Poetry Audio Library

Jean Bleakney

Jean Bleakney (née Kerr) was born in Newry in 1956. She studied biochemistry at Queen's and worked in the Department of Medicine for eight years. She began attending writing workshops at Queen's during the early 1990s when Carol Rumens was Writer in Residence. Her two collections of poetry are The Ripple Tank Experiment (1999) and The Poet's Ivy (2003), both from Lagan Press. She works in a garden centre in Carryduff.

Douglas Dunn

Douglas Dunn was born in Renfrewshire in 1942. He is the author of many acclaimed books of poetry and is the recipient of numerous awards including the Whitbread Book of the Year for Elegies (Faber & Faber, 1985). He is Professor of English and Director of the Scottish Studies Institute at St Andrew's University.

Leontia Flynn

Leontia Flynn, Research Fellow at the Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry, was born in 1974. She won an Eric Gregory Award in 2001, and her first collection These Days (Cape 2004) won the Forward Prize for Best First Collection, and was shortlisted for the Whitbread Prize for Poetry. She was selected as one of twenty ‘Next Generation Poets' in a Guardian promotion the same year. She has also written a PhD thesis on the poetry of Medbh McGuckian, which she is currently preparing for publication.  Her second collection of poetry, Drives, is due from Cape in 2008.

The poet, novelist, essayist and playwright Tess Gallagher was born in 1943 in Port Angeles, Washington. Her honours include a fellowship from the Guggenheim Foundation, two National Endowment for the Arts Awards, the Maxine Cushing Gray Foundation Award and the Elliston Award. She was married to the short story writer Raymond Carver until his death in 1988. Her most recent collection of poems, Dear Ghosts, was published in 2006.

Miriam Gamble

Miriam Gamble was born in 1980, and is a final year postgraduate student at Queen’s, where she is working towards the completion of a PhD thesis on form, genre and lyric subjectivity in contemporary British and Irish poetry. She has published poems in Fortnight, The Rialto and on Tower Poetry’s website, has written reviews and features for Fortnight, The New Statesman and culturebase.net, and is currently attempting to put together a first collection.

Alan Gillis

Alan Gillis is Lecturer in English at The University of Edinburgh. The author of Irish Poetry of the 1930s (OUP 2005), his debut poetry book Somebody, Somewhere (Gallery) won the Rupert and Eithne Strong Award for Best First Collection in 2004, and was shortlisted for the Irish Times Poetry Now Award. His second collection Hawks and Doves (Gallery) has been shortlisted for the 2007 T. S. Eliot Prize.

Kathleen Jamie

Kathleen Jamie was born in Renfrewshire in 1962. Her most recent poetry collection, The Tree House, was the winner of the 2004 Forward Poetry Prize for Best Collection and was the 2005 Scottish Arts Council Book of the Year. She is Lecturer in Creative Writing at St Andrew's University.

Born in Lanarkshire in 1947, Liz Lochhead is one of Scotland’s leading writers, the recipient of numerous awards and the author of many volumes of poetry, plays, and film scripts. Her most recent major collection is The Colour of Black and White: Poems 1984-2003. Her readings are justly celebrated for their powerful and often humorous delivery.

Michael Longley

Michael Longley was born in Belfast in 1939 and educated at the Royal Belfast Academical Institution. After reading classics at Trinity College, Dublin, he taught in schools in Belfast, Dublin and London. He joined the Arts Council of Northern Ireland in 1970, working in literature and the traditional arts as Combined Arts Director before taking early retirement from the post in 1991. He was awarded the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry in 2001.

This audio library consists of recordings from the Heaney Centre programme of poetry readings. All the recordings are copyright the author / reader. From many more recordings, please visit the The Seamus Heaney Centre Digital Archive