Our Research Leaders


Professor John McCanny CBE

John was founding ECIT Director and following retirement in December 2017 holds the position of Honorary Professor and Regius Professor Emeritus, Electronics and Computer Engineering at QUB.

Within Queen’s he was responsible for the vision that led to the creation of the Northern Ireland Science Park, with ECIT and its £37m CSIT research flagship. Professor McCanny is a Fellow of the Royal Society, the Royal Academy of Engineering, and the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE).

Professor Dimitrios Nikolopoulos

Dimitrios Nikolopoulos is the Director of the Institute of Electronics, Communications and Information Technology (ECIT), as well as Director of the Centre for Data Science & Scalable Computing.

His research explores scalable computing systems for data-driven applications and new computing paradigms at the limits of performance, power and reliability.

Professor Dimitrios Nikolopoulos


Máire is Director of Research for Data Security Systems in the Centre for Secure Information Technologies.

A one-time British Female Inventor of the Year and an EPSRC Leadership Fellowship holder, Máire is among Europe’s leading cryptography experts helping to enhance our data security. Her research involves designing novel security solutions for communications applications.

Prof Máire O'Neill

Dr Simon Cotton

Simon is the Director of the Centre for Wireless Innovation (CWI) and a world leading expert in the areas of wireless channel characterisation and modelling.

Among his other areas of expertise are 5G, device-to-device, vehicular, and wearable communications. Simon received the 2010 IEEE H. A. Wheeler Prize Paper Award. He was awarded the Sir George Macfarlane Medal from the Royal Academy of Engineering and the Philip Leverhulme Prize from the Leverhulme Trust both in 2011. From 2010-2015, Simon held a highly prestigious Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellowship.

Dr Simon Cotton

Professor Sakir Sezer

Turkish-born Sakir Sezer has a passion for designing hardware-based network processing. He and his team are working on new intrusion and malicious code detection algorithms.

After completing his primary degree at RWTH Aachen University in Germany, Sakir undertook a student exchange programme with Queen's University and was subsequently employed at a local high-tech start-up...

Professor Sakir Sezer

Professor Vince Fusco

Professor Fusco holds a personal chair at the Queens University of Belfast in High Frequency Electronics where he is currently the CTO of the QUB Global Research Institute ECIT.

His research interests include active and passive antenna techniques. Professor Fusco has published over 450 scientific papers and holds several patents. He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and the Irish Academy of Engineering, IET, IEEE, and IAE. In 2012 he was awarded the IET senior achievement award the Mountbatten medal.

Professor Vince Fusco

Find out more

About us