Skip to main content
Russell Group Logo

Russell Group

Part of the elite

We are a member of the Russell Group of 24 leading UK research-intensive universities committed to maintaining the highest standards of research, education and knowledge transfer. Russell Group universities are major international institutions which also have a strong national and regional role and influence.

Russell Group Universities

Queen’s Anniversary Prize

A multiple winner

We have been awarded the Queen’s Anniversary Prize for Higher and Further Education on six occasions. This was for our work in strengthening global cyber security, for Northern Ireland's Comprehensive Cancer Services programme and for world-class achievement in green chemistry, environmental research, palaeoecology and law.

Queen's Anniversary Prizes

QAA Quality Assurance

Safeguarding standards

and improving the quality of UK higher education

November 2015 audit of Queen's

Athena SWAN

At the forefront of gender equality

Queen’s is a leader in equality initiatives. We hold two Gold, eight Silver and two Bronze Departmental Awards and a Silver Institutional Award. The University was the first in the UK to receive an Institutional Silver and one of only nine others in the UK to do so.