Staff Student Consultative Committee

The purpose of SSCCs is:
1. to ensure that schools and institutes receive evaluation and feedback from students on the quality of their academic provision and associated activities;
2.  to provide a mechanism whereby heads of schools and institutes can seek the views of students on matters of policy related to course development and review;
3.  to enable discussion of areas of concern for students in terms of academic provision and related activities.
For example comments could concern
·   the curriculum
·   teaching and learning
·   guidance
·   resources
·   feedback
·   accommodation
This list is not exhaustive.

The membership
A SSCC will be made up of equal numbers of the academic staff and students of the school. Early in the first semester, you will be asked to take part in the nomination and election of student representative/s for your Stage. It is important that you know who your SSCC representatives are and that you ensure they raise issues on your behalf.

Conduct of meetings
Every SSCC should ideally meet twice in each semester. A written agenda will be issued seven days before each meeting. Any member may have items included on the agenda, providing they are within the committee’s competence. Students in the school are entitled to have access to the minutes through the school website.

Resolving disputes
If there is a disagreement which cannot be resolved within a SSCC, it may appeal to the School Board and seek the assistance of the Vice-President (Education) of the Students’ Union.

Training
The Students’ Union will organise training sessions each year for student representatives on SSCCs.


Contact:

Dr Etain Tansey
Room No: 01/039A, 1st Floor Whitla Medical Building
Phone no: +44 (0)28 9097 2315
Email: e.tansey@qub.ac.uk 

 

List of Reps

Forename

Surname

Email Address

Level

Pathway

Louise

Busteed

lbusteed01@qub.ac.uk

1

Human Biology

James

Irwin

jirwin25@qub.ac.uk

1

Biomedical Sciences

Lewis

Kitchen

lkitchen01@qub.ac.uk

2

Biomedical Sciences

Rachel

Sullivan

rsullivan03@qub.ac.uk

2

Human Biology

John

Churchill

jchurchill01@qub.ac.uk

2

Human Biology

Karin

Yeoh

syeoh01@qub.ac.uk

3

Biomedical Sciences

Eimhear

Duffy

eduffy17@qub.ac.uk

3

Human Biology

Nichola

Moreland

nmoreland01@qub.ac.uk

3

Human Biology

Lesley

Bailie

lbailie03@qub.ac.uk

3

Intercalated in Medical Science