Skip to main content

"Layouts" in Adobe Connect


Layouts

Layouts can be optimized for a specific task, such as presenting slides or collaborating with peers.
You should leverage existing layouts and content to reduce repetitive customization each time you create a meeting.

Create your own templates or use the default templates included in Adobe Connect.

Layouts Panel

How to "Create" and "Modify" layouts

 
The Layouts menu and the Layout bar is visible only to hosts. 
 
The default layouts are Sharing, Discussion, and Collaboration
 
To create a blank layout to which you manually add pods, or a duplicate of an existing layout that you want to customize, do one of the following:
 
Choose Layouts > Create New Layout
 
 Menu Layouts
 
Or
 
Click in the Layout bar (on the right hand side), Choose the plus symbol.
 
 
Plus Layouts
 

Rename a layout

To rename a layout, choose
 
Layouts > Manage Layouts.
 
In the Manage Layouts dialog box, select a layout.
Click Rename and enter a new name.
 
Or 
 
Double-click the layout name in the Layout bar and then enter a new name.
 

Delete a layout

To delete a layout, choose
 
Layouts > Manage Layouts.
 
In the Manage Layouts dialog box, select a layout.
Click Delete and confirm.
 
In the Layout bar (showing all your layouts on the right hand side), move the pointer over the layout and then click the X icon that appears to delete it.
Note: If you delete a layout that is currently in use, default Sharing layout is applied to the meeting.
 

How to Reorder layouts 

To change the order the layouts, choose
 
Layouts > Manage Layouts.
 
In the Manage Layouts dialog box, select a layout.
 
Manage-Layouts-Menu
 
Click Up or Down buttons to reorder the layouts.
 
Move Layouts
 
Or....
 
Drag the layout preview in the Layout bar to change the order of the layouts.
 
 

 
 

How to Change layouts during a meeting

The Layouts menu and the Layout bar is visible only to hosts. It looks like this
Layouts Panel
 
The Layout bar (shown here with a selected Layout highlighted) also displays thumbnails for the layouts. When a host chooses a different layout, the new layout appears on every attendee’s screen.
 
To change the layout, do one of the following:
 
  • Choose Layouts > [Layout Name]
  • Click a layout in the Layout bar.
 
Note: If all the layouts do not fit in the Layout bar, to scroll through the layouts hover the pointer over the first or the last layout previews. You can also use the panning options or the mouse wheel to scroll through.
Adjust layouts during a meeting
 

How to Adjust a Layout During a Meeting

 
During a meeting, hosts can adjust layouts without affecting the active layout currently seen by attendees.
 
Choose Meeting > Switch to Prepare Mode.
Alternatively, click  in the Layout bar icon that looks like this "Spanner and Screwdriver):
 
Layouts Icon Adjust
 
From the Layouts menu or the Layout bar, choose the layout you want to adjust.
Then move, hide, or show pods as needed.
When you finish adjusting the layout, choose Meeting > End Prepare Mode or click  in the Layout bar.
 

How to Choose a background image for the meeting room

 
You can replace the default gray background with an image.
 
Choose Meeting > Preferences.
Click upload, then navigate to the desired image. If you haven’t previously added the file to Connect, click Browse My Computer.
Reset Layouts
 
Reset layouts to revert to the default layouts. Any modifications to the Sharing, Discussion, and Collaboration layouts are reverted, and custom layouts are deleted.
 
Choose Layouts > Reset Layouts.
Note: You cannot reset layouts if a meeting is being recorded.

Watch A Video About Layouts

Use the controls at the bottom of the video to watch an overview of layouts and their importance.