Skip to Content


Staff Excellence 533
Staff Excellence Awards

Almost 200 nominations were received for this year's Staff Excellence Awards. The shortlist for each category is listed below.

Category 1: Delivering Excellence

This award recognises an individual who goes above and beyond, consistently delivering excellence and taking pride in what they do.


  • Dr Derrick Black - Estates
  • Michelle Carson - Student Plus
  • Dee Harrison - Estates
  • Jenny McAuley - Academic and Student Affairs
  • Holly Pepper - School of Psychology
  • Dr Patrick Stark - School of Nursing and Midwifery

Category 2: Community Impact

This award recognises the significant contribution our staff make to the local community and wider society. 


  • Dr Danielle Mackle - School of Social Sciences, Education and Social Work
  • NI Special Schools COVID-19 Testing Team
  • QUB Science Shop
  • Queen's Trauma Network

Category 3: Innovation

This award recognises an individual or team who has developed an innovative idea that has benefitted a particular department, the University or wider society.


  • Mohamed Hamed - Information Services
  • Charlotte Jess - Marketing, Recruitment, Communications and Internationalisation
  • Dr Janine Stockdale - School of Nursing and Midwifery
  • Virtual Open Days - Digital Team

Category 4: Team of the Year

This award is all about collaboration and recognises a group of individuals who, by working together, have made a significant and positive impact.


  • Campus Food and Drink
  • NI Clinical Research Facility (NICRF)
  • QUB COVID-19 Genomics Consortium (QCOG)
  • Security Service

Category 5: Outstanding Leadership

This award recognises an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership during the academic year.


  • Professor Judy Bradley - School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences
  • Professor Christine Brown Wilson - School of Nursing and Midwifery
  • Dr Alan Hanna - Queen's Management School
  • Paul Hermon - School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Category 6: Lifetime Achievement

This award recognises and celebrates the contribution made by a long-serving member of staff to the University.


  • Professor Anna Gavin - School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences
  • Dr Paddy Haughian - School of Nursing and Midwifery
  • Wendy Marsh - People and Culture
  • Dr John Stannard - School of Law
Award Categories
Find out more
About the Awards
Find out more