Skip to Content


Staff Excellence Award Winners Announced

Congratulations to all the winners in the Staff Excellence Awards 2017.

Staff Excellence Banner

The winners were announced at a gala ceremony in February in the Whitla Hall, hosted by Sarah Travers and Jim Fitzpatrick.

This is the second year of the Staff Excellence Awards which were established to recognise and celebrate the achievements of staff across the University. Almost 150 nominations were received from staff and students.

Open to all staff, awards were presented in six categories, aligned to our Core Values, with individual prizes of £1,000 available.

The winners were:

  • Claire Lewis (Delivering Excellence category)
  • Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Recruitment Hub (Team of the Year)
  • Fergus McGrath (Achieving Ambition)
  • Dr Denise Fitzgerald (Outstanding Leadership)
  • Deborah Morgan (Community Impact)
  • Professor Amilra de Silva (Lifetime Achievement)

A special 'ICARE' Award (inspired by Queen's Core Values: Integrity, Connected, Ambition, Respect and Excellence) was awarded to Dr Alison MacKenzie from the School of Social Sciences, Education and Social Work in recognition of her ambassadorial embodiment of these values as a work colleague and as an inspiring leader of and advocate for her students.

Read details of all the winners here.