Skip to main content

Queen's University Belfast has been a member of the Athena SWAN Charter since its formation in 2005. The University holds one of only 9 Silver Institutional Awards, along with 15 Departmental Awards (2 Gold, 7 Silver, 6 Bronze).   The Faculty of Arts, Humanities is pleased to hold 6 Bronze awards some of which are due for renewal and there are also some new applications being made.  The AHSS Faculty Executive Board has this year awarded almost £20k to Schools to facilitate events and activities around SWAN.  Events that we have already supported include bringing inspiring speakers to Queen's and creating an undergraduate student award for best essay/dissertation in gender and law.  Please click on the School names listed beside their SWAN Champions below to find out more about their initiatives.

Meet the AHSS SWAN Champions

Paul Murphy Photo SWAN
AEL
Dr Paul Murphy
p.murphy@qub.ac.uk

Anna Tristram Photo
AEL
Dr Anna Tristram
a.tristram@qub.ac.uk

Elodie Fabre Photo SWAN
HAPP
Dr Elodie Fabre
e.fabre@qub.ac.uk

Elaine Farrell Photo SWAN
HAPP
Dr Elaine Farrell
e.farrell@qub.ac.uk

Joe Morrison Photo Web
HAPP
Dr Joe Morrison
j.morrison@qub.ac.uk

Fiona Murphy Photo Web
HAPP
Dr Fiona Murphy
F.Murphy@qub.ac.uk

Kathryn McNeilly Photo SWAN
Law
Dr Kathryn McNeilly
k.mcneilly@qub.ac.uk

Renne Prendergast Photo SWAN
QMS
Dr Renee Prendergast
r.prendergast@qub.ac.uk

Silviu Tierean Photo SWAN
QMS
Silviu Tierean
s.tierean@qub.ac.uk

Lisa Smyth Photo SWAN
SSESW
Dr Lisa Smyth
l.smyth@qub.ac.uk

 

Work Life Balance

Queen's prides itself on being at the forefront of best practice

Please click here for more details on Queen's Work Life Balance Policies

Athena SWAN

The Athena SWAN charter was established in 2005 to promote career advancement for women employed in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) in higher education and research.

In 2015 the Charter was extended to recognise work undertaken in arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law.

Equality Challenge Unit's Website