MA Scholarship Opportunities

Check out our available scholarships

Scholarship Opportunity

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2019

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are offered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) in partnership with UK universities. These scholarships are intended for students from eligible developing Commonwealth countries, who would not otherwise be able to afford to undertake Master’s level study in the UK, to gain skills and knowledge which will allow them to contribute to the development of their home countries.

Find out more

The Ann Browne Masters Scholarship in Conflict Transformation and Social Justice - September 2019

A scholarship award is available for UK/GB/Ireland and EU students, the latter living in the UK or in Ireland (determined by fee paying status), who have applied to the MA in Conflict Transformation and Social Justice commencing September 2019 at Queen’s University Belfast. The Scholarship is funded through a pecuniary legacy gift from Chris Browne, the sister of Ann Browne.

Ann Browne graduated from Queen’s University in the early 1970s with a BA degree in Spanish.  This fund is to commemorate the life and work of Ann Browne. 

The Ann Browne scholarship will cover tuition fees for one applicant for full-time study on the MA in Conflict Transformation and Social Justice, for September 2019 entry.  A formal application process will be held for this scholarship, the deadline for applications is noon, Friday 9 August 2019.  The Ann Browne Scholarship Panel will review applications and the successful applicant will be informed in September.

All UK/Ireland and EU applicants, the latter living in the UK or Ireland (as determined by fee status), for full-time study on the MA in Conflict Transformation and Social Justice are eligible to apply.

Applicants for this award must submit an essay of no more than 350 words explaining: 'how studying the MA in Conflict Transformation and Social Justice will further your personal contribution to conflict transformation or social justice'.  In addition to this, it will be taken into account in what ways the applicant's interests and activities relate to Ann Browne's achievements and her legacy.  This will be evaluated through the applicant's CV.  Awards will be made based on the following criteria: the applicant's academic interests, personal development, personal achievement and comparative interests; and on the panel's assessment of the applicant's knowledge of the field and originality of the submitted essay outlining future plans.

If you have any queries regarding the Scholarship or application process please contact Dr Ulrike M. Vieten.

‌ANN BROWNE, was born October 18, 1949 in Strabane, Northern Ireland, and died of cancer on January 29, 2000.

She read Spanish at Queen’s University Belfast and took an MA at London’s Institute of Latin American Studies, before visiting Latin America in the 1970s. She was inspired by Latin American Literature and the Northern Ireland civil rights movements. She fought for the rights of Latin American miners, was a Trade Unionist, and supported Chilean refugees. She moved to Brussels, where she died in 2000.

To honour her memory and spirit the Browne family set up the MA scholarship, granted annually to an outstanding applicant of the GRI Masters Programme.

The  first Ann Browne scholar, Aylisha Hogan was nominated in 2016.  The 2017 Ann Browne scholar is Amy Higginson.  The 2018 Ann Browne scholar is Eilish Cox.



UK / GB / NI