Skip to main content

QUB Athena SWAN Champions

Each School that holds an Athena SWAN Award has at least one appointed Champion.

What is a Champion?

A Champion:

  • is responsible for advancing gender equality within their given area
  • attends monthly meetings chaired by an SET Head of School, with feedback being submitted to the University's co-ordinating group
  • is therefore provided with a new route to managerial and administrative experience

Champions have been co-opted to their School Management Board by virtue of this responsibility, opening other opportunities for career progression.  Queen's University Champions have gone on to become Heads of School, Professors and Senior Lecturers.

This programme is resourced locally through Schools and centrally through the financial and administrative support given to the Gender Initiative and the Equal Opportunities Unit.

QUB SWAN CHAMPIONS

DEPARTMENT

EMAIL

Dr Wafa Al-Jamal School of Pharmacy w.al-jamal@qub.ac.uk 
Ms Angela Allen School of Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science angela.allen@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Joe Allen School of Social Sciences, Education and Social Work joe.allen@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Miryam Arrendondo-Arechavala School of Mathematics and Physics m.arrendondo@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Joseph Butterfield School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering j.butterfield@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Paul Caplat School of Biological Sciences P.Caplat@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Gabriele De Chiara School of Mathematics and Physics g.dechiara@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Elodie Fabre School of History, Anthropology, Philosophy and Politics e.fabre@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Deirdre Gilpin School of Pharmacy d.f.gilpin@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Lisa Graham-Wisener School of Psychology L.Graham-Wisener@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Maria Healy School of Nursing and Midwifery maria.healy@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Kathleen Kaess School of Arts, English and Languages Kathleen.Kaess@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Ioana Latu School of Psychology i.latu@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Mark Linden School of Nursing and Midwifery m.linden@qub.ac.uk 
Professor Louise Mallinder School Law l.mallinder@qub.ac.uk 
Professor Karen McCloskey School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences k.mccloskey@qub.ac.uk 
Professor Teresa McCormack School of Psychology t.mccormack@qub.ac.uk 
Professor Michelle McKinley School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences m.mckinley@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Kathryn McNeilly School of Law K.McNeilly@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Victoria Mongomery Institutional v.montgomery@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Clare Mulholland School of Natural and Built Environment c.mulholland@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Paul Murphy School of Arts, English and Languages p.murphy@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Renee Prendergast Management School R.Prendergast@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Catherine Reeve School of Psychology C.Reeve@qub.ac.uk 
Professor Peter Robertson School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering P.Robertson@qub.ac.uk 
Dr Danielle Soban School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering d.soban@qub.ac.uk 
Mr Silviu Tierean Management School S.Tierean@qub.ac.uk 
Professor Diane Urquhart School of History, Anthropology, Philosophy and Politics D.Urquhart@qub.ac.uk 
Ms Moira Watson School of Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science m.watson@qub.ac.uk