Skip to Content

NICOLA Steering Committee (NSC)

NICOLA Steering Committee

The NICOLA Steering Committee provides oversight on all research carried out on study participants and on NICOLA data and advises on the best ways of optimising scientific potential.  The NSC is chaired by Professor Frank Kee (NICOLA Scientific Director).  Members of the NSC include various NICOLA work programme leads.



NICOLA Work Programme


Professor Frank Kee (QUB)

Chronic illness, disability, biomarkers

Professor Amy-Jayne McKnight (QUB)


Professor Michael Donnelly (QUB)

Mental Health & Health Services Research

Professor Jayne Woodside (QUB)


Professor Mark Tully (UU)

Physical activity

Professor Ruth Hunter



Professor Dermot O’Reilly (QUB)

Socio-economic & socio-demographic health, healthcare utilisation

Dr Noleen McCorry (QUB)

Mental health

Dr Paula Devine (QUB)

Social environment

Dr Ruth Hogg (QUB)

Vision health

Prof Bernadette McGuinness (QUB)

Cognitive health

Prof Jose Bengoechea (QUB) Microbiome

Dr Chris Watson (QUB)

Cardiovascular health / Diabetes