APS 2017 John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research Recipient


Marco Borghesi

Professor Marco Borghesi honoured for pioneering use of proton radiography.

We are proud to announce that Professor Borghesi has been awarded the John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research. This award is shared with five other researchers from Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Dusseldorf University. The award is presented to honour a recent, outstanding achievement in plasma physics research.

The Dawson Award citation recognizes the researchers for "pioneering use of proton radiography to reveal new aspects of flows, instabilities, and fields in high-energy-density plasmas.” 

The award will be presented at an award ceremony at the Division of Plasma Physics Annual Meeting, which will take place October 23-27 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Latest News