Meet Our People

Professor Jayne Woodside

Professor of Human Nutrition within the Centre for Public Health at Queen’s, Jayne was appointed head of the Food, Nutrition and Health theme and Deputy Director of IGFS in 2015. 

Her research is focused on how diet and lifestyle affect chronic disease risk. She specialises in the use of biomarkers to assess dietary intake, conducting controlled dietary interventions and interventions to promote long-term dietary change.

She initially studied Human Sciences at the University of Oxford, and gained her PhD in nutritional epidemiology from Queen’s in 1997, before taking on a research fellow role at University College London. She returned to Belfast in 2000 to take up a lectureship at Queen’s and was promoted to Chair in 2012.

Jayne has published widely in the nutrition field, with >180 original publications and has current funding from the Medical Research Council, National Institute of Health Research and the Wellcome Trust.

Jayne is a Trustee of the Nutrition Society, and is Honorary Publication Officer with responsibility for the Society’s five journals including the British Journal of Nutrition and Public Health Nutrition.  She is Editor in Chief of Nutrition Research Reviews, and is an elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology.

Read Jayne's full academic profile here


Professor Chris Elliott

Chris is founder of IGFS and Professor of Food Safety within IGFS. From 2016-2018 he served as Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the Faculty of Medicine, Health and Life Sciences at Queen's; he stepped down from that post recently to concentrate on his world-leading research.  

He has published more than 350 peer review articles, many of them relating to the detection and control of agriculture, food and environmental related contaminants.

His main research interests are in the development of innovative techniques to provide early warning of toxin threats across complex food supply systems. Protecting the integrity of the food supply chain from fraud is also a key research topic and Chris led the independent review of Britain’s food system following the 2013 horsemeat scandal.

Over the years Chris has developed a high level network of collaborators across Europe, the United States and Asia. He is a visiting Professor at the China Agriculture University in Beijing and the Chinese Academy of Sciences, a recipient of a Winston Churchill Fellowship and is an elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Royal Society of Biology and the Institute of Food Science and Technology.

Chris has received numerous prizes and awards for his work. In 2017 he was awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry Theophilus Redwood Prize and was also awarded the title of OBE by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

Read Chris' full academic profile here


Professor Nigel Scollan

Nigel became Director of IGFS and Professor of Animal Science in 2016, bringing with him a wealth of experience in animal agriculture and associated supply chains, food research and knowledge exchange as well as a strong track record of partnering with industry.

His personal research is focused on pastoral ruminant systems in terms of productivity, (2) environmental impact, (3) nutritional value and “quality” of meat and milk products and (4) reduced waste. Nigel has initiated and managed many national and European-funded projects and developed links with science partners in UK, Europe and further afield. He has published over 80-refereed scientific journal papers and a further 200 book chapters and conference proceedings and presented numerous invited papers at international meetings.

Originally from Northern Ireland, Nigel graduated in Animal Science from the University of Edinburgh where he also completed his PhD before undertaking postdoctoral research at the University of Guelph, Canada.

In 1993, he took up a research scientist position at the Institute of Grassland and Environmental Research (IGER) in Wales. In 2008, IGER became part of the new Institute of Biological Environmental and Rural Sciences (IBERS) at Aberystwyth University. Nigel held a number of senior management positions in IGER and IBERS, including Waitrose Professor of Sustainable Agriculture and Director of Enterprise.

Nigel was President of the British Society of Animal Science 2011-12 and has been involved in many government, industry and academic forums. Chairman of the scientific journal Animal, he is a Fellow of the Royal Agricultural Society and a Director of the Oxford Farming Conference.


Governance Structure


IGFS - Senior Management Team


Director: Proessor Nigel Scollan

Deputy Director: Professor Jayne Woodside

General Manager: Mrs Joyce Watterson

Agri-Food Quest Competence Centre Manager: Mr Stephane Durand

Project Manager: Ms Ciara Sarsfield

Business Development Manager (EIT Food): Mr Ian Marshall





Management Board


Professor Nigel Scollan

Professor Jayne Woodside

Professor Niamh O'Connell

Professor Mark Emmerson

Professor John McGrath

Professor Geoff McMullan

Professor Alberto Longo

Professor Brendan Gilmore

Dr Mark Mooney

Dr Sharon Huws

Dr Geoffrey Gobert

Mrs Joyce Watterson

Mr Stephane Durand

Ms Una Bradley



Industrial Advisory Board (IAB) 


The Industrial Advisory Board (IAB) is a board of NI and UK agri-food companies who meet quarterly and who contribute to the continuing development of a strategic vision for IGFS and the relationship between IGFS and its industry stakeholders. The current line-up is as follows:

Dawn MeatsDale FarmFinnebrogue ArtisanMoy Park ChickenDevenish NutritionThompsons FeedsShorecapNestle Ireland


Ambassador Programme

The 'Ambassador' programme is for senior executives with experience and expertise in agri-food business who help facilitate national and international engagement with IGFS.  

Inquire about becoming a board member/ambassador

Queen's University Belfast is committed to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion.
For more information please read our Equality and Diversity Policy.

Queen's University Belfast is registered with the Charity Commission for Northern Ireland NIC101788
VAT registration number: GB 254 7995 11