1. A tuition fee loan
  2. Non-means tested
  3. Paid directly to the University

For further information, visit here.

The loan scheme is scheduled to launch in June 2017. A dedicated phone line will become available early April 2017
Further details can be found via Student Finance NI

Mary McNeill Scholarships for MA Irish Studies

Mary McNeill, author of The life and times of Mary Ann McCracken, and a leading figure in the Irish Association, was a distinguished Irish historian.  This scholarship is founded in her memory.

Two scholarships to the value of £3,000 each are available for well–qualified students enrolling in the one–year MA in Irish Studies at the Queen’s University of Belfast in September 2017.  This scholarship is open only to residents of the USA or Canada, enrolling as overseas students on this MA course.

Applications will be judged by a panel on the basis of academic merit and reasons for taking the course.

Closing date for applications is Friday 5th May 2017, by 5pm UK time.

Download an Application Form from

Deadlines for recent Postgraduate Research Funding Opportunities closed in January and on 17 February 2017.

Applicants are advised to note the following important dates in relation to funding decision announcements:

AHRC Northern Bridge Deadline: *CLOSED* Wednesday 11 January 2017 at 5pm. The results of the competition will be announced on Friday 24 March.

NINE Application Deadline: *CLOSED* Monday 16 January 2017 at 5pmSuccessful candidates will be notified on 22 March 2017.

LINCS Application Deadline: *CLOSED* Monday 16 January 2017 at 5pm. Please contact the Mitchell Institute direct for further information:

DfE Application Deadline: *CLOSED* Friday 17 February 2017 at 5pm. The results of the competition will be announced after Wednesday 29 March, 2017

Good luck with your application!

You can contact the Research and Postgraduate Team ( for programme and funding enquiries.


The Director of Graduate Studies is Dr Muiris MacCarthaigh
The PGR Tutor, Semester 1 is Prof Chris Marsh
The PGR Tutor, Semester 2 is Dr Scott Dixon
Research and Postgraduate Administrator   +44 (0)28 9097 1362 
Clerical Officer, Research and Postgraduate (Politics, International Studies and Philosophy) Paul Lappin +44 (0) 28 90975111
Clerical Officer, Research and Postgraduate (History and Anthropology)
Tricia Lock +44 (0) 28 90973423 
Clerical Officer, Research and Postgraduate (Monday, Tuesday 8am - 4pm and Wednesday 8am - 12.30pm)
Jade Hutchinson +44 (0) 28 9097 3700


Postgraduate Research Academic Contacts

Anthropological Studies (Doctor of Philosophy)

Semester 1

Dr Maruska Svasek

Anthropological Studies (Doctor of Philosophy)

Semester 2

Dr Dom Bryan
History (Doctor of Philosophy) Prof. Mary O'Dowd
Cognition and Culture (Doctor of Philosophy)
Dr Paulo Sousa
Irish Studies (Doctor of Philosophy) Prof. Peter Gray 
International Studies (Doctor of Philosophy) Dr Heather Johnson 
Philosophy (Doctor of Philosophy) Dr Tom Walker 
Politics (Doctor of Philosophy) Dr Heather Johnson