Skip to main content

Each school within Queen's University Belfast that holds an Athena SWAN Award has at least one Champion.

A Champion:

  • is responsible for advancing gender equality within their given area
  • attends monthly meetings chaired by an SET Head of School, with feedback being submitted to the University's co-ordinating group
  • is therefore provided with a new route to managerial and administrative experience

Champions have been co-opted to their School Management Board by virtue of this responsibility, opening other opportunities for career progression. Queen's University Champions have gone on to become Heads of School, Professors and Senior Lecturers.

This programme is resourced locally through Schools and centrally through the financial and administrative support given to the Gender Initiative and the Equal Opportunities Unit.

 

SWAN CHAMPIONS EMAIL Department
Members:    
Anna Tristram a.tristram@qub.ac.uk School of Arts, English and Languages
Paul Murphy p.murphy@qub.ac.uk School of Arts, English and Languages
Aileen Stockdale a.stockdale@qub.ac.uk School of Natural and Built Environment
Danielle Soban d.soban@qub.ac.uk School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Mark Linden m.linden@qub.ac.uk School of Nursing and Midwifery
Edel Hyland e.hyland@qub.ac.uk School of Biological Sciences
Elaine Farrell e.farrell@qub.ac.uk School of History, Anthropology, Philosophy and Politics
Gabriele De Chiara g.dechiara@qub.ac.uk School of Mathematics and Physics
Ioana Latu i.latu@qub.ac.uk School of Psychology
Jonathan Coulter j.coulter@qub.ac.uk School of Pharmacy
Karen McCloskey k.mccloskey@qub.ac.uk School of Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Karen Rafferty k.rafferty@qub.ac.uk School of Electronics, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
Kathryn McNeilly K.McNeilly@qub.ac.uk School of Law
Lesley Moreland l.moreland@ecit.qub.ac.uk School of Electronics, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
Michelle McKinley m.mckinley@qub.ac.uk School of Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Moira Dean moira.dean@qub.ac.uk School of Biological Sciences
Pamela Walsh pamela.walsh@qub.ac.uk School of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Peter Robertson P.Robertson@qub.ac.uk School of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Rebecca Craig rebecca.craig@qub.ac.uk School of Pharmacy
Susan Clarke s.a.clarke@qub.ac.uk School of Nursing and Midwifery
Lisa Graham-Wisner l.graham-wisener@qub.ac.uk School of Psychology
Tristan Sturm T.Sturm@qub.ac.uk NBE (School of Geography, Archaeology and Palaeoecology)
Lisa Smyth l.smyth@qub.ac.uk School of Sociology, Social Policy and Social Work
Victoria Montgomery v.montgomery@qub.ac.uk Institutional
Joseph Butterfield j.butterfield@qub.ac.uk School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Beatrice Smyth beatrice.smyth@qub.ac.uk School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering