Scientific Prize

Nominations for the Scientific Prize 2011 

The ESAFORM Scientific Prize is awarded annually. The prize is 2000 Euros. It intends to recognize a young scientist, who has brought an outstanding contribution in the field of materials forming. This contribution may be either theoretical, or experimental, or both. It may concern any kind of materials (metals, polymers, composites, ceramics, glass, concrete, food materials…) and any forming process (rolling, forging, sheet forming, casting, machining, extrusion, injection moulding, blow moulding…). The excellence of the candidate will be evaluated on following points : 

    * Quality of the scientific work confirmed by publications

    * International networking

    * Leadership of a research team

    * Research not only focused on a single topic

    * Balanced activities: academic work, research projects

 Who may apply?

The applicants are post-graduate researchers with a number of years of professional experience, not older than 35 years old by January 1st 2011, they must work (or must have worked) in an European country. They may belong to Academia as well as to Industry.

How to apply?

The applicants shall provide:

    * Curriculum Vitae,

    * List of publications and major achievements (patents, computer codes…),

    * Four-page abstract describing their contribution in the field of materials forming,

    * Two recommendation letters (with at least one from an independent institution) underlining the quality and the originality of the contribution of the applicant.

Incomplete applications will not be considered. A jury nominated by the Scientific Committee will review each application. The Scientific Committee will make a proposal to the ESAFORM Board of Directors, which will take the final decision.

If the ESAFORM Board of Directors considers that the number of candidates is too low, submitted applications will be postponed to the subsequent year.

Presentation of the Award

The winner will be notified a month before the ESAFORM Annual Conference, and he/she will receive the ESAFORM Scientific Prize during the conference at the Queens University, Belfast, April 27-29, 2011. The winner will deliver a lecture on his work. Documents have to be sent by e-mail before February 28th, 2011 to:

Jan Kusiak

President of the ESAFORM Scientific Committee



Akademia Gorniczo-Hutnicza

Mickiewicza 30, 30-059 Kraków, Poland

Queen's Lanyon Building
Giant's Causeway
Queen's University Quad
City Hall
Carrickarede Rope Bridge