Student and Graduate of the year

The annual Graduate & Student of the Year Awards were launched in 1999 by the Queen’s Graduates’ Association and the University’s Development and Alumni Relations Office, with the generous support of First Trust Bank.

The 2016 nominations process is open until Friday 10 June and anyone can submit an entry, including graduates, staff, students, families and friends.


Past Winners

Click here to see a full list of past winners of the Graduate and Student Awards.


Graduate Award

Nominations for individual - or groups - of graduates should be for those who have made a substantial contribution to the arts, sciences or business or to sporting, public or academic life. Entries for those who have made a significant contribution to the lives of others, or to the life of the University, can also be considered. Previous recipients have come from the fields of sport (David Humphreys), business (Mark Ennis), the arts (The Priests) and medicine (the late Dr Wesley Finegan).

Click here to submit a nomination for First Trust Graduate of the Year 2016. 


Student Award

Those nominated for the Student of the Year Award should have made a significant contribution to the life of the University – or to the lives of others – during their time at Queen’s. In the past this Award has gone to individuals and also to groups of law, medical and engineering students.

In addition to the trophy, the Student winner(s) will receive a cheque for £500!

Click here to submit a nomination for First Trust Student of the Year 2016. 


First Trust Bank

First Trust Bank has supported these innovative Awards since their launch in 1999. First Trust’s endorsement clearly recognises and celebrates the achievements of Queen's students and graduates, who make such a valuable input to life in Northern Ireland and beyond.

The Awards judging panel consists of representatives of the QGA, the University, the Students' Union and First Trust Bank. The judges stress that academic qualifications, high office or fame are not prerequisites to winning; they will also be looking for nominations that are novel, courageous, innovative or even bold.