Skip to main content

For  Pure Mathematics the School has two prizes that it may award each year:

A.C. Dixon Prize

Awarded each year to the best first class honours student at Stage 4 in Pure Mathematics. It is currently worth £100 in book tokens. Alfred Cardew Dixon was Professor of Mathematics in Queen's from 1901 until his retirement in 1930. He was elected to a Fellowship of the Royal Society in 1904 and was President of the London Mathematical Society between 1931 and 1933. In 1937, shortly after his death the previous year, his niece, Mrs. Mona Woolnough, endowed the prize named after him.

Burgess Prize

Set up, in memory of Derek Burgess who lectured and researched in Topology in this Department from 1957 until 1989, by his friends and colleagues. The prize is awarded for the best marks in papers at Level 4 on Topology and related topics and is currently worth £40 payable by cheque. 


For Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics the School awards:

William Blair Morton Prize

Founded in 1945 to commemorate William Blair Morton, Professor of Physics in Queen's from 1897 to 1933. It is awarded to students who have distinguished themselves in the honours course in Applied Mathematics, particularly in their essay work. The annual value of the prize is approximately £300.

Raymond Flannery Prize

awarded annually “to the MSci graduate in the School of Mathematics and Physics with the best overall mark, with the condition that the student must have specialised in Applied Mathematics or Theoretical Physics and have taken a minimum of 3 AMA modules at MSci level”. Professor Flannery was pupil of St Columb's College Derry. In 1961 he graduated from Queen's University Belfast with a First Class Honours BSc degree in Mathematics, and completed his PhD at Queen's University in Theoretical Physics in 1964. At the time of establishment of the prize (2012) Professor Martin Raymond Flannery was Regents' Professor Emeritus at the School of Physics, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia. In 2012/2013 the value of the prize was £750.

Bates Prize 

Founded in 1982 by the friends and colleagues of Sir David Bates, Professor of Applied Mathematics and of Theoretical Physics in Queen's from 1951 to 1982. It is normally awarded annually to a student who has performed with distinction in the final honours examination in the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics and who subsequently pursues research in the Department. The value of the Prize is approximately £100 and should be used for the purchase of books on mathematics and theoretical physics.

Details of prizes available through the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics that are associated with Statistics and Operational Research modules and pathways may be obtained through the departmental office.


Physics and Astronomy awards:

Raymond Greer Prize

Raymond Greer (1938-2002) was a member of staff from 1966; devoted to supporting students, he was Head of Teaching in the Physics Department from 1995 to 2001.  A prize, donated by his family and consisting of a cheque and a certificate, is awarded annually for the best graduate at MSci. 

John Geddes Physics Prize

John Geddes (1939-1998) was a brilliant local scholar who became Professor of Physics and Head of the Atomic and Molecular Research Division before his untimely death in 1998.  He was particularly innovative in helping students develop research and communication skills.  The Geddes Physics Prize donated by his family, comprising a bronze medallion and a cheque, is awarded annually to the student achieving the best result in the final year MSci Physics project. 

KG Emeleus Physics Prize

KG Emeleus (1901-1989) was Professor and Head of the Physics Department from 1933 to 1966.  He is remembered especially for the compelling clarity of his lectures and for the quiet civility with which he encouraged students to learn.  The Emeleus Physics Prize, comprising a silver medallion and a cheque, is awarded annually for distinction to the most worthy Physics graduate at BSc.

Class of 59 Prize

Following a visit to the Department in 2002, the Class of 59 presented a donation to provide a prize, consisting of a cheque and certificate, for the best BSc Physics project. 

Level 3 Poster Prize

A prize is awarded in each semester for the best project poster presentation.  A small panel of teaching staff does the judging.

The Unilever-Earnshaw Physics Prize

John Earnshaw was Professor of Physics and Head of the Plasma and Laser Interaction Physics Division between 1990-99.  In recognition of many productive research collaborations with Professor Earnshaw, Unilever have donated funds for the Unilever-Earnshaw Prize.  It comprises a cheque and certificate and is awarded annually to the physics student with the best performance at Level 2.