Skip to Content

QMA HEA Fellowships

What is the Queen’s Merit Award?

The Higher Education Academy (HEA) manages the UK Professional Standards Framework (UKPSF) which recognises teaching quality to improve the student experience and forms the basis for its professional recognition schemes.  It is part of Advance HE and works with higher education providers and organisations to improve the professional experience of HE teachers through fellowships, accreditation, awards and professional development provision.   

The Queen’s Merit Award is a Professional Recognition Scheme which enables individuals in Queen’s to gain HEA fellowship status.  This scheme is open to all staff who have a role in teaching and/or supporting learning in Higher Education and provides national recognition of commitment to professionalism in teaching and supporting learning. 

How do I apply?

Individuals can apply for HEA Fellowship recognition via this scheme by completing a Fellowship Application and submitting it for consideration for one of 3 panels each academic year. Click here for more details, FAQs and to check if you are eligible to apply.

The QMA Registration Form is the first step in your application for HEA Fellowship, in which you will be asked to provide a brief overview of your higher education career and your teaching and/or supporting learning roles and responsibilities to date.

When complete, please email this form to the QMA Programme Administrator at

Once your registration on to the programme has been completed, you will be added to the QMA Registration database.  You will receive an email from the QMA Administrator with guidance about your next steps, including booking on to a QMA Induction Workshop. 

Which category of fellowship is for me?

See below for more information about the four categories of individual professional recognition under the Professional Recognition Scheme and the application process.

Upcoming QMA Panels:

Registration deadline*Draft submission deadline**Submission deadlinePanel dateStatus
10 December 2021 10 December 2021 14 January 2022 16 March 2022 Completed
22 April 2022 22 April 2022 6 May 2022 22 June 2022 No longer accepting applications
5 September 2022 5 September 2022 19 September 2022 2 November 2022 Available

* Subject to panel capacity

**For those who have not attended QMA course.

Please Note: Individuals who have successfully completed an HEA accredited professional development course (such as a PG Certificate in teaching and learning in HE or accredited Continuing Professional Development (CPD) schemes) two or more years ago can apply for HEA Fellowship by making a request to their programme leader where they studied to enter details in the respective institution's accredited provision section in the Advance HE's MyAcademy.

Help and Advice

For further information contact