Irish Studies Gateway

Postgrad Associates

Angela Mazzetti Anthropology The long-term impact of growing up with the Troubles. amazzetti01@qub.ac.uk
Kayla Rush Anthropology Performance, utopia, and the cracked art world: community arts in contemporary Northern Ireland. krush03@qub.ac.uk
Augusto Soares Anthropology Tracking online political sociality in Northern Ireland: social media engagement in a context of persistent antagonism and increasing diversity asoares03@qub.ac.uk
Rena Maguire Archaeology The introduction of equestrianism to Late Iron Age Ireland rmaguire19@qub.ac.uk
Molly Goyer Gorman Drama Communities in Play: the social value of youth drama groups in rural areas of Northern Ireland mgoyer01@qub.ac.uk
David Jordan Economics The economics of devolution: evidence from Northern Ireland 1920-1972 djordan02@qub.ac.uk
Aline Muff Education Citizenship education and identity in Northern Ireland and Israel amuff01@qub.ac.uk
Amy Burnside English Breaking the “rule of silence”: Speaking about trauma in contemporary Irish fiction. Supervisors: Dr Stefanie Lehner and Dr Eamonn Hughes aburnside01@qub.ac.uk
Portia Ellis-Woods English The peoples' voices and the public broadcaster: towards a cultural history of BBC Northern Ireland pelliswoods01@qub.ac.uk
Amy Finlay English Tracing Herstory: Irish lesbian writing in its historical paradigms. Supervisors: Dr Eamonn Hughes and Prof Moyra Haslett afinlay09@qub.ac.uk
Elaine Gaston English Self-Seeded: The place of dialect in the poetry of June Jordan and Jackie Kay. egaston01@qub.ac.uk
Rachel Hanna English An examination of cross-cultural empathy and identity construction in the telling and reading of refugees' life stories rhanna21@qub.ac.uk
Chris Laverty English Seamus Heaney in America claverty20@qub.ac.uk
Tara McEvoy English The poetry of 1970s Northern Ireland and the politics of reception. Supervisors: Prof Fran Brearton and Dr Gail McConnell tmcevoy04@qub.ac.uk 
Patrick Macfarlane English 'Labour in the poetry of W.B. Yeats'. Supervisors: Dr Gail McConnell and Prof Fran Brearton pmacfarlane02@qub.ac.uk
Scott McKendry English A creative component in poetry and a critical analysis of the poetry of Alan Gillis in the context of working-class poets in Northern Ireland. Supervisors: Prof Sinead Morrissey and Dr Michael Pierse wmckendry01@qub.ac.uk
Emma Kelly Film Studies  The 'piercing breach of a border': Irish cinema as a mediator of modern trauma. Supervised by Professor Cahal McLaughlin and Dr Stefanie Lehner ekelly54@qub.ac.uk
Mark Benson History The provision of abortion in Northern Ireland: 1900-1968 mbenson02@qub.ac.uk
Morris Brodie History Transatlantic anarchism during the Spanish Civil War and Revolution, 1936-1939. Supervisor: Dr Paul Corthorn mbrodie01@qub.ac.uk
Robert Cotter History John Cennick - Moravian evangelist? rcotter01@qub.ac.uk
Jack Crangle History Ethnic minority communities in twentieth-century Belfast. Supervisor: Prof Sean O'Connell Jcrangle02@qub.ac.uk
Shannon Devlin History Sibling relationships in nineteenth-century Ulster sdevlin27@qub.ac.uk
Bridget Harrison History Cultural perceptions of Irish Roman Catholic women religious, 1849-1907  b.harrison02@qub.ac.uk
Matthew Houston History The churches, Northern Ireland, and the Second World War. Supervisor: Dr Andrew Holmes mhouston13@qub.ac.uk
Conleth McCloskey History The fullness of time: The cult of Collins in de Valera's Ireland cmccloskey31@qub.ac.uk
Grace McGrath History Power, profit, plantocracy and the emancipation war. Supervisors: Prof Catherine Clinton and Prof Peter Gray gmcgrath08@qub.ac.uk
Rachel Wallace History 'Gay is Good': Gay rights and social justice in Belfast and Boston post-1945. Supervisors: Prof Mary O'Dowd and Dr Anthony Stanonis rwallace13@qub.ac.uk

Jody Buckley-Coogan

Irish A linguistic analysis of early Irish legal glosses and commentaries.  Supervisors: Prof. Greg Toner and Prof. Mícheál Ó Mainnín jbuckleycoogan01@qub.ac.uk

Padraig McGonagle

Irish Éamon de Valera's relationship with the Irish language. Supervisors: Dr Marcas Mac Coinnigh and Prof Fearghal McGarry pmcgonagle01@qub.ac.uk

Órla McGrory

Irish The Irish language and legislative translation, 1922-1937. Supervisor: Prof Greg Toner omcgrory02@qub.ac.uk

Rebecca Try

Irish A King without a court: King Arthur and Fionn Mac Cumhaill. Supervisors: Prof Greg Toner and Dr Sharon Arbuthnot rtry01@qub.ac.uk
Conor McCormick Law Constitutional Position of Law Officers in the UK (including the Attorney General for Northern Ireland) cmccormick15@qub.ac.uk
Clare Rice Law Intersectional discrimination in divided societies: the case of Northern Ireland and Belgium crice25@qub.ac.uk
Ciara Conway Music John O'Keeffe and William Shield: a collaboration in eighteenth-century comic opera. Supervisors: Dr Sarah McCleave and Dr Kurt Taroff cconway22@qub.ac.uk
Erica Frazier Politics The green new deals of Great Britain, Ireland and Northern Ireland: a critical discourse analysis efrazier01@qub.ac.uk 
Sophie Long Politics Ulster Loyalism and the politics of misrecognition slong07@qub.ac.uk
Jamie Pow Politics

Citizen-based post-conflict democracy.

Northern Slant blog

jpow01@qub.ac.uk
Ashleigh McFeeters Sociology The role of the media in peace-building in post-conflict societies (Northern Ireland and Sri Lanka). Supervisors: Prof John Brewer and Dr Julia Paul amcfeeters03@qub.ac.uk

To be added to this list, please email us with your details at irish.studies@qub.ac.uk