University of Glasgow logo


Steering Board

Steering Board

The Centre's Steering Board meets twice a year and is responsible for developing and overseeing all aspects of the CDT's strategy, policies and performance. The Board ensures that the CDT meets the aims and objectives set by the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) and those of the Partner Institutions. 

Steering Board Members

Dr Iwan Davies (Chair) Group Technology Director, IQE plc
Professor Robert Bowman CDT Director and Head of School, School of Mathematics and Physics, QUB
Professor John Marsh CDT Deputy Director and Professor of Optoelectronic Systems, University of Glasgow
Dr Frazer Anderson Business Director, Oxford Instruments Plasma Technology
Mr Nigel Birch EPSRC Portfolio Manager
Professor Mark Price Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences, QUB
Professor Miles Padgett Vice-Principal for Research, School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Glasgow
Professor Leda Lunardi Professor, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, North Carolina State University
Professor Kevin Williams Professor, Eindhoven University of Technology
TBC Chair of the CDT Doctoral Forum
Dr Brendan Lafferty Technologist (Senior Director), Seagate Technologies
Dr Neil Martin CEO, Compound Semiconductor Technologies
Professor Michael Wale Director Active Products Research, Oclaro
Mrs Brenda Morris CDT Executive Manager
Mrs Debbie Goldie Head of School Administration, School of Engineering, University of Glasgow
Dr Caryn Hughes CDT External Engagement Manager