Skip to main content

Allely Albert

Law

Ex-prisoners and community -based restorative justice: a comparative analysis of Northern Ireland and North America

aalbert01@qub.ac.uk

Asma Alblooshi

Education

The potential of transformative learning in study abroad programmes: factors and conditions that promote or constrain transformative learning

aalblooshi01@qub.ac.uk

Jamie Anderson

English

Things in Northern Irish poetry: from Mahon to Morrissey

janderson35@qub.ac.uk

Jennifer Arthur

Politics

Identifying diversity in Irish nationalism: a study of Irish identity in the Gaelic Athletic Association

jarthur08@qub.ac.uk

Melissa Baird

History

Irish-America and the Northern Irish Civil Rights Movement 1966-1969

mbaird09@qub.ac.uk

Rachael Black

Geography

Co-designing a shared future: how can children be a part of reimagining Belfast’s interfaces?

rblack17@qub.ac.uk

Olivia Brabazon

Politics

Young people and PEACE: the EU PEACE Programmes and young people's experiences of conflict transformation in Northern Ireland and the Border Region

obrabazon01@qub.ac.uk

Stuart Brown

History

Building a dynasty: Ballymena to Baltimore: Alexander Brown and the internationalisation of the Irish Presbyterian network, 1760 – 1840; an economic, social and political analysis

Sbrown583@qub.ac.uk

Jody Buckley-Coogan

Irish

A linguistic analysis of early Irish legal glosses and commentaries. 

jbuckleycoogan01@qub.ac.uk

Amy Burnside

English

Breaking the ‘rule of silence’: speaking about trauma in contemporary Irish fiction.

aburnside01@qub.ac.uk

Elizabeth Byrne

English/

Creative Writing

Familiar landscapes disappear: how ecofeminist subversion of apocalyptic fiction creates new narratives of hope. My novel is set in Ireland and N. Ireland four decades from now, after environmental catastrophe has radically transformed the landscape. 

ebyrne17@qub.ac.uk

Ciara Conway

Music

John O'Keeffe and William Shield: a collaboration in eighteenth-century comic opera.

cconway22@qub.ac.uk

Susie Deedigan

History

‘Let the girl go home’: gender and political imprisonment in Britain and Ireland, 1939-1945

sdeedigan01@qub.ac.uk

Anne Devlin

Economics

Three essays on disability and work among over 50s in Northern Ireland and England

anne.devlin1@hotmail.co.uk

Shannon Devlin

History

Sibling relationships in nineteenth-century Ulster

sdevlin27@qub.ac.uk

Savannah Dodd

Anthropology

Photography ethics in post-conflict Belfast

sdodd02@qub.ac.uk

Áine Doran

Economics

A reversal of fortunes: a study of poverty in 19th-century Ireland

adoran13@qub.ac.uk

Steven Egan

History

The partition of Ireland in the transnational perspective of the Commonwealth

segan02@qub.ac.uk

Karin Elliott

Anthropology

A comparative study of the visual regimes around the interface barriers of Belfast and the Berlin Wall

kelliott13@qub.ac.uk

Matthew Flowers

English

Irish innovations: proto-modernism in neglected Irish writing c.1880-1920

mflowers01@qub.ac.uk

Richard Gallagher

Film Studies

Where are the unionists? An investigation into the representation of Northern Irish unionism and loyalism in fiction film.

rgallagher31@qub.ac.uk

Sean Garland

History

Women of the Irish Citizen Army: an assessment of their role and recognition during and after the revolutionary period

sgarland01@qub.ac.uk

Matthew Gault

Anthropology

'Commemorating the Troubles' - Remembrance in contested rural spaces

mgault09@qub.ac.uk

Nadine Gilmore

History

Queer Belfast: the social and cultural practices of gay men, c. 1967-2005

ngilmore03@qub.ac.uk

Bridget Harrison

History

Cultural perceptions of Irish Roman Catholic women religious, 1849-1907

 b.harrison02@qub.ac.uk

Lorraine Holloway-McCarney

Geography

Rural 'belonging' and family farm men across their life-course in Northern Ireland: challenges for 'remaining-in and leaving' family farming

lhollowaymccarney01@qub.ac.uk

Juneseo Hwang

Politics

Collaborative governance for waste crime enforcement as a catalyst for environmental peacebuilding in Northern Ireland: a nexus approach to environment, peace and security

jhwang02@qub.ac.uk

Neale Jagoe

Politics

Football and identity in deeply divided societies

njagoe01@qub.ac.uk

David Jordan

Economics

The economics of devolution: evidence from Northern Ireland 1920-1972

djordan02@qub.ac.uk

Emma Kelly

Film Studies

 The 'piercing breach of a border': Irish cinema as a mediator of modern trauma.

ekelly54@qub.ac.uk

Darren Litter

Politics

European integration and British-Irish intergovernmentalism: inextricably intertwined?

dlitter01@qub.ac.uk

Amanda Lubit

Anthropology

Examining place-making and belonging through the movements of Muslim women in and around Belfast.

alubit01@qub.ac.uk

Deirdre Mac Bride

History

Commemoration and social memory in Northern Ireland: using heritage to remember the Easter Rising and the Battle of the Somme.

dmacbride01@qub.ac.uk

Patrick Macfarlane

English

'Labour in the poetry of W.B. Yeats'

pmacfarlane02@qub.ac.uk

Chiara Magliacane

Anthropology

Youth conflict-related trauma through generations: an ethnography on the relationship between health and society in post-conflict Northern Ireland

cmagliacane01@qub.ac.uk

Tom Marshall

Anthropology

Navigating mental health in Northern Ireland: an ethnography of Polish and Lithuanian migrants' help-seeking strategies in a translocal landscape

lmarshall07@qub.ac.uk

Angela Mazzetti

Anthropology

The long-term impact of growing up with the Troubles.

amazzetti01@qub.ac.uk

Ciara McAllister

English

Gendered and classed: an intersectional approach to the drama and fiction of the Troubles

cmcallister42@qub.ac.uk

Conleth McCloskey

History

The fullness of time: The cult of Collins in de Valera's Ireland

cmccloskey31@qub.ac.uk

Hilary McCollum

English

Creating a lesbian history through historical fiction: challenges, ethics and freedoms

hmccollum03@qub.ac.uk

Thomas McConaghie

Urban Planning

The right to Belfast: power, politics and public participation of retail-led regeneration in Belfast city centre

tmcconaghie02@qub.ac.uk

Mairead McCormack

Sociology

Parental alienation - an exploratory study of legal professionals’ views and experiences in Northern Ireland

mmccormack12@qub.ac.uk

Tara McEvoy

English

The poetry of 1970s Northern Ireland and the politics of reception.

tmcevoy04@qub.ac.uk 

Eliza McKee

History

Clothing the poor in Ulster, c. 1850-1914

emckee10@qub.ac.uk

Scott McKendry

English

A creative component in poetry and a critical analysis of the poetry of Alan Gillis in the context of working-class poets in Northern Ireland

wmckendry01@qub.ac.uk

Gerard McLaughlin

Irish

The Irish language and the mark of the beast

gmclaughlin14@qub.ac.uk

Brona McNeill

Law

Land ownership and nature conservation: reconceptualising property rights to further environmental governance in Northern Ireland

bmcneill02@qub.ac.uk

Miren Mohrenweiser

Politics

Martyr or mother: Irish republicanism versus Irish motherhood in Northern Ireland prison protests, 1975-1981

mmohrenweiser01@qub.ac.uk

John Mooney

Politics

For men and Ulster: Post-Agreement loyalism, patriarchy and identity

jmooney04@qub.ac.uk

Aline Muff

Education

Citizenship education and identity in Northern Ireland and Israel

amuff01@qub.ac.uk

Courtney Mundt

Archaeology

Mapping the physical and religious influences behind cillíní distribution on the island of Ireland: counties Antrim, Fermanagh, Tyrone, Mayo, Limerick, and Meath as case studies

cmundt01@qub.ac.uk

Rita-Marie Murtagh

Education

Education and transitional justice in Northern Ireland (the effects of the 'Troubles' on education, and how issues such as shared education can address divided societies will feature heavily)

rmurtagh05@qub.ac.uk

Declan O'Doherty

History

A study of post-traumatic stress disorder in post-revolutionary Ireland.

dodoherty03@qub.ac.uk

Yumi Omori 

Sociology

Ordinary women’s experiences of conflict and conflict transformation: comparing the cases of urban and rural communities in Northern Ireland

yomori01@qub.ac.uk

Sarah O'Neill

Translation

Content and language integrated learning for languages other than English: a pilot project in the Northern Ireland policy context

soneill932@qub.ac.uk

Clare Rice

Law

Intersectional discrimination in divided societies: the case of Northern Ireland and Belgium

crice25@qub.ac.uk

Philip Rivers

Law

An oral history of the transgender movement in Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland: rights, recognition and the law

privers02@qub.ac.uk

Benjamin Rosher

Sociology

Brexit at the border: applying the lens of biopolitics

brosher01@qub.ac.uk

Laura Sheary

English/

Creative Writing

Inner voice, ‘The sound that will never stop’ (sound and language intersections in my own creative practice and in the work of Irish author Eimear McBride)

lsheary01@qub.ac.uk

Barry Sheppard

History

The internationalism of Muintir na Tire

History Now (NVTV)

bsheppard02@qub.ac.uk

Paula Shilliday

Law

Remembering what they can never forget: exploring memorialisation of historical institutional abuse from the perspective of victim-survivors, the public and the state, with a particular focus upon the Magdalene laundries and mother and baby homes in Ireland

pshilliday01@qub.ac.uk

Anna Skoura

Architecture

The cultural heritage of everyday streets

anna.scoura@gmail.com

Hannah Smith

Translation

Media coverage of political violence: Othering during the Troubles in Northern Ireland

hsmith09@qub.ac.uk

Augusto Soares

Anthropology

Tracking online political sociality in Northern Ireland: social media engagement in a context of persistent antagonism and increasing diversity

asoares03@qub.ac.uk

Emilia Symington

Sociology

An investigation into the experiences of parents and young people in Northern Ireland with regards to freedom of expression

esymington03@qub.ac.uk

Rachael Thomas

History

International responses to the Northern Irish hunger strikes of 1980/81

rthomas08@qub.ac.uk

Rebecca Try

Irish

A king without a court: King Arthur and Fionn Mac Cumhaill

rtry01@qub.ac.uk

Ebenezer Veerasingam

English

Sri Lankan experiences of migration to the West in literature (incl. Northern Ireland and Ireland)

eveerasingam01@qub.ac.uk

Lisa Claire Whitten

Politics

Brexit and Northern Ireland: what impact will 'Brexit' have on the political constitution of Northern Ireland?

 lwhitten02@qub.ac.uk

Eleanor Williams

Politics

Were the intelligence and military activities in the conflicts in Northern Ireland and Colombia ethical, and did those activities have an impact on the peace processes? 

ewilliams08@qub.ac.uk

Patricia Wilson

History

Gardens and landscapes of nineteenth-century Ireland

pwilson40@qub.ac.uk

Lucy Wray

History

The photographer and the city: the work of A.R. Hogg in recording social conditions in early twentieth-century Belfast.

lwray04@qub.ac.uk

Shurui Yang

Translation

Translating Philadelphia, Here I Come! for Chinese performance  - study mainly focuses on Brian Friel and translating his plays into Chinese

syang13@qub.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

 

To be added to this list, please email us with your details at irish.studies@qub.ac.uk