Skip to main content

China Medical University


China Medical University (CMU) was the first medical school established by the Chinese Communist Party (CPC) and the only school that took part in the Red Army’s Long March. It is also one of the earliest medical schools that delivered education of western medicine. Its precursor was the Military Medical School and Health School of Chinese Workers' and Peasants' Red Army founded in Ruijin, Jiangxi Province in November 1931.

Since its establishment, CMU has educated over 80,000 senior medical personnel. Its alumni can be found throughout China and worldwide and many have become national famous leaders on health administration and distinguished experts in the fields of medical science. For example, there are over one hundred graduates with the positions at or above the vice-ministerial level, including 9 ministers or vice-ministers of the Ministry of Health, over 40 army generals and 14 academicians of Chinese Academy of Sciences and Chinese Academy of Engineering.

CMU now has a total of 33 schools and can confer degrees in medicine, education, science, engineering, philosophy and management. There are six first-level disciplines conferring doctoral degrees, 63 doctoral degree programs and 73 master's degree programs. In addition, CMU has 5 national key disciplines, which are respiratory diseases, dermatology and venereology, surgery, endocrine and metabolic diseases and occupational and environmental health, and 1 national key discipline in cultivation, i.e. medical imaging and nuclear medicine, 40 National Key Clinical Specialties of NHFPC, 6 first-class featured academic disciplines of Higher Education Institutions of Liaoning Province, 7 post-doctoral mobile stations and 19 undergraduate programs.


CMU’s library is the Northeast China’s central library of the National Medical Literature Resources Sharing Network of NHFPC. It is also a NHFPC’s medical science and technology referee unit for checking novelty or plagiarism. The library has a collection of 1,195,600 volumes and 21TB electronic resources. It subscribes 35 full-text book and journal databases in Chinese and foreign languages. The library, as the National Japanese Medical Literature Centre Library, is particularly rich in Japanese medical literature collection. The Laboratory Animal Centre is the provincial centre for quality monitoring of experimental animals and the supporting unit of the provincial key laboratory of transgenic animals. CMU sponsors 16 academic journals.

CMU new campus is located in Shenbei new area, which is to the north east part of Shenyang city, about 20km/1hour drive away from the city centre. The new campus occupies a total land area of 1,372,000 square meters, and the building area is 702,800 square meters.




CMU staff number 1,462. 85.1% (including the affiliated hospitals) are professionals with various specialties. Among them, there is one academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, 2 Distinguished Professors and 1 Chair Professor of Chang Jiang Scholar Program of the Ministry of Education, the total number of full-time students on campus is now 14,145. Among them, 1,217 are doctoral degree students, 4,093 master’s degree students (including those on seven-year educational system), 8,105 undergraduates and 730 international students or students from Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan.