Skip to main content

Jean Monnet ad personam Chair EU Law and Policy

Dagmar Schiek has been awarded a Jean Monnet ad personam Chair in August 2011, while still working at the University of Leeds. This award was based on a thematic application entitled “Economic and Social Integration in the EU and Beyond – Interdisciplinary Perspectives “. The programme will be continued at Queen’s University Belfast, where the Jean Monnet Chair has been transferred. The Jean Monnet Chairs in general are dedicated to the promotion of excellence in research and teaching on the European Union. Dagmar Schiek’s Jean Monnet ad personam Chair was awarded in recognition to her former activities as ordinary Jean Monnet Chair from 2000 (at two different universities). These were considered as distinguished due to the high-level quality of her teaching and publication record that was achieved partly outside her country of residence.

The Jean Monnet ad personam Chair is focused on a specific theme: taking "Economic and Social Integration in the EU" as its overarching focus, this project returns to the motivating question for the founding of the European Economic Community in the 1950s: whether and how economic integration can trigger integrating societies. Today’s EU still pursues economic integration as an instrument to achieve, among others, social integration. Especially from 2008, in a global economic crisis triggered by volatile financial systems and housing markets in larger economies such as the United States and the UK, tensions between economic and social aspects of EU integration are perceived as particularly severe. At times conflicts around the EU’s social dimension threaten to undermine the EU’s more prestigious projects, such as the Euro. Social reality tends to be complex and to evade one-dimensional answers. However, if the question how to reconcile economic and social integration remains unanswered, the EU will cease to engage its citizens.

As the EU is frequently called a Community of Law, its legal order will have to contribute to answers. Hence the project focuses on the interaction of EU law with politics and society, seeking to establish an inspiring research and learning environment and offering the opportunity to reflect on European Law and legal studies within processes of globalisation, and the EU’s contribution to enhancing global justice.

It aims to ...
• establish interdisciplinary research networks in European studies
• offer access to research presentations to civil society
• offer specific training to postgraduate researchers.

It offers ...
• a series of academic seminars and a connected series of researcher training seminars in EU studies, and connected activities for undergraduate students
• opportunities to publish work in progress on line
• EU law teaching in the framework of a Summer School


Executive Committee Members

Professor Dagmar Schiek (EU Legal Studies, Comparative, Labour and Equality Law)

Dr Timofey Agarin (School of History, Anthropology, Politics and Philosophy)

Dr Billy Melo Araujo (EU External Trade Law)

Dr Mary Dobbs (Environmental and Equity Law)

Dr Viviane Gravey (School of History, Anthropology, Politics and Philosophy)

Professor Lee McGowan (School of History, Anthropology, Politics and Philosophy)

Dr Clemens Rieder (EU Law)

Dr Ulrike Vieten (Senator George J Mitchell Institute for Global Peace, Security and Justice)



School of Law

Dr Mary Dobbs

Dr Patrycija Dobrawska

Dr Mark Flear

Dr Mark Hanna

Dr Brian Jack

Dr Marek Martyniszyn

Professor Daithí Mac Síthigh

Professor Christopher McCrudden (GRI Fellow)

Professor John Morison (GRI Fellow)

Dr Dieter Pesendorfer

Dr Martin Regan

Dr Clemens Rieder

Professor Dagmar Schiek (GRI Associate Fellow)

Dr Oisin Suttle


School of History, Anthropology, Politics & Philosophy

Dr Timofey Agarin (GRI Fellow)

Dr Sara Clavero

Professor Yvonne Galligan (GRI Fellow)

Dr Viviane Gravey

Professor Lee McGowan (GRI Associate Fellow)

Professor Alistair Miskimmon

Professor David Phinnemore (GRI Associate Fellow)


Queen’s University Management School

Dr Graham Brownlow

Dr Thomas Hastings

Professor Paul Teague

Dr Julian Warner


School of Social Sciences, Education and Social Work

Dr Katy Hayward (GRI Fellow)

Professor Karola Dillenburger


Senator George Mitchell Institute for Global Peace, Security and Justice

Dr Fiona Murphy [to move to HAPP]

Dr Eva Urban

Dr Ulrike Vieten [to move to SSEW]