Skip to Content

Open Workshops

Studying Effectively

The Learning Development Service offers a series of online open workshops for undergraduate students throughout the academic year. These 30-minute sessions (15 mins presentation / 15 mins Q&A) focus on a different academic skill each week.  

Sessions for Term 1 of 2021/2021 are listed below. Click on the date to join the online workshop on Microsoft Teams.

Week Workshop TitleWorkshop Dates

Week 2

Getting started with your studies

Monday 27 September 12:00-12:30

Wednesday 29 September 2:30-3:00 

Friday 1 October 12:00-12:30 

Week 3

Note-Taking

Monday 4 October 12:00-12:30 

Wedensday 6 October 2:30-3:00

Friday 8 October 12:00-12:30 

Week 4 

Reading and Research

Monday 11 October 12:00-12:30 

Wednesday 13 October 2:30-3:00

Friday 15 October 12:00-12:30 

Week 5

Referencing

Monday 18 October 12:00-12:30 

Wednesday 20 October 2:30-3:00

Friday 22 October 12:00-12:30 

Week 6

Academic Writing 1

Monday 25 October 12:00-12:30

Wednesday 27 October 2:30-3:00

Friday 29 October 12:00-12:30 

Week 7 

Report Writing

Monday 1 November 12:00-12:30 

Wednesday 3 November 2:30-3:00

Friday 5 November 12:00-12:30

Week 8 

Reflective Writing

Monday 8 November 12:00-12:30 

Wednesday 10 November 2:30-3:00 

Friday 12 November 12:00-12:30 

Week 9 

Presentation and Communication Skills

Monday 15 November 12:00-12:30 

Wednesday 17 November 2:30-3:00

Friday 19 November 12:00-12:30 

Week 10

Academic Writing 2

Monday 22 November 12:00-12:30 

Wednesday 24 November 2:30-3:00

Friday 26 November 12:00-12:30 

Week 11

Preparing for Exams and Assessments

Monday 29 November 12:00-12:30 

Wednesday 1 December 2:30-3:00

Friday 3 December 12:00-12:30

In the meantime, should you wish to explore any of the above skills areas, check out our Learning Resources or book in for a one-to-one appointment with a member of our team. 

Got a question?
Email