Skip to Content



Each School in Queen’s typically has two Swan Co-Champions, appointed from within the School and reporting directly to the Head of School.  Swan Champions chair local Swan Self-Assessment Teams (SAT) and are members of their Schools’ Senior Management/Executive Boards.

The role of Swan Co-Champion is a significant leadership position, recognised through appropriate workload allocation models.  Training and support is provided by the QGI team and complemented by online and in person events, in partnership with Advance HE Athena Swan.

The list of our current Swan Champions can be viewed below.

Athena Swan Champions Network in Queen’s

Swan Champions meet together every 6 weeks during term time in the Swan Champions Network.  This informal network is chaired by a Swan Champion and is supported by the QGI team with members of the Diversity & Inclusion team in attendance.  This network enables new Champions to make connections with Champions in other schools, facilitates horizontal and vertical exchange of information, enables integration of institutional and school-level actions and fosters synergising of solutions.

The network typically has an Away Day with a programme co-created by Champions and contribution from invited internal and external speakers.


Dr Aoife McGrath
Dr Tom Harrison
School of Arts, English and Languages
Dr Paul Caplat
School of Biological Sciences
Dr Amber Glanfield
Dr Paul Kavanagh
School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
Dr Moira Watson
School of Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Dr Elodie Fabre
Dr Sinead O'Sullivan
School of History, Anthropology, Philosophy and Politics
Professor Louise Mallinder
School of Law
Dr Renee Prendergast
Dr Silviu Tierean
Queen's Management School
Dr Daniel Dundas
Dr Meg Schwamb
School of Mathematics and Physics
Dr Joseph Butterfield
Dr Danielle Soban
School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Professor Michelle McKinley
Dr Jaine Blayney
Dr Jenny Johnston
School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences
Dr Clare Mulholland
School of Natural and Built Environment
Dr Maria Healy
School of Nursing and Midwifery
Dr Wafa Al-Jamal
Dr Deirdre Gilpin
School of Pharmacy
Professor Teresa McCormack
Dr Ioana Latu
Dr Lisa Graham-Wisener
School of Psychology
Dr Joe Allen
Professor Karen Winter
School of Social Sciences, Education and Social Work

Athena Swan Champions 2022