Skip to main content

Please note all extension numbers are prefixed by +44 (0)28 9097



Academic Staff

Professor

  Borghesi, Prof Marco m.borghesi@qub.ac.uk Ext 3516

Director of Research, CPP

Main Physics, 01.031

  Bowman, Prof Robert r.m.bowman@qub.ac.uk Ext 3572

Head of School and Director, CDT

Main Physics, 01.015

 

Fitzsimmons, Prof Alan

a.fitzsimmons@qub.ac.uk Ext 3573 Main Physics, 02.026
  Gregg, Prof Marty m.gregg@qub.ac.uk Ext 3309

Director of Research, CNM

Main Physics, 01.014

 ‌ Keenan, Prof Francis f.keenan@qub.ac.uk Ext 3281

Director of Research, ARC

Main Physics, 02.017

  Kohanoff, Prof Jorge j.kohanoff@qub.ac.uk Ext 5348

Main Physics, LG.025

  Marshall, Prof Adele a.h.marshall@qub.ac.uk Ext 1919

Director, Maths Academy

Old Physics, 0G.009

  Mathioudakis, Prof Mihalis m.mathioudakis@qub.ac.uk Ext 1339

Chair of SPRC

Main Physics, 02.015

 ‌‌ Millar, Prof Tom tom.millar@qub.ac.uk Ext 2557 Main Physics, 02.020
 ‌ Paternostro, Prof Mauro m.paternostro@qub.ac.uk Ext 1928

Director of Research, CTAMOP

Old Physics, 01.007

  Riley, Prof David d.riley@qub.ac.uk Ext 3500 Main Physics, 01.036
Smartt, Prof Stephen s.smartt@qub.ac.uk Ext 3588 Main Physics, 02.018
  Suraud, Prof Eric e.suraud@qub.ac.uk   Main Physics 
  Todorov, Prof Ivan i.todorov@qub.ac.uk Ext 1326

Director of Research, MSRC

Old Physics, 01.029

  van der Hart, Prof Hugo h.vanderhart@qub.ac.uk Ext 1904

Director of Education

Old Physics, 01.002

  Williams, Prof Ian i.williams@qub.ac.uk Ext 3699

EPS Faculty Dean of Education

Main Physics, 01.026

Reader

‌  Dromey, Dr Brendan b.dromey@qub.ac.uk Ext 8684 Main Physics, 01.049
Greenwood, Dr Jason j.greenwood@qub.ac.uk Ext 3935

Associate Director of Education (Physics)

Main Physics, 01.040

Dermot Green  Green, Dr Dermot d.green@qub.ac.uk  Ext 1935  Old Physics, 01.016
Gribakin, Dr Gleb g.gribakin@qub.ac.uk Ext 1936

Associate Director of Education (Maths)

Old Physics, 01.018

Jess, Dr David d.jess@qub.ac.uk Ext 3052 Main Physics, 02.016
Kar, Dr Satya s.kar@qub.ac.uk Ext 3012 Main Physics, 01.042
  Mathieu, Dr Martin m.m@qub.ac.uk Ext 1321 Old Physics, 01.027
  Ramsbottom, Dr Cathy c.ramsbottom@qub.ac.uk Ext 1937 

Old Physics, 01.019

 ‌‌ Todorov, Dr Tchavdar t.todorov@qub.ac.uk Ext 1411 Main Physics, LG.028

 Senior Lecturer

  Ballance, Dr Connor c.ballance@qub.ac.uk Ext 1934 Old Physics, 01.013
Barnes, Dr David d.barnes@qub.ac.uk Ext 3076 Old Physics, 01.026
Dundas, Dr Dan d.dundas@qub.ac.uk Ext 1424 Main Physics, LG.027
Felton, Dr Solveig s.felton@qub.ac.uk Ext 3338 Main Physics, 01.017
  Field, Dr Tom t.field@qub.ac.uk Ext 5349 Main Physics, 01.029
Gruening, Dr Myrta m.gruening@qub.ac.uk Ext 1427

Director of Research, ASC

Main Physics, LG.023

Huang, Dr Fumin f.huang@qub.ac.uk Ext 2503 Main Physics, 01.018
  Huettemann, Dr Thomas t.huettemann@qub.ac.uk Ext 1940 Old Physics, 01.024
Kumar, Dr Amit a.kumar@qub.ac.uk Ext 3364 Main Physics, 01.019
Moutari, Dr Salissou s.moutari@qub.ac.uk Ext 1920 Old Physics, OG.010
  Pollard, Dr Bob r.pollard@qub.ac.uk Ext 1289 Main Physics, 01.013
Tribello, Dr Gareth g.tribello@qub.ac.uk Ext 1444

Main Physics, LG.026

  Watson, Dr Chris c.a.watson@qub.ac.uk Ext 1421

Deputy Head of School

Main Physics, 02.013

Lecturer

 Portrait 180x240 Arredondo, Dr Miryam m.arredondo@qub.ac.uk Ext 5380 Main Physics, 01.020
  Blanco, Dr Ariel a.blanco@qub.ac.uk Ext 1325 Old Physics, 01.028
Brown, Dr Andrew andrew.brown@qub.ac.uk Ext 1910 Old Physics, 01.005
Cairns, Dr Karen      
De Chiara, Dr Gabriele g.dechiara@qub.ac.uk Ext 1929 Old Physics, 01.008
  De Mooij, Dr Ernst Ernst.deMooij@qub.ac.uk Ext 3257 Main Physics, 02.011
Ferraro, Dr Alessandro a.ferraro@qub.ac.uk Ext 1930 Old Physics, 01.009
  Keys, Dr Peter

p.keys@qub.ac.uk

Ext 3045 Main Physics, 02.034
  Kiss, Dr Gabor G.Kiss@qub.ac.uk Ext 3533 Old Physics, G.006
Felicity Lamrock Lamrock, Dr Felicity f.lamrock@qub.ac.uk   Ext 3517 Old Physics, LG.009
  Lin, Dr Ying-Fen y.lin@qub.ac.uk Ext 1587 Old Physics, 01.025
  McFetridge, Dr Lisa l.mcfetridge@qub.ac.uk Ext 1922 Old Physics, 0G.011
  McQuaid, Dr Raymond r.mcquaid@qub.ac.uk Ext 3112 Main Physics, 01.021
Ryan Milligan  Milligan, Dr Ryan R.Milligan@qub.ac.uk   Main Physics, 02.012
  Mitchell, Dr Hannah h.mitchell@qub.ac.uk Ext 1925 Old Physics, 0G.014
Andrea Munaro  Munaro, Dr Andrea

a.munaro@qub.ac.uk

Ext 1911 Old Physics,LG.014
  Novakovic, Dr Aleksandar a.novakovic@qub.ac.uk Ext 1916 Old Physics, OG.006
 Florian Pausinger Pausinger, Dr Florian f.pausinger@qub.ac.uk Ext 1328 Old Physics, 01.030
  Rollins, Miss Rebecca r.rollins@qub.ac.uk Ext 1925 Old Physics, 0G.014
  Sarri, Dr Gianluca g.sarri@qub.ac.uk Ext 3575 Main Physics, 01.045
Dr Megan Schwamb Schwamb, Dr Megan  M.Schwamb@qub.ac.uk   Main Physics, 02.014
  Shkarin, Dr Stanislav s.shkarin@qub.ac.uk Ext 1939 Old Physics, 01.022
 Petr Siegl Siegl, Dr Petr P.Siegl@qub.ac.uk Ext 1925 Old Physics, OG.005
  Sim, Dr Stuart s.sim@qub.ac.uk Ext 1461 Main Physics, 02.019
  Stella, Dr Lorenzo l.stella@qub.ac.uk Ext 5125 Main Physics, LG.024
  White, Dr Steven s.white@qub.ac.uk Ext 3997 Main Physics, 01.023
 Portait 180x240 Yeung, Dr Mark m.yeung@qub.ac.uk Ext 3770 Main Physics, 01.026
Anna Zhigun Zhigun, Dr Anna A.Zhigun@qub.ac.uk  Ext 1938  Old Physics, 01.021

 

Queen's Academic Fellows

Portrait 180x240 Santos, Dr Elton e.santos@qub.ac.uk Ext 3643 Main Physics, LG.022

 

Professional Support Staff

Mrs Teresa Cotton

mpmanager@qub.ac.uk

Main Physics, Room 0G.024,
+44 (0)28 9097 5328

School Manager

Operations Team

Mrs Jennifer McKee

j.mckee@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room 0G.021, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3202

Operations Coordinator and PA to Head of School

Ms Wendy Rutherford

w.rutherford@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room OG.017, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3533

Clerical Officer, Marketing, Recruitment and Events

Mrs Hiroko Rhodes

h.rhodes@qub.ac.uk  

Main Physics, Room OG.017,
+44 (0)28 9097 5293

Clerical Officer, School Office and General Enquiries

Miss Jan Speer

 j.speer@qub.ac.uk

Main Physics, Room OG.017, 
+44 (0)28 9097 1386

Clerical Officer, School Office and General Enquiries

Research and Postgraduate Research Team

Mrs Naoimh Mackel

n.mackel@qub.ac.uk

Main Physics, Room OG.025,
+44 (0)28 9097 3123 

Research and Postgraduate Research Administrator

Ms Emma Finnegan

e.finnegan@qub.ac.uk  

Main Physics, Room OG.030,
+44 (0)28 9097 2595

Clerical Officer, Research and Postgraduate Research

Mrs Brenda Morris

b.morris@qub.ac.uk / piads.cdt@qub.ac.uk

Main Physics, Room 01.022, 
+44 (0)28 9097 5330

CDT Executive Manager

Ms Vicky Weir

piads.cdt@qub.ac.uk

Main Physics, Room 0G.030,
+44 (0)28 9097 3523

Clerical Officer, CDT 

Education Team

Mr Paul Lappin

p.lappin@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room OG0.20,
+44 (0)28 9097 5272

Education Administrator

Ms Emma McCarthy

e.mccarthy@qub.ac.uk

Main Physics, Room OG.037, 
+44 (0)28 9097  1908

Clerical Officer, Undergraduate Applied Mathematics

Ms Sheila O'Brien

s.obrien@qub.ac.uk

Main Physics, Room OG.037, 
+44 (0)28 9097   1909

Clerical Officer, Undergraduate Pure Mathematics

Ms Tara Spencer

t.spencer@qub.ac.uk

Main Physics, Room LG.013, 
+44 (0)28 9097  1907

Clerical Officer, Undergraduate Physics

Ms Clare Watson

clare.watson@qub.ac.uk

Main Physics, Room OG.017, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3110

Clerical Officer, Postgraduate Taught

Finance Team

Mrs Jillian Dean

j.dean@qub.ac.uk

Main Physics, Room 0G.023, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3720

School Finance Officer

Mr Gary Hall

g.hall@qub.ac.uk

Main Physics, Room OG.028,
+44 (0)28 9097 3692

Clerical Officer, School Finance

Mrs Jenny McCabe

e.mccabe@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room 0G.028, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3541

Clerical Officer, School Finance

Technical Staff

Computing Support Team

Dr Robert Ryans

r.ryans@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room 02.025, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3369

Computer Support, Main Physics

Dr Malachy Montgomery

m.j.montgomery@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room 02.025, 
+44 (0)28 90973175

Computer Support, Main Physics

Dr Ian Stewart

i.stewart@qub.ac.uk 

Old Physics, Room 0G.021, 
+44 (0)28 9097 1927

Computer Support, Old Physics

Ms Angela Torode

a.torode@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room OG004,
+44 (0)28 9097 3537

Computer Support

Education, Undergraduate Laboratories

Mr Victor Lindsay

v.lindsay@qub.ac.uk 

Maths and Physics Teaching Centre,
Room 02.013, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3521

Level 2/3 Labs

Ms Jackie Patrick

j.patrick@qub.ac.uk 

Maths and Physics Teaching Centre,
Room 02.013, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3524

Level 1 Labs

Chemicals and COSH

Dr Dan Marlow

d.marlow@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room 0G.039, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3522

 Chemicals and COSH

Workshops

Mr Philip Orr

p.orr@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room LG.020, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3577

Main Workshop

Mr Warren McConnaughie

w.mcconnaughie@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room LG.003, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3507

Main Workshop

Mr Martin McCullough

martin.mccullough@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room LG.011, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3507

Main Workshop

Mr Kieran Rainey

k.rainey@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room OG004,
+44 (0)28 9097 3537 

Electronics Workshop

Electron Microscope Facility

Mr Stephen McFarland

s.mcfarland@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room LG.050, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3563

Facility Manager

Dr Alina Schilling

a.schilling@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room LG.040, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3796

Assistant Facility Manager

Taranis Laser

Dr Gagik Nersisyan

g.nersisyan@qub.ac.uk 

Main Physics, Room 0G.039, 
+44 (0)28 9097 3933

Laser Manager

 Back to top

Honorary Staff

Honorary Professor

 
Del Popolo, Prof Mario Mathematics and Physics
Doyle, Prof John Armagh Observatory
Dufton, Prof Philip Mathematics and Physics
Graham, Prof Bill School of Mathematics and Physics
Harris, Prof Alan Astrophysics
Lewis, Prof Ciaran Plasma Physics
Morgan, Prof Thomas Mathematics and Physics
Wickstead, Prof Anthony School of Mathematics and Physics

Honorary Senior Lecturer

 
McMaster, Dr Brian Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics 
Reid, Dr Robin Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics 

Honorary Lecturer

 
Aggarwal, Dr Kanti Astrophysics Research Centre

Research Staff

Abah, Dr Obinna Centre for Theoretical, Atomic Molecular and 
Optical Physics
Old Physics, Room 01.013, Ext 1932
Afshari, Masoud Centre for Plasma Physics Main Physics, Room 0G.034, Ext 3997 
Aguado Puente, Dr Pablo Atomistic Simulation Research Centre Main Physics, Room LG.030, Ext 1491
Ahmed, Dr Hamad Centre for Plasma Physics Main Physics, Room 0G.036, Ext 3141
Alejo, Mr Aaron Centre for Plasma Physics Main Physics, Room 0G.036, Ext 3141
Antonellini, Dr Stefano Astrophysics Research Centre Main Physics, Room 02.032, Ext 1921
Armstrong, Dr Gregory Centre for Theoretical, Atomic Molecular and 
Optical Physics
Old Physics, Room 0G.012, Ext 1933
Audet, Dr Thomas Centre for Plasma Physics Main Physics, Room 0G.036 
Bannister, Dr Michele Astrophysics Research Centre Main Physics, Room 02.033, Ext 3088 
Belenchia, Dr Alessio Centre for Theoretical, Atomic Molecular and 
Optical Physics
Old Physics, Room 0G.010, Ext 1931
Chudzinski, Dr Piotr Atomistic Simulation Research Centre Main Physics, Room LG.030, Ext 1491
Cochard, Dr Charlotte Centre for Nanostructured Media Main Physics, Room 01.016, Ext 3090
Coffey, Dr Ivor Astrophysics Research Centre  
Couglan, Mr Mark Centre for Plasma Physics Main Physics, Room 0G.034, Ext 3997
Cousens, Mr Steven Centre for Plasma Physics Main Physics, Room 0G.036, Ext 3141
Cunningham, Dr Brian Atomistic Simulation Research Centre Main Physics, Room LG.066, Ext 3426
Esien, Dr Kane Centre for Nanostructured Media Main Physics, Room 01.016, Ext 3090
Fernandez Menchero, Dr Luis

Centre for Theoretical, Atomic Molecular and 
Optical Physics

Old Physics, Room 01.010, Ext 1931
Grant, Dr Samuel

Astrophysics Research Centre

Main Physics, Room 02.033, Ext 3088
Gu, Dr Bin Atomistic Simulation Research Centre Main Physics, Room OG.034, Ext 3997
Hendren, Dr William Centre for Nanostructured Media Main Physics, Room LG.052, Ext 2592
Holsgrove, Dr Kristina Centre for Nanostructured Media Main Physics, Room 01.016, Ext 3090
Irwin, Miss Rachael Centre for Plasma Physics Main Physics, Room 0G.051, Ext 1275
Johnston, Dr Conrad Atomistic Simulation Research Centre Main Physics, Room LG.037, Ext 3292
Kartsev, Dr Alexey Atomistic Simulation Research Centre Main Physics, Room LG.030, Ext 1491
Kurnia, Dr Fran Centre for Nanostructured Media Main Physics, Room 01.016, Ext 3090
Mancino, Dr Luca Mathematics and Physics Old Physics, Room LG.031, Ext 1539 
Martin, Mr Philips Centre for Plasma Physics Main Physics, Room 0G.046, Ext 1274 
Milluzzo, Mrs Giuliana Centre for Plasma Physics Main Physics
Nelson, Dr Chris Astrophysics Research Centre Main Physics
Nugroho, Mr Stevanus Kristianto Astrophysics Research Centre Main Physics
Odložilík, Mr Boris  Centre for Plasma Physics Main Physics, Room 0G.051
Orisakwa, Dr Esther Atomistic Simulation Research Centre Main Physics, Room LG.037, Ext 3292 
Puebla, Mr Ricardo Centre for Theoretical, Atomic Molecular and 
Optical Physics
Old Physics, Room 01.021, Ext 1933
Reid, Dr Aaron Astrophysics Research Centre Main Physics, Room 02.030, Ext 3389
Sanz-Ortiz, Dr Marta Centre for Nanostructured Media Main Physics, Room 01.016, Ext 3090
Sayamanthula, Mr Krishna Astrophysics Research Centre Main Physics, Room 02.030, Ext 3389
Scott, Miss Jade Centre for Nanostructured Media Main Physics, Room 01.016, Ext 3090
Scullion, Mr Declan Atomistic Simulation Research Centre Main Physics, Room LG.066, Ext 3426
Shingles, Dr Luke Astrophysics Research Centre Main Physics, Room 02.029, Ext 1412
Singh, Mr Deepak Kumar  Atomistic Simulation Research Centre Main Physics, Room LG.037, Ext 3292
Singh, Dr Raj Centre for Plasma Physics Main Physics, Room OG.034, Ext 3997
Smith, Dr Kenneth Software Developer,
Astrophysics Research Centre
Main Physics, Room 02.029, Ext 1412
Srivastav, Dr Shubham Astrophysics Research Centre  Main Physics, Room 02.029, Ext 1412 
Swann, Dr Andrew Centre for Theoretical, Atomic Molecular and 
Optical Physics
Old Physics, Room 01.031, Ext 1539
Turner, Mr Patrick Centre for Nanostructured Media  Main Physics, Room 01.016, Ext 3090 
White, Ms Elgiva  Centre for Plasma Physics Main Physics, Room 
Wragg, Dr Jack Centre for Theoretical, Atomic Molecular and Optical Physics Old Physics, Room 01.011, Ext 1932
Wu, Dr Penny School of Mathematics and Physics Old Physics, Room 01.011, Ext 1932
Young, Dr David Astronomical Software Developer,
Astrophysics Research Centre
Main Physics, Room 02.029, Ext 1412
Zicari, Mr Giorgio Centre for Theoretical, Atomic Molecular and Optical Physics Old Physics, Room 01.011, Ext 1932