Skip to main content

Savannah Dodd

Anthropology Photography ethics in post-conflict Belfast sdodd02@qub.ac.uk

Karin Elliott

Anthropology A comparative study of the visual regimes around the interface barriers of Belfast and the Berlin Wall kelliott13@qub.ac.uk
Chiara Magliacane Anthropology Youth conflict-related trauma through generations: an ethnography on the relationship between health and society in post-conflict Northern Ireland

cmagliacane01@qub.ac.uk

Angela Mazzetti Anthropology The long-term impact of growing up with the Troubles. amazzetti01@qub.ac.uk
Augusto Soares Anthropology Tracking online political sociality in Northern Ireland: social media engagement in a context of persistent antagonism and increasing diversity asoares03@qub.ac.uk
Rena Maguire Archaeology The introduction of equestrianism to Late Iron Age Ireland rmaguire19@qub.ac.uk
Anna Skoura Architecture The cultural heritage of everyday streets anna.scoura@gmail.com
Molly Goyer Gorman Drama Communities in Play: the social value of youth drama groups in rural areas of Northern Ireland mgoyer01@qub.ac.uk
David Jordan Economics The economics of devolution: evidence from Northern Ireland 1920-1972 djordan02@qub.ac.uk
Aline Muff Education Citizenship education and identity in Northern Ireland and Israel amuff01@qub.ac.uk
Jamie Anderson English Things in Northern Irish Poetry: From Mahon to Morrissey janderson35@qub.ac.uk
Amy Burnside English Breaking the “rule of silence”: Speaking about trauma in contemporary Irish fiction. Supervisors: Dr Stefanie Lehner and Dr Eamonn Hughes aburnside01@qub.ac.uk
Elizabeth Byrne English/Creative Writing 'Familiar Landscapes Disappear: how ecofeminist subversion of apocalyptic fiction creates new narratives of hope.' My novel is set in Ireland and Northern Ireland four decades from now, after environmental catastrophe has radically transformed the landscape.  ebyrne17@qub.ac.uk
Amy Finlay-Jeffrey English Tracing Herstory: Irish lesbian writing in its historical paradigms. Supervisors: Dr Eamonn Hughes and Prof Moyra Haslett afinlay09@qub.ac.uk
Elaine Gaston English Self-Seeded: The place of dialect in the poetry of June Jordan and Jackie Kay. egaston01@qub.ac.uk
Rachel Hanna English An examination of cross-cultural empathy and identity construction in the telling and reading of refugees' life stories rhanna21@qub.ac.uk
Chris Laverty English Seamus Heaney in America claverty20@qub.ac.uk
Hilary McCollum English Creating a lesbian history through historical fiction: Challenges, ethics and freedoms hmccollum03@qub.ac.uk
Tara McEvoy English The poetry of 1970s Northern Ireland and the politics of reception. Supervisors: Prof Fran Brearton and Dr Gail McConnell tmcevoy04@qub.ac.uk 
Patrick Macfarlane English 'Labour in the poetry of W.B. Yeats'. Supervisors: Dr Gail McConnell and Prof Fran Brearton pmacfarlane02@qub.ac.uk
Scott McKendry English A creative component in poetry and a critical analysis of the poetry of Alan Gillis in the context of working-class poets in Northern Ireland. Supervisors: Prof Sinead Morrissey and Dr Michael Pierse wmckendry01@qub.ac.uk
Richard Gallagher Film Studies Where are the unionists? An investigation into the representation of Northern Irish unionism and loyalism in fiction film. rgallagher31@qub.ac.uk
Emma Kelly Film Studies  The 'piercing breach of a border': Irish cinema as a mediator of modern trauma. Supervised by Professor Cahal McLaughlin and Dr Stefanie Lehner ekelly54@qub.ac.uk
Lorraine Holloway-McCarney Geography Rural 'belonging' and family farm men across their life-course in Nortehrn Ireland: challenges for 'remaining-in and leaving' family farming lhollowaymccarney01@qub.ac.uk
Melissa Baird History Irish-America and the Northern Irish Civil Rights Movement 1966-1969 mbaird09@qub.ac.uk
Robert Cotter History John Cennick - Moravian evangelist? rcotter01@qub.ac.uk
Jack Crangle History Ethnic minority communities in twentieth-century Belfast. Supervisor: Prof Sean O'Connell Jcrangle02@qub.ac.uk
Shannon Devlin History Sibling relationships in nineteenth-century Ulster sdevlin27@qub.ac.uk
Steven Egan History The partition of Ireland in the transnational perspective of the Commonwealth segan02@qub.ac.uk
Sean Garland History Women of the Irish Citizen Army: an assessment of their role and recognition during and after the Revolutionary Period sgarland01@qub.ac.uk
Nadine Gilmore History Queer Belfast: the social and cultural practices of gay men, c. 1967-2005 ngilmore03@qub.ac.uk
Bridget Harrison History Cultural perceptions of Irish Roman Catholic women religious, 1849-1907  b.harrison02@qub.ac.uk
Matthew Houston History The churches, Northern Ireland, and the Second World War. Supervisor: Dr Andrew Holmes mhouston13@qub.ac.uk
Deirdre Mac Bride History

Commemoration and social memory in Northern Ireland: Using heritage to remember the Easter Rising and the Battle of the Somme. Supervisors: Professor John Brewer and Dr Marie Coleman

dmacbride01@qub.ac.uk
Conleth McCloskey History The fullness of time: The cult of Collins in de Valera's Ireland, Supervisor: Prof Fearghal McGarry cmccloskey31@qub.ac.uk
Grace McGrath History Power, profit, plantocracy and the emancipation war: Lord Belmore in Jamaica. Supervisors: Prof Peter Gray and Prof Mary O'Dowd gmcgrath08@qub.ac.uk
Eliza McKee History Clothing the poor in Ulster, c. 1850-1914. Supervisors: Dr Elaine Farrell and Dr Olwen Purdue emckee10@qub.ac.uk
Rachael Thomas History

International responses to the Northern Irish hunger strikes of 1980/81, Supevisors: Professor Richard English and Professor Fearghal McGarry

rthomas08@qub.ac.uk
Rachel Wallace History 'Gay is Good': Gay rights and social justice in Belfast and Boston post-1945. Supervisors: Prof Mary O'Dowd rwallace13@qub.ac.uk
Lucy Wray History

The photographer and the city: the work of A.R. Hogg in recording social conditions in early twentieth-century Belfast. Supervisor: Dr Olwen Purdue

lwray04@qub.ac.uk

Jody Buckley-Coogan

Irish A linguistic analysis of early Irish legal glosses and commentaries.  Supervisors: Prof. Greg Toner and Prof. Mícheál Ó Mainnín jbuckleycoogan01@qub.ac.uk

Padraig McGonagle

Irish Éamon de Valera's relationship with the Irish language. Supervisors: Dr Marcas Mac Coinnigh and Prof Fearghal McGarry pmcgonagle01@qub.ac.uk

Rebecca Try

Irish A King without a court: King Arthur and Fionn Mac Cumhaill. Supervisors: Prof Greg Toner and Dr Sharon Arbuthnot rtry01@qub.ac.uk
Allely Albert Law Ex-Prisoners and Community Based Restorative Justice: A Comparative Analysis of Northern Ireland and North America aalbert01@qub.ac.uk
Conor McCormick Law Constitutional Position of Law Officers in the UK (including the Attorney General for Northern Ireland) cmccormick15@qub.ac.uk
Brona McNeill Law Land Ownership and Nature Conservation: Reconceptualising Property Rights to Further Environmental Governance in Northern Ireland bmcneill02@qub.ac.uk
Clare Rice Law Intersectional discrimination in divided societies: the case of Northern Ireland and Belgium crice25@qub.ac.uk
Philip Rivers Law An oral history of the transgender movement in Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland: rights, recognition and the law privers02@qub.ac.uk
Paula Shilliday Law

Remembering what they can never forget: Exploring memorialisation of historical institutional abuse from the perspective of victim-survivors, the public and the state, with a particular focus Upon the Magdalene Laundries and Mother and Baby Homes in Ireland

pshilliday01@qub.ac.uk
Ciara Conway Music John O'Keeffe and William Shield: a collaboration in eighteenth-century comic opera. Supervisors: Dr Sarah McCleave and Dr Kurt Taroff cconway22@qub.ac.uk
Sam Beckton Politics

The lost tribe: The evolution of southern unionism in the Republic of Ireland since 1921

sbeckton01@qub.ac.uk
Matthew Gault Politics

'Commemorating the Troubles' - Remembrance in contested rural spaces

mgault09@qub.ac.uk
Ian McInnes Politics A political history of Bill Craig and the Vanguard Unionist Party

imcinnes01@qub.ac.uk

Jamie Pow Politics

Citizen-based post-conflict democracy.

Northern Slant blog

jpow01@qub.ac.uk
Lisa Claire Whitten Politics

Brexit and Northern Ireland: What impact will 'Brexit' have on the political constitution of Northern Ireland?

 lwhitten02@qub.ac.uk
Linda Ballard Theology Aspects of Irish Non-Subscription 1830-1876

lballard01@qub.ac.uk

 

To be added to this list, please email us with your details at irish.studies@qub.ac.uk