Research Seminars

The School's Research Seminars for 2016/17 take place on Thursdays at 1:00pm in the Boardroom, DKB 02.527 (unless otherwise specified). Lunch and coffee is provided from 12:30. For further information contact Mihalis Doumas.

 

Date

Speaker

Title

Host

Thu 6 Oct

Karolina Urbanska

 

 

Patrick O'Connor

Beyond procedural justice: Understanding group-level responses to intergroup-level authority decisions

 

Mental Representations of Order in Mathematical Cognition

Dr Mihalis Doumas

Thu 13 Oct

Free Slot

 

 

Thu 20 Oct

Dr Bianca Van Bers. QUB

Dynamics, models and mechanisms of the cognitive flexibility of preschoolers

Dr Kinga Morsanyi

Thu 27 Oct

Dr Nina Attridge, University of Loughborough

 

The disruptive effects of physical pain on attention

Dr Kinga Morsanyi

Thu 3 Nov

Reading week, no seminar

 

 

 

Thu 10 Nov

PhD students

Emma Berry

 

 

Thia Sagherian-Dickey

 

Developing an intervention to reduce diabetes distress in individuals with type 2 diabetes and their partners

 

Understanding the dynamics of intergroup trust

 

 

 

Dr Mihalis Doumas

Thu 17 Nov

Dr Ioana Latu, QUB

Social cognition in (inter)action

 

Dr Laura Taylor

Thu 24 Nov

Dr Kostas A. Papageorgiou, QUB

"Eyes are the window to the future soul": Individual Differences in Newborns and Infants' Attention Associate with Temperament and Symptoms of Psychopathology in Childhood

 

Dr Mihalis Doumas

Thu 1 Dec

Prof. Dean Adjukovic, University of Zagreb

 

Mental health issues of refugees and challenges of current migration surge

(This will be based on our recent development of triage and screening procedure in resource restricted circumstances and a model of continuity of MH care for refugees and forced migrants).

 

Dr Laura Taylor

Thu 8 Dec

Dr Sigrun Marie Moss, University of Oslo

 

Political crisis in Zanzibar: Us and them categories in leadership narratives

Dr Laura Taylor

Thu 15 Dec

Dr Chris Gibbons, QUB

‘Stress isn’t bad for well-being, it’s our reaction that is’ – understanding student reactions to stress

Dr Mihalis Doumas

Thu 16 Feb

Dr Daniela Balslev, University of St Andrews

 

Oculoproprioception – an eye position signal selective for coding the locus of attention?

 

Dr Mihalis Doumas

Mon 20 Feb

Dr Rakefet Ackerman, Techion Israel Institute of Technology

 

Learning on screen or on paper?  A metacognitive analysis of media effects on reading comprehension and problem solving

 

Dr Judith Wylie

Thu 23 Feb

Prof. John Kennedy,

University of Toronto, Canada

 

Ice-age art & pictures by the blind: Surfaces in vision and touch

 

Dr Mihalis Doumas

 Thu 2 Mar

PhD student: Nicola Gillen

 

 

 Measuring auditory discrimination thresholds in preschool children

Dr Mihalis Doumas

Thu 9 Mar

Dr Fabia Franco

Middlesex University London

Musilanguage in the cradle:

Universality of singing interactions in infancy and language development

 

Dr Kostas Papageorgiou

Thu 16 Mar

Dr Gemma Reynolds

Middlesex University London

Vicarious learning and un-learning of childhood fears

 

Dr Kostas Papageorgiou

Thu 23 Mar

Dr Pauline Adair

Programme Director, Doctorate in Clinical Psychology, QUB

 

Targeting Parental Attitudes, Intention, and Self-Efficacy to Change Their Child's Oral Health Behaviour

 

Dr Mihalis Doumas

Thu 30 Mar

PhD students:

Rebecca Hill,

 

 

 

Rachel Johnston

 

 

The effectiveness of a mindfulness-based intervention for improving well-being in palliative care staff

 

Investigation of Attentional bias in Obsessive Compulsive Disorder

 

 

Dr Mihalis Doumas

Thu 6 Apr

Dr Robrecht van der Wel

Rutgers University, NJ, USA

 

Social cognition through the lens of physical action. 

 

 

Dr Ioana Latu

Thu 4 May

Dr Francesca Chiesi University of Florence

 

Too scared and  biased to learn statistics? Measuring and modelling attitudes, anxiety, learning approaches, and performance 

Dr Kinga Morsanyi

Thu 11 May

Dr Marina Stambuk

University of Zagreb

Ethnic upbringing in a post-conflict community

 

Dr Laura Taylor

Sunday 21 May

Morning (time to be confirmed), Oyster Bay Court Guest Houses in Carlingford (as part of PsychHike)

Dr Giovanni Moneta

London Metropolitan University.

Where does flow come from? (And how can it be used in conducting doctoral research?)

Dr Kostas Papageorgiou