Skip to main content

Gender Equality Committee

Some members of the SAT Team and Committee

Gender Equality Committee

The committee chaired by Professor Karen McCloskey has female and male members from Centres within the school, representing all staff categories.

In addition, the Queen’s Gender Initiative Director, Professor Yvonne Galligan the Equal Opportunities Unit Manager, Mr Paul Browne sit on the committee.

We have a number of advisors both within and external to QUB.

Terms of Reference

The School of Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences is committed to promoting equality of opportunity in all its functions and will seek to do this by:

  • identification of specific gender issues and addressing them
  • maintaining mechanisms for monitoring, evaluation and review
  • organization of seminars and networking opportunities
  • promotion of opportunities for engagement with training / mentoring programmes
  • co-ordination of benchmarking activities and award submissions
  • developing and maintaining a website presence
  • raising awareness and publicity within the School and outside
  • working with other UK Medical/Dental Schools to share good practice
  • linking with European networks to develop collaborative projects

GEC Membership 2015 - 16  Professor Karen McCloskey (Chair), Dr Laura Ann Montgomery, Dr Derek Brazil, Dr Marie Cantwell, Dr Michelle McKinley, Professor Jayne Woodside, Dr Nuala Tipping, Dr Ultan Power, Professor Ken Mills, Dr Caitriona Holohan, Professor Sue Morison, Dr Janitha Costa, Ms Louise McDonald, Professor Yvonne Galligan, Mr Paul Browne.