International Summer School
Erasmus Intensive Programme


Theme 2012:
Borders Of Europe: The Old and New Europe

Hosting institution:
Masaryk University, Brno

Local Organizing Committee

Academic Director:
Katerina Uhlirova


Project Coordinator:
Eva Koleckova


Application procedure


In principle the BOE summer school is restricted to students from Utrecht Network member universities and associated partners (see Utrecht Network). Students from other universities may apply and will be considered, but priority will be given to Utrecht Network students. 



You need to download the application form -  available here

(If you have difficulty downloading the form please email 

The Summer School is committed to principles of equality and respect for diversity. We encourage and welcome applications from people of all backgrounds.

Please submit this form to your International Office or Department as soon as possible and before May 4th deadline for the second call.

Your international office should  submit your form  to Rory O’Connell in Belfast,; Law School, 27-30 University Square, Queens University of Belfast, BT7 1NN, Northern Ireland, UK

Preference will be given to early applicants from IP universities (Antwerp, Aarhus, Belfast, Bologna, Bratislava, Budapest (Eötvös Loránd Tudományegyetem), Brno, Cork, Graz, Iasi, Krakow, Leipzig, Ljubljana, Madrid, Utrecht and Vilnius) who meet the crtieria.

Criteria include the student’s motivation section, academic performance and level of studies (persons with more than one year of university studies are preferred)

A decision will be made no later than the end of April on these applications. 

Deposit and Cancellation policy: Once accepted, students must pay a 50 euro non-refundable deposit within four weeks of being accepted. Failure to do so will be interpreted as turning down the offer and a place will be offered to another student on the waiting list. Accepted students must pay the balance of the 600 euro participation fee (ie 550 euros) before May 31st. The participation fee will not be returned if the student cancels after May 31st. 

A discounted rate of 300 € apply to students from Central European Utrecht Network member universities, i.e.  Bratislava, Brno, Budapest, Iasi, Krakow, Ljubljana, Riga, Tartu, Vilnius. The remainder of the contribution is paid by the Utrecht Network Hospitality Fund Scheme directly to the organizers of the school.

Students from the Host University pay a non-residential rate as they do not require accommodation.

The participation fee of € 600 includes accommodation in shared rooms, breakfasts, full board, course materials, cultural and social program, excursions, orientation and assistance throughout the programme.