LINCS


Leverhulme Interdisciplinary Network on Cybersecurity and Society (LINCS)

The Leverhulme Interdisciplinary Network on Cybersecurity and Society (LINCS) at Queen’s University Belfast has been established to support pioneering research at the interface between the social sciences and electronic engineering & computer science. LINCS brings together The Senator George J. Mitchell Institute for Global Peace, Security and Justice and the Centre for Secure Information Technologies (CSIT) to develop a distinctive cohort of doctoral students working across the boundaries of their disciplines who will open up new avenues of enquiry centred initially on the priority themes and specific PhD projects outlined below. 

LINCS offers fully-funded doctoral studentships to outstanding applicants. We provide a comprehensive and attractive package of financial support over the duration of study, which incorporates: 

For further information, please contact the LINCS Programme Administrator, Valerie Miller on 028 9097 3430 or email v.miller@qub.ac.uk.


How To Apply

Step One:

Before you apply you will need to explore with our Project Contacts whether your area of research interest can be supervised and supported. Please see the lead supervisor indicated beside each project.

The full list of specific projects for 2018 entry can be found here - LINCS Information and Guidance Notes 2018‌

In addition to the specific projects listed under each priority theme, applicants may propose their own interdisciplinary topic that aligns with one or more of the priority themes.

In this case, please contact Professor John Morison in the first instance. 

 

Step Two:

Complete an Online Application Form

All applications must be made via the Queen's University Applications Portal.

You must include the code LINCS18 on your application form to indicate that you wish to be considered for a LINCS award.

Applicants should chose the option “I wish to be considered for external funding” and then enter LINCS18 in the free text box which follows.

 

Completing Your Application

 

The deadline for applications is 5.00 pm, Monday 15 January 2018.

Please read the ‌applicant guidance notes below that set out the eligibility criteria and guidance notes for people wishing to apply for a fully funded, three year LINCS PhD studentship.


The Online Application 


 

PROGRAMME CONTACTS

Programme Coordinator

Prof John Morison  j.morison@qub.ac.uk

 

Training & Skills Coordinators

 

CSIT: Dr Philip O’Kane  p.okane@qub.ac.uk

  

Internationalisation Coordinator

TBC

 

Placements and Partnerships Coordinators

CSIT: Dr Kieran McLoughlin kieran.mclaughlin@qub.ac.uk 

AHSS: Dr Muiris MacCarthaigh m.maccarthaigh@qub.ac.uk

 

Pastoral Support Coordinator

Prof John Morison  j.morison@qub.ac.uk

 

Programme Reporting Coordinator

Prof John Morison  j.morison@qub.ac.uk

 

Supervisory Teams Coordinators (Theme)

Cybersecurity: Technology and Ethics

Prof Sakir Sezer  sakir.sezer@qub.ac.uk

 

Cyberspace, Privacy and Data Protection

Dr Tom Walker  tom.walker@qub.ac.uk

 

Debordering and Rebordering in Cyberspace: Technological, Legal and Political Aspects

Dr Debbie Lisle  d.lisle@qub.ac.uk

 

Borders, Security Technologies, Data Gathering and Data Sharing

Prof Hastings Donnan  h.donnan@qub.ac.uk

 

Research Ethics Officer

Dr Tom Walker  tom.walker@qub.ac.uk

 

Programme Administrator

Ms Valerie Miller  v.miller@qub.ac.uk