Pharmacy student wins the Students’ Union ‘Peer Mentor of the Year’ Award


Connie Leong, a Level 3 international MPharm student, found out yesterday that she had won the ‘Peer Mentor of the Year’ award during the Students’ Union Education Awards Ceremony. These awards celebrate academic excellence; Connie was commended for her dedication to peer mentoring and the exemplary and novel ways that she enhanced the student experience and supported her peers. She did this in her capacity as a lead mentor within the School of Pharmacy International Peer Mentoring Scheme.

Connie was delighted to receive the award and thanked Dr Lezley-Anne Hanna for her partnership throughout the year and support in relation to the award application process. Furthermore, she acknowledged Dr Dan Corbett for facilitating communication with student peers in our satellite campus in China (China Queen’s College) which enabled relationships to be fostered and good practice shared beyond the immediate scheme. She also appreciated the role that Dr Thakur and the School Management Board played in enabling the scheme to be so successful.

In response to this award Professor Carmel Hughes, Head of the School of Pharmacy, said:  “This award highlights the excellence of our students and the outstanding commitment shown towards peer development. I congratulate Connie on this great achievement.”

Latest News